|
British Parliamentary Papers
The British Parliamentary Papers are a complex and important source for the history of Britain and the world. Princeton University Library holds original printed volumes and microform editions that fill in the gaps of the printed volumes. We also have access to the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers in a digital edition. And there are many guides and indexes that can help the researcher navigate the Parliamentary Papers and find material on a specific topic. But please ask for help if you have trouble finding what you need; the Parliamentary Papers are notoriously confusing, especially to the inexperienced researcher.
This guide does not cover the records of Parliament in the medieval period, for which see the guide to Britain to 1800.
The most lucid guide to Parliamentary papers is that of:
Ford, P. (Percy) and Ford, G. (Grace). A guide to parliamentary papers: what they are,
how to find them, how to use them. 3d ed. Shannon: Irish University Press, 1972.
General and Humanities Reference (DR): J301 .M5 1972
Also useful is:
Bond, Maurice Francis. Guide to the records of Parliament. London,
H. M. Stationery Off., 1971. General and Humanities Reference (DR) CD1063.B63
Table of Contents
- Parliamentary Papers
- Journals are the record of what was done in Parliament
- Debates are the record of what was said in Parliament
- Papers are the documents and reports requested, presented to or produced by Parliament (also known as Sessional Papers, Command Papers, and Blue Books; includes Bills)
- Acts
- Reprints, indexes and guides
The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers have been digitized. Coverage is 1688 to 2004; new material is being added routinely. See the table below for details about coverage. The House of Lords papers are for the most part not available online. For current material, see Parliament's web site at http://www.parliament.uk/publications/index.cfm.
When searching House of Commons Parliamentary Papers: it is far easier to identify relevent papers by using an index or checking the references and bibliography in a book on your topic than it is to find material in this very large digital collection. If you have a Command Paper number (beginning with C., Cd., or Cmd.), you can search by that number.
| |
House of Commons |
House of Lords |
| Journals |
Digital: Journals from 1688-1834 in House of Commons Parliamentary Papers.
Print: Journals of the House of Commons, 1547-1852
08402.41f
Microform: Journals of the House of Commons, 1547-1900
MICROPRINT
Print: Divisions of Parliament, 1837-1913
0840.406q
|
Digital: Journals from 1685-1834 in House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Print: Journals of the House of Lords, 1509-1852
08401.41f
Microform: Parliamentary history: Pt. 1. Manuscript minutes, committee books and voting records of the House of Lords, c. 1620-1714 (36 reels); Pt. 2. The Braye manuscripts from the House of Lords Record Office (22 reels).
MICROFILM 07852; printed guide at FilmB J301.M3
|
| Debates |
Note: Lords and Commons debates are interspersed until 1909, when the series was
split into two parts.
Digital: Histories and Proceedings (1660-1743) in House of Commons Parliamentary Papers.
Digital: Commons Debates (1774-1805) in House of Commons Parliamentary Papers.
Print: Proceedings and debates of the House of Commons, 1620-1802
0840.95-0840.99.4; digital edition in the Making of the Modern WorldMaking of the Modern World
Print: Hansard's parliamentary debates, 1803-present
0841.02 Commons [also MICROPRINT]
Print: The Parliamentary debates (official report). [House of Commons], 1909-present
0841.02 Commons
|
Note: Lords and Commons debates are interspersed until 1909, when the series was
split into two parts.
Digital: Histories and Proceedings (1660-1743) in House of Commons Parliamentary Papers.
Digital: Lords Debates (1774-1805) in House of Commons Parliamentary Papers.
Print: Cobbett's parliamentary history of England (1066 to 1803)
0841.01; digital edition in the Making of the Modern World; also MICROFILM S00656
Print: Hansard's parliamentary debates, 1803-present
0841.02 Lords[also MICROPRINT]
Print: The parliamentary debates. House of Lords official report, 1909-current
0841.02
|
| Papers |
Digital: House of Commons Papers (1688-2004) in House of Commons Parliamentary Papers.
Print: House of Commons sessional papers of the eighteenth century
J301.xK63q
Print: Parliamentary papers, 1804-1983
0844.009 regular and oversize -- formerly in Firestone, but now located in RECAP
Print: Reports from committees of the House of Commons, 1715-1802
08402.42f
Microform: Parliamentary papers [microform], 1731-1900, 1979-current
MICROFICHE 838
|
Digital: House of Lords Papers (1714-1805) in House of Commons Parliamentary Papers.
