Databases m

Starts With: (7) | ( (1) | 1 (2) | 6 (1) | A (188) | B (98) | C (172) | D (80) | E (144) | F (38) | G (62) | H (50) | I (86) | J (29) | K (32) | L (80) | M (83) | N (88) | O (90) | P (133) | Q (5) | R (44) | S (112) | T (49) | U (43) | V (15) | W (71) | X (2) | Y (4) | Z (13)
Titlesort descending
Ma'agarim: The Database of the Historical Dictionary Project

A dictionary and concordance which includes the entire Hebrew lexicon throughout its history; presenting Hebrew words in their morphological, semantical, and contextual development from first appearance in written texts to the present.  Sources include the Dead Sea Scrolls, Inscriptions, Talmud and Midrash, Geonic Literature, Prayer and Piyyut, Karaite Literature, Sciences, Deeds, Colophons, Amulets, etc.   Updated on a regular basis.

Macmillan Cabinet Papers

Digital edition of documents from the UK National Archives, covering the years when Macmillan was Prime Minister.

MADCAD.COM

MADCAD's eLibrary provides online access to building codes and standards. Princeton's package includes ACI, ASHRAE, FEMA, the ICC Codes (2000, 2012, 2015), ICC/ANSI, and several legacy code collections.

MAGAZINEPLUS

Indexes more than 50 million articles from 8,500 Japanese language journals. Updated weekly. Covers humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Main Catalog (Princeton)
Maisaku (Mainichi Shinbun Online Database)

The Mainichi Shimbun is the one of 3 major Japanese newspapers and the oldest daily newspaper.   Provides the following:  Mainichi Shimbun (1872+); Weekly Economist (1989+; images in reduced size edition is available from 1989-1999); and The Mainichi (English) (2008+).  Can also browse today’s news and breaking news.

Making of Modern Law Foreign Primary Sources
Making of Modern Law (Trials 1600-1926)

Searchable digital archive of trial transcripts, and popular and scholarly accounts of both famous and non-famous historic trials.

Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Legal Treatises 1800-1926)
Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (U. S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978)
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1970

Contains digitized and searchable copies of over 300 years of legal primary sources, such as early U.S. state codes, city charters, constitutional conventions and compilations, and other documents.

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive

Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

Mamluk Bibliography Online

Comprehensive bibliography of all primary sources relating to the Mamluk sultanate of Egypt and Syria and all research and discussion germane to this subject. An on-going project of the Middle East Documentation Center (MEDOC) at the University of Chicago.

Manuel du Libraire, Brunet

Indispensable bibliography of noteworthy books printed before ca. 1860 in all languages, but with emphasis on French and Latin titles. 32,000 entries. Searchable by author, title, place, date, printer, general subject, and keyword. Appendices include a concise history of printing and of the book from the 15th century to the 17th, and a geographic dictionary correlating Latin place names with modern equivalents.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries

Collection of previously unpublished letters and diaries by women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries documenting the details of their lives and illuminating the roles women played within their families, their communities, and the social and political movements of their times. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

Manuscriptorium

System for collecting and making accessible on the internet information on historical book resources, linked to a virtual library of digitized documents. The service is financed by the National Library of the Czech Republic.

March of Time

Online version of March of Time newsreels. Coverage: 1935-1967

Marcive Web DOCS

Online catalog of U.S. government publications dating back to mid-1976. Direct links to documents on the web are provided. Many of the documents are available in the U.S. Documents Collection in Firestone

MarketResearch.com Academic

Provides market research on many industries.

Markit

Major source for credit default swap data.  Earliest data tends to be around 2001.

Marquis Who's Who

Brief biographical entries on prominent persons of any nationality, with emphasis on living Americans. Significant historical content as well.

Mary Ferrell Foundation

Searchable archive of documents related to the assassinations of John F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King Jr., Robert F. Kennedy, the Watergate scandal, and post-Watergate investigations into abuses of the CIA and other intelligence agencies.

Mary Shelley: Journals

Searchable electronic edition of The Journals of Mary Shelley, 1814-1844.

Mary Shelley: Novels and Selected Works

Searchable electronic edition of The Novels and Selected Works of Mary Shelley.

MASC
MASC: Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections

Master author index for more than 1200 archival collections in all units of the Princeton University Library's Department of Rare Books and Special Collections, with entries for more than 23,000 individuals and corporate bodies. This database is maintained locally. MASC has not been actively updated since 2002.

Mass Observation Online

The Mass Observation project recorded the views and experiences of ordinary Britons from 1937 into the early 1960s. The archive is a rich source of information about Britain before, during and after World War II, and about changes in attitudes to many topics in social and economic life.

Masters of Architecture

An ongoing series of 7000+ digital images from Pidgeon Audiovisual and World Microfilms. The charter collection consists of images digitized from the original collection of 58 slide sets belonging to architects and published between the mid 80s and 2003. Slide collections are added on a regular basis.

Material ConneXion

Includes over 1,500 materials and processes. The database allows you to discover the latest and most exciting materials originating from a large spectrum of industries, typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. All the materials are juried into the database by a panel of material specialists and knowledgeable professionals. Covers current industrial manufacturing products, processes, and processed raw materials. Historical products or companies are not covered. As subscribers to Material Connexion, all Princeton affiliates have unlimited access to the Material Library in New York City.

