History
Resources
home
Princeton students, need help with your history research? Click here.
Library Catalog
Library Homepage
History Department

Whether you are beginning a junior paper, a senior thesis, or a doctoral dissertation in history, the first challenge is to identify a cache of primary source material that addresses the issue, person, place, or period that interests you. For some general suggestions about how to get started, see Primary sources: a guide for history majors. And for advice on finding primary sources at other libraries and archives, see Finding primary sources in archives and libraries. This guide offers specific guidance about finding primary sources in the Princeton University Library system.

Table of contents

If you can't find primary sources for your topic at Princeton, see Finding primary sources in archives and libraries for detailed guidance on locating unpublished material, and making the most of your time while visiting a library or archive elsewhere.

I already have a specific topic

Finding primary sources in the Main Catalog

  • To find primary sources in the Main Catalog, use the Guided Search form to search for keywords or subject headings plus terms like:
    • sources
    • diaries
    • correspondence
    • personal narrative

    Note: for many topics, there are highly specific subject headings like:

    • France--History--Revolution, 1789-1799--Sources.
    • Ireland--History--Sources.
    • United States--Foreign relations--Cuba--Sources.
    • Civil rights movements--United States--History--20th century--Sources.
  • To find the papers of an individual, do an Author search, e.g. jackson, andrew
  • To find the records of an organization or government body, do an Author search, e.g. United States. Dept. of State
  • To find works published in a particular time and place, try limiting your search by date, language, or location (click on the orange "set limits" button on the search screen).

I have a general area of interest

Special Collections at Princeton

The Princeton University Library contains incredible troves of primary sources, from original diaries and letters to posters and photographs to declassified government documents. Many are held by the Rare Books and Special Collections department, but others are part of the general collections in Firestone or elsewhere. For more information on Rare Books and Special Collections holdings, contact Reference Librarian Meg Rich; for more information on Mudd Manuscript Library holdings, contact University Archivist Dan Linke.

Some starting points:

Some of our other non-rare "special collections":