Databases s

Starts With: (7) | ( (1) | 1 (2) | 6 (1) | A (188) | B (98) | C (172) | D (81) | E (141) | F (38) | G (62) | H (50) | I (86) | J (29) | K (32) | L (80) | M (83) | N (88) | O (90) | P (133) | Q (5) | R (44) | S (113) | T (48) | U (44) | V (15) | W (71) | X (2) | Y (4) | Z (13)
Titlesort descending
S&P Global NetAdvantage

Industry surveys, reports for stocks, bonds, and mutual funds, business biographies, financial forecasts.

SA ePublications - South African Journals published online

Provides access to selected full text South African journals in the social sciences, humanities and law.

Sabin Americana Digital Archive
Sabinet
Safari Tech Books Online

Collection of information technology and programming books, mostly published by O'Reilly which allows searching for code examples and specific technical information

Sage knowledge
SAGE Psychology Video Collection
SAGE Reference Online

Handbooks and encyclopedias in history, the sciences, and the social sciences.

Sage Research Methods

A cross-disciplinary research methods tool.  It provides full access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference materials, and videos about research design, specific methods, conducting research, and writing about research results.  Along with many other titles, it includes the full-text of SAGE’s Little Green Books and Little Blue Books.

Sage Stats

Collection of more than 2,000 current and historical data series allowing comparison and ranking of US states on a variety of topics. View data as graphs, charts, or tables, all of which can be easily exported; export an entire series by saving an item to the Data Cart. Most series cover mid-1990s to present.

SAH Archipedia

Authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press.  It contains histories, photographs, and maps for 8,500+ structures and places within the United States. Though consisting of mostly buildings, one can find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more. The content is drawn from the award-winning book series, Buildings of the United States, and includes histories and thematic essays from 12 of the published BUS volumes. The resource is still growing and is slated to include approximately 100 building entries from all BUS volumes.

San Francisco Chronicle (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
San Francisco Chronicle Digital Microfilm
Sanborn Maps Geo Edition
Sanborn Maps, Digital.
Santayana: Works
Santiago Times

Daily newspaper including original stories and translations from Spanish language sources.

Savifa: Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Sudasien

University of Heidelberg information gateway for South Asian Studies.

SCC Online Indian Law

Extensive searchable database of Indian case law and statute law.  Contains some secondary source material and some pre-statehood material as well.

 NOTE:  Must register for an account before first use.

Schillers Werke im WWW

Based on die Nationalausgabe. Includes the complete works including poetry, plays, translations, minor prose works, historical and philosophical writings, letters, and the Conversations.

SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)

Provides access to full-text articles covering selected scientific journals and proceedings collections from Latin America, South Africa and other developing countries.

Science Citation Index
Science Citation Index
Science of Synthesis

Considers and critically reviews methods from journals, books, and patent literature and presents important synthetic methods for all classes of organic compounds. Web version covers former Houben-Weyl treatise (1952-2003) and its continuation title, Science of Synthesis (2001+). Critically reviews chemical reaction literature with emphasis on functional group conversions.

Science.gov

Gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by United States government agencies including research and development results.

Scientific Electronic Library Online
Scientific Style and Format

SciFinder Web (Chemical Abstracts)

Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of chemistry. Combines several Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases.

SCIPIO: Art and Rare Books Sales Catalogs

Describes art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late sixteenth century to scheduled auctions, not yet held. Records include the dates and places of sales, the auction houses, sellers, institutional holdings, and titles of works.

SciTech Connect

Energy related full text technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Scienctific and Technical Information  and predecessor agencies the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). Includes publicly available energy and energy related literature in the disciplines of biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental sciences, fission and nuclear technologies, fossil fuels, geosciences, materials, mathematics, computing, physics and more.

Scopus

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.

Scotsman (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Screen and Stage: The Russian Cinematographic and Theater Press

Provides access to a unique collection of late 19th and early 20th century Russian theater and film periodicals, which also includes material on other forms of entertainment and mass culture in pre-revolutionary Russia. The files are available in PDF as well as Déjà vu format.