Print: Sessional papers, 1714-1760, 1781-1805
0844.1302q
Print: Sessional papers, 1804-1984/85
0844. regular and oversize [the papers for 1804-1966/67 are cataloged
separately for each session, so call numbers vary]
Microform: Sessional papers, 1731-1900 [together with Commons sessional papers]
MICROFICHE 838
Microform: Parliamentary papers [microform], 1976/77-1981/82; 1984/85-current
MICROFICHE 839
|
| Acts |
Microform: Local, personal and private acts of Great Britain,
1798-1850
MICROFILM 05418
Digital: Private and Local Bills and Acts (1695-1834) in House of Commons Parliamentary Papers |
|
| Statutes |
Print: Statutes of the realm (1225-1713) Printed by command of His Majesty King George the Third Oversize 1421.411.407f
also digital in the Making of the Modern World |
|
A selection of Parliamentary papers have been reprinted by the Irish University
Press. There are two sets, the first comprising one thousand volumes and the
second two hundred. They are arranged by topic, e.g. Fisheries, Colonies, Civil
Disorder; or in the case of the area studies series, by region, e.g. China,
West Indies, New Zealand. If there is a set on your topic, it may speed your research. Most are in Firestone, dispersed through the stacks,
but some have been sent to RECAP. To find them all, do a keyword search in the
Main Catalog for "irish university press" and parliament? There is an 8-volume
index to the series at:
- Irish University Press series of British parliamentary papers. [General] index.
Shannon, Irish University Press [1968].
General and Humanities Reference (DR) Oversize J301 .I67q
- Catalogue of British parliamentary papers in the Irish University Press 1000-volume
series and area studies series, 1801-1900.
Dublin: Irish University Press, 1977.
General and Humanities Reference (DR) Oversize J301 .I69q
House of Commons sessional papers of the eighteenth century: introduction
and list. Ed. Sheila Lambert. Wilmington, Del.: Scholarly Resources, 1975-1976.
General and Humanities Reference (DR) Oversize J301.K631q
This accompanies a 145-volume set of reprints at Firestone Library (F) Oversize
J301.xK63q
Besides House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, there are two other online indexes to the parliamentary papers: BOPCRIS (British
Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service) and the Index
of British Parliamentary Papers. BOPCRIS covers publications from 1688-1995,
and includes some full text. The Index of British
Parliamentary Papers covers 1801 to 1922 (Lords) and 1944/45 (Commons). It has
been installed on all "Library Web Computers." (This does not include
the computers in the clusters.)
Both have been largely superseded by the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers digital collection.
In addition, there are a number of published indexes to various parts of the
Parliamentary papers:
- Di Roma, Edward. A numerical finding list of British command papers
published 1833-1961/62. [New York] New York Public Library, 1967. General
and Humanities Reference (DR) J301 .M53 1967
- Adam, Margaret Isabella. Guide to the principal parliamentary papers
relating to the dominions, 1812-1911. Edinburgh, Oliver and Boyd, 1913.
General and Humanities Reference (DR) Z2021.C7A3
- Cockton, Peter. Subject catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary
papers, 1801-1900. Cambridge, England; Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey,
1988. General and Humanities Reference (DR) J301 .M52
Note: Cockton is also in the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers digital edition.
- A general index to the Sessional papers: printed by order of the House
of Lords, or presented by special command.
Dobbs Ferry, N. Y: Oceana Publications, Inc., 1976-
General and Humanities Reference (DR) Oversize J301.J621q
- A general index to the Sessional papers printed by order of the House of
Lords or presented by special command. 1801-1859.
London, H. M. Stationery off. [printed by P. Lund, Humphries & co., ltd.]
1938.
General and Humanities Reference (DR) Oversize J301.J6q
- General index to the Accounts and papers, Reports of commissioners, Estimates,
&c.,&c. Printed by order of the House of commons or presented by command.
1801-1852. London, H. M. Stationery off. [printed by P. Lund, Humphries &
co., ltd.] 1938.
General and Humanities Reference (DR) Oversize J301.xM3 1938q
|