Materials Research Society (MRS) Online Proceedings Library

The online library contains the full text of peer reviewed papers presented at MRS Spring and Fall meetings which report on fundamental and emerging research areas in materials science. Proceedings papers can be sorted by meeting or topic, and are fully searchable.

Materials Science Collection (ProQuest)
MATERIALSnetBASE

Collection of handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and treatises covering the theory, data, and processes shaping diverse materials applications.

MATHnetBASE

Electronic books on mathematics and operations research.

MathSciNet

Bibliographic database with reviews of journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms (AccessScience)
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed. (Access Science)
McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology (AccessScience)
Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest)
Medical Dictionaries
Medici.tv

Offers streaming classical music videos that include over 1,600 films as well as many events broadcast live, with replays available for several weeks after the live events. Content  includes music festivals (such as the Verbier, Salzburg, and Lucerne), concerts from baroque through contemporary music (Berlin,  New York Philharmonic orchestras, the Concertgebouw, Carnegie Hall recitals, etc.), operas (including Paris and La Scala), ballets, workshops and master classes with renowned artists (from Juilliard, Heidelberg and elsewhere), competitions (the Tchaikovsky from Moscow), documentaries, artist portraits, and archived performances.

Medieval family life: the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor and Armburgh papers

Contains full-color images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor, and Armburgh family letter collections, along with full-text searchable transcripts from printed editions. Also includes family trees, chronology, a map, and a glossary.

Medieval Travel Writing

Digital edition of manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period.

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)

National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal literature providing access to information on the following: population and reproductive biology, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences, and allied health. Coverage is worldwide with an emphasis on English-language peer reviewed journals.

MEDLINE (ISI)

A National Library of Medicine database, covers more than 4000 journal titles and is international in scope.

Medline (PubMed)

Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles.

Meet the Press

The full surviving broadcast run of "Meet the Press" to date—available in one cross-searchable interface.

Meiji Japan: The Edward Sylvester Morse Collection from the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum

English-language multidisciplinary archives containing diaries, sketches, travel journals, scrapbooks, publications and correspondence of the polymath and collector Morse, known for his work in natural history (zoology, evolution, astronomy, methodology), ethnography (material culture, music, games, printing, Ainu, religion) and art history (including archaeology, architecture) bridging Japan and America from the 1880s to the 1920s.

MENALIB (The Middle East Virtual Library)

Information portal for Middle East and Islamic Studies which provides access to online information and to digital records of printed and other offline media. Created by the State- and University Library of Saxony-Anhalt in Halle, Germany and integrates the efforts of many institutions and individuals.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Produced by the Buros Institute, contains full-text information about and citations to articles about many English-language educational, psychological and vocational standardized tests

Merck Index

Handbook contains 11,000 short entries describing significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances.

Mergent Archives

Collection of Moody's/Mergent Manuals. Also includes D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (1979-2015), Mergent Bond Record (2004+), CRB Commodity Yearbook (1939+), Who owns Whom (1961+), as well as a large international annual reports collection (larger number of reports become available in the late 1920s.  Some back to the 19th century.)

Mergers and Acquisitions (SDC)

Allows detailed searches on mergers and acquisitions. All corporate transactions in which at least 5% of the ownership of a company was involved and in which the transaction was valued at $1 million or more (after 1992, deals of any value are covered) or in which the value of the transaction was undisclosed are included. Public and private transactions are covered. Also available in Firestone Library (A Floor - RIS Suite) through the more powerful SDC interface.

For the web version, Must use Internet Explorer 10.   Click on Tools, then Compatibility view settings.  Check "Display all websites in compatibility view".   Add thomsonone.com and then close box and browser.   Reopen IE.

Merriam-Webster Unabridged

Largest, most comprehensive dictionary of American English, with illustrative quotations. Based on Webster's Third New International Dictionary of the English Language, Unabridged, first published in the 1960s. This version is continuously updated.

Met Opera on Demand

Provides video and/or audio streaming access to over 500 productions from New York’s Metropolitan Opera, including recent high-definition videos from the Met’s Live in HD series, telecasts from the 1970s-2000s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1936. New additions occur monthly.

METADEX

Includes journal articles, conference papers, trade publications, magazines, books, patents and technical reports related to processing, properties, testing, analysis and applications of metals, steels, alloys, compounds and metal matrix composites.

Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (ProQuest)

Monitors 654 journals and conference proceedings, books technical reports, etc. for world's literature on climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography, environmental sciences, and air pollution..

Methoden der organischen Chemie

Covering transformations in organic chemistry. Continued by Science of Synthesis.

MGA
Miami Herald (Newsbank)
Microbiology A
Microbiology B
Micromedex

Current clinical and pricing information about pharmaceuticals and drugs.

Middle East and Africa: A Reference Corporation World Area Studies Database

Provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel & the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide. Provides access to journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, press releases, books, manuals, magazines, and ephemera.