Scribner Writers eBooks

Long, scholarly essays on prominent authors from antiquity to the late 20th century, focusing on their lives and the significance of their works, with bibliographies. Includes the content of African American Writers, American Writers, Ancient Writers, British Writers, European Writers, Latino and Latina Writers, plus other sets.

Seattle Times
Selected Papers of John Jay

Digital edition of selected papers of John Jay, first Chief Justice of the United States.

Sephardic Editions, 1550-1820

Meyer Kayserling's Biblioteca española-portugueza-judaica (1890) is a hallmark of Iberian and Jewish bibliography. It reveals the importance, richness, and variety of the culture produced by the Jews of Spain and Portugal, both the exiles of 1492 and the many converted Jews - the "New Christians" or "conversos" - who returned to Judaism between the 16th & the 18th centuries.

Sermons of Martin Luther

The Baker Books edition (originally published by Lutherans of all Lands, 1904-1906). Edited by John Nicholas Lenker. Includes Sermons on Gospel Texts for Advent, Christmas, and Epiphany.

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers

Digital edition of newspapers from the Burney Collection at the British Library. Most are London newspapers of the 17th and 18th centuries, but there are also pamphlets and broadsides.

Shakespeare Collection

Full text criticism of Shakespeare’s works and performances; primary source material including the full text annotated editions of The Arden Shakespeare, the Gordon Crosse Theatrical Diaries, and prompt books; reference material related to the social and historical context of Shakespeare’s works; multimedia images, illustrations, and movie stills.

Shaw-Shoemaker Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the early 19th century. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Sheet Music Online (Ebrary)

9,000 sheet music titles for bands, orchestras, instrumentalists and vocalists of all levels. Includes classical titles from composers including Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Haydn, Mozart, Scarlatti, Schubert and Tchaikovsky.

SHELDUS (Spatial Hazard Events and Losses Database for the United States)

County-level hazard loss data set for the U.S. for 18 different natural hazard events types such thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and tornadoes. For each event the database includes the beginning date, location (county and state), property losses, crop losses, injuries, and fatalities that affected each county. Does not include Puerto Rico, Guam, or other U.S. territories.

Shen Bao

Searchable full text and PDF page images of this historical Chinese newspaper.

Shinpen Kokka taikan

Searchable collection of Japanese traditional poetry.

Shodhganga

Reservior of theses from India.

Short Story Index

Provides citations to short stories written in or translated into English published in short story collections as well as periodicals indexed by the Reader's Guide and the Humanities Index.

Si ku quan shu
SIAM Journals Online
Sibu congkan

Fully searchable collection of 504 original and historical works (3134 volumes) published by the Commercial Press from 1919 to 1936. Original collection used photolithography, which resulted in better editions than the then-available typeset editions. Authoritative editions.

Sidgwick: Complete Works, Select Correspondence
Siku Quanshu

Complete contents, in full text and image, of the 3460+ titles of the Wenyuange edition of the Siku Quanshu (1782), with 800 million characters (183 CD ROMs). Includes also such large compilations as the Quan Tang shi, Zizhi tongjian, Xu zizhi tongjian changbian, Wenxuan, Peiwen yunfu, Taiping yulan or the 25 Histories. For best use, consult the guide available on the EAL Web pages.

Silent Film Online

Covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.

SIMBAD
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap)

Mapping application that lets users create thematic maps & reports using demographic, business, & marketing data (Nielsen P$YCLE, Nielsen ConneXions, Nielsen PRIZM, MRI Consumer Survey, & EASI Life Stage Data).

Sinica SinoWeb

Past and (if applicable) current issues in Chinese of some Sinological periodicals published in Taiwan (mostly from the Academia Sinica). Searches retrieve first hits, then snippets, before the option to download appears.

Sivet Cinema Online. Archival Documents from RGALI, 1923-1935
Sixteenth Century Pamphlets Online/Flugschriften Online

Digital facsimiles of early modern pamphlets in European collections.

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974

Contains letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, pamphlets, and rare audio and video materials documenting the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America.

Sky & Telescope's Guide to Internet Resources
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice

Brings together original manuscript and rare printed material from dozens of libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. It includes significant coverage of slavery today, US court records from the local, regional and State Supreme Court level, documents on the Islamic slave trade, as well as sources on urban slavery, interracial education, the Day Law in Kentucky, desegregation and social justice.  Also includes material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.

SMA/SportsMarketAnalytics

Provides a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the sporting goods and sports marketing industry.

Small Press Record of Books in Print

Lists in-print titles published by 5,000 small, independent publishers worldwide

Smart Grid eTrack
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Smithsonian Global Sound is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.

Smithsonian Institution-American Art Museum
Snapshots

Worldwide market data for a broad range of industries and regions.

SNL Energy

Covers more than 9,000 power plants; 3,000 North American energy companies; 1,700 active coal mines and 120 gas pipelines.  Provides detail on financials, supply and demand fundamentals, hourly market pricing and rate cases. Best source for pricing data. Registration from a Princeton domain is required.  Existing users login. A plugin is needed to download data.

Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online

Searches thousands of private writings and personal narratives ranging from the 1550’s to the 21st century. Includes material found in the collections North American Women's Letters and Diaries; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories; The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; Black Thought and Culture; Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society.  

Social and Personality Psychology Compass

Provides peer-reviews surveys of current research in social and personality psychology.

Social Explorer

Allows user to visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports from 1790 to the present. Also includes the 2011 censuses for Canada and the United Kingdom.

Social Issues Primary Source Collections

Primary source documents focusing on leading social issues for the environment; gender issues and sexuality; human and civil rights; and medicine, health, and bioethics.

Social Protest Collection: Popular Culture in Britain and America

Digital reproductions of mateirals held in the Social Protest Collection  of the Bancroft Library at the Unviersity of California consisting of pamphlets, leaflets, flyers, posters, and other ephemera focusing on the Vietnam War and Civil Rights. Also includes material on Black Power, the women’s movement, lesbian and gay rights, Third World issues, political documentation from the Left and Right, campus labour disputes and the movement against nuclear power and weaponry.

Social Science Citation Index
Social Science Electronic Data Library
Social Science Research Network

Abstracts and select full text of select scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers in economics, business, and law.

Social Sciences Citation Index
Social Sciences Full Text

General index to the literature of the social sciences including economics, politics, law, education, labor, and sociology.

Social Theory
Social Work Abstracts

Provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Coverage of sociology journals, books, and conference proceedings, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Sociological Abstracts

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers over 1,800 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

Sociology Microdata Sources
Sociometrics

Social science and health data archives plus an online data analysis system.

Sol and Evelyn Henkind Talmud text databank

Includes a databank of Talmud manuscripts, fragments, and early printed editions, an index of references to scholarly and rabbinic literature dealing with specific passages in the entire Talmud and a classified list of Geniza fragments in the Jewish Theological Seminary Library

Sol LiebermanTalmud Databank
Soncino Classics Collection
South Africa's Struggle for Democracy: Anti-Apartheid Periodicals (Disa).
South African Journals Online
South African Studies

Combined with African Studies to form Africa-Wide: NiPAD.

South and Southeast Asian Literature

Fiction & poetry written in English by authors from South & Southeast Asia & their Diasporas. Focusing on works composed during the late-colonial & postcolonial eras, the collection will also feature author interviews & manuscript materials.

South Carolina Newspapers: 1732-1780
South China Morning Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

For 1993+, see the Catalog.

Soviet Cinema Online: Periodicals and Newspapers, 1918-1942

Includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting the most interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian film. These publications are largely absent from book collections in the West, and are now presented for the first time as a large, complete set. They shed light on the production side of Soviet cinematography, as well as on the theoretical and practical concepts developed by the period's leading directors and critics.

SPE (Society of Petroleum Engineers) eLibrary
Special Libraries in Greece

On-line catalog to a variety of specialized libraries in Greece.

Spectral Data for the Chandra X-Ray Observatory
Speer Library
SPIE Digital Library

Extensive resource of information on optics and photonics, providing full-text access to technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings.

Spinoza: Opera
Sport Discus

International sport and fitness literature covering periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, and research papers.