Middle East Newsstand

Selection of full-text Middle Eastern newspapers and newswires covering international and Middle Eastern regional topics.

Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970
Middle East Online: Iraq 1914-1974
Middle East Virtual Library (MENALIB)
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies

Index to journal and newspaper articles, books, and web sites on the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage is from 1900 to the present and includes the following fields: politics, law, international relations, economics, literature, religion, arts, anthropology, history and archaeology. The database includes the catalogue of the School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS), a major collection in London

Middle English Compendium

Covers three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a Bibliography of Middle English prose and verse and other electronic resources, including a large collection of Middle English texts.

Mideastwire

Daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.

Migration to New Worlds

Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolors, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids.

Military and Government Collection

Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.

Mineralogical Abstracts (MINABS)

Published by the Mineralogical Society of Great Britain & Ireland covers mineralogy, crystallography, geochemistry, petrology, environmental mineralogy and related topics. Content also in Georef.

Mirabile: Digital Archives for Medieval Culture
MIT's CogNet Library

Full Text access to MIT books, journals, reference works and conference materials in cognitive and brain science.

Mitra Sharafi's South Asian Legal History Resource Page

Tools and resources for the historical study of law in South Asia.

MLA International Bibliography

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

MMY (Mental Measurements Yearbook)
Modern Greek Studies Association

Non-profit organization dedicated to the promotion of modern Greek studies in the United States and Canada.

Modern Language Translations of Byzantine Sources

Database of modern language translations of Byzantine primary sources, which can be searched by keyword or browsed using pull-down menus.

Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Database
Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications

Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government.

Monumenta Germaniae Historica
Morningstar Direct

Includes international open-ended and closed-end mutual funds; hedge funds, exchange traded funds, UK pension funds, variable annuities, variable life, and insurance product funds. Requires passwords and codes.

Moshe Dayan Center for Middle Eastern and African Studies. Bibliographical Database
Motif-Index of Folk Literature

Searchable electronic edition of The Motif-index of Folk Literature, by Sitith Thompson.

MRS OPL
MSCI ESG KLD Stats

Leading authority on socially conscious investment research.

MSCI GMI Ratings

Annual historical data for each proxy year including corporate board structure and independence , director positions and committee assignments, executive and director compensation, audit fees, corporate ownership, and takeover defenses.

MSRB - Municipal Securities Transaction Data

 

Collects and makes publicly available through its Electronic Municipal Market Access (EMMA). The trades represent transactions by investors and dealers in the over-the-counter market for municipal securities issued by municipal entities, including states, counties, cities and special tax districts. Available through WRDS.  Requires users to validate through password (undergraduates request a research assistant account and list your adviser as your faculty member).

 

Multi Data Online Data Bank

Provides articles from important studies, opinions, and analyses published in Arab newspapers and magazines.

Muse
Music & Performing Arts (Alexander Street)

Portal page from Alexander Street for all their streaming audio and video, full-text, and image resources in music and the performing arts to which Princeton subscribes. Includes    American, classical, popular, and world music, jazz, dance, theater, and film.

Music Index Online

Includes international music periodicals covering classical, popular and world of music. Comprehensively cites articles and news about music, musicians and the music industry as well as book and concert reviews and obituaries.

Music Industry Data

Dynamic database enabling searches of international charting albums and singles of popular music under exclusive academic license from Billboard, the Official Charts Company.  Delivers over sixty years of popular music data to scholars, students, and researchers in diverse music and social science disciplines and interdisciplinary study. Additional features provide streaming audio links to copyright-cleared sound samples for most cited tracks and albums, and links to full-text articles in leading popular music journals and Web sites, including Popular MusicPopular Music Studies,Popular Music and Society, and Rock's Backpages. Sophisticated tools allow users to interpret, graph, analyze, compare, and contrast musical trends and interactions, and to extract and compare charting data for sound recording sales.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library

A large, 4-volume digital collection of both in-copyright and public domain editions and manuscripts of music scores, mostly from the classical repertory. Includes works by major and lesser-known composers spanning the Renaissance to the 21st century in full, study, and piano-vocal scores, and piano reductions. Offers a large number of licensed works by now-iconic 20th-21st-century composers, such as Bartók, Berio, Britten, Copland, Lutosławski, Maxwell Davies, Pärt, Saariaho, Stravinsky, and Tavener.

Music Periodicals Database

Indexes music journals covering a broad scope of research from performance, theory and composition to music education, jazz and ethnomusicology. Provides selected full text coverage of the most important music journals, and both scholarly and popular publications.

Music Treasures Consortium

Provides digital access to rare music manuscripts and print materials from the 16th-20th centuries through an alliance of libraries with holdings of unique music resources, including music manuscripts, prints, and first and early editions (presently the British Library, Harvard University, Juilliard School, Library of Congress, Morgan Library and Museum, and New York Public Library). Database hosted by the Library of Congress as part of its Performing Arts Encyclopedia.

Mutual Fund Links

Linking between the CRSP Mutual Fund data and the Thompson Financial Ownership Data.

MyiLibrary

Full text of select publications from the International Atomic Energy Agency, International Labour Organization, International Organization for Migration, UNAIDS, United Nations, and the World Health Organization.