Springer eBooks
Springer Materials (The Landolt-Bornstein Database)
Springer Protocols (formerly BioMedProtocols)

Provides access to reproducible, step-by-step protocols for use in the laboratory. It features over 16,000 peer-reviewed protocols from Humana's book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

SRI Directory of chemical producers: United States
Sri Syed

Site dedicated to Sir Syed Ahmad Khan; a joint project of AMU and FAAA, USA.

SSRN
St. Louis Dispatch
Stalin Digital Archive

Provides access to primary source materials from Stalin's personal papers and insightful monographs on communism. Includes Russian State Archive of Social and Political History documents and the Annals of Communism series.

Standard & Poor's Credit Ratings Express

Provided a history of short and long term commercial credit and corporate bond ratings at both the issuer/entity and issue/instrument levels. This set also includes Credit Watch and Credit Outlook information. The issuer ratings data started in 1923 and covered more than 20,000 public and private firms through 2012. In addition, information for more than 200,000 distinct credit instruments started in 1969 and ended in 2012. Available through WRDS. Requires user to validate through password (undergraduates request a research assistant account and list your adviser as your faculty member).

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Provides full-text articles with current bibliographies on many topics of philosophy.

State Department Background Notes

Factual publications prepared by the staff of the U.S. State Department that contain information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations. Each report contains information about the country's people, history, government, political conditions, economy, foreign relations, relations with the U.S., travel, and business. These reports are updated periodically.

State Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe

Digital edition of manuscript British state documents of the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries. Combines State Papers Domestic, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Foreign with the Registers of the Privy Council. Comprises two subcollections: State Papers Online, 1509-1714 and State Papers Online, 18th Century.

State Statutes: A Historical Archive (Hein Online)

This collection includes more than 1,600 volumes and nearly 2,000,000 pages of historical superseded state statutes.

States of India

Demographics, infrastructure, investment, economic, socio-economic and political data on India. Includes states, union territories, and districts.

Statesman's Yearbook

Authoritative reference for international affairs. Includes reliable information on all 194 countries in the world plus states and dependencies, covering key historical events, population, government organization and politics, economics, trade, and infrastructure. 1864+

Statesman's Yearbook (SpringerLink)

Authoritative reference for international affairs. Includes reliable information on all 194 countries in the world plus states and dependencies, covering key historical events, population, government organization and politics, economics, trade, and infrastructure. 

Statista

Statistics portal that integrates facts from a wide range of sources categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and digital markets.
 

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistical Abstracts of the World

For a select list of countries, contains recent yearbooks.  Tables are available in Excel format and have been converted to English.

Stead's Index
StratFor

Short for Strategic Forecasting this service provides up-to-date geopolitical analysis and forecasts focused on international political, economic and security issues.

Structurae

International database and gallery for bridge, structural, and civil engineering. Includes information on over 65,000 structures, 9,000 engineers and architects and over 200,000 images.

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Online

International abstracting service on women's studies. The major focus is on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender roles, social policy, biography,literary criticism and historical studies.

Subject Compilations of State Laws (Hein Online)

Bibliography providing citations to resources comparing state law by subject.

Sunday Times Digital Archive

Fully searchable archive of the Sunday version of the Times (London).  Also see the Times Digital Archive (1785-2010).

Sungjongwon Ilgi = The Daily Records of Royal Secretariat of Chosun Dynasty (1623-1894)

Administrative reference to important court affairs recorded for 271 years from King Injo to King Kojong of Choson Dynasty.

Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum

Database of published Greek inscriptions, providing the complete Greek text and critical apparatus of new inscriptions as well as summaries of new readings, interpretations, and studies of those previously known.

Supreme Court Database

Contains information about each case decided by the Supreme Court between the 1953 & 2008 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.

SUR

SUR (Buenos Aires, 1931-1992), literary journal founded by Victoria Ocampo.

Sustainability Science Abstracts

One of 12 subfiles in the cluster that comprises the \Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management\ database. Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management and conservation.

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science

Collection of lectures that synthesize various research or development topics in biomedical engineering, communications, artificial intelligence, computer science, and electrical engineering.