Databases w

Starts With: (6) | ( (1) | 1 (2) | 6 (1) | A (186) | B (97) | C (171) | D (80) | E (144) | F (38) | G (64) | H (51) | I (89) | J (28) | K (32) | L (79) | M (82) | N (87) | O (90) | P (131) | Q (5) | R (44) | S (112) | T (49) | U (43) | V (15) | W (71) | X (2) | Y (4) | Z (13)
Titlesort descending
Wall Street Journal (Factiva)

Quick way to read by section. Includes editorials and select images.

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Wall Street Journal Digital Microfilm
Wan fang Fa lü fa gui

Chinese policies and laws.

Wan fang Xin Fang zhi

Full text versions of post-1949 Chinese local gazetteers.

Wan fang Xue shu hui yi

Articles given at academic conferences in China. A minority is abstract-only.

Wan fang Xue shu qi kan

Comprehensive full-text articles from Chinese periodicals and journals, mostly post-2001.

Wan fang Xue wei lun wen

Full text doctoral dissertations and master theses from China, mostly post-2000.

Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Washington Post Digital Microfilm
Water Resources Abstracts

One of 12 subfiles in the cluster that comprises the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management database. Covers scientific and technical world literature about water. The abstracts describe journal articles, books, conference papers, and technical reports, from the physical and life sciences as well as engineering, legal and government publications. [Known as Selected Water Resources Abstracts and was published by the USGS, the United States Geological Survey, until 1994].

Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900

Subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects.

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Web Oya-bunko

Indexes to 2,000,000 articles from 400 popular journals in Japanese. Updated monthly.

Web-ban Fuzoku gaho

A graphic magazine of Japanese manners and customs. Contains illustrations, photographs, and cartoons that describe Japanese cultural life during the Meiji and Taisho periods. Covers the complete issues of Fuzoku gaho including special issues.

Web-ban Nihon Kindai Bungakkan (Taiyo + Bungei Kurabu)
WebCSD
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900

Indexes 43 Victorian periodicals by author, subject, and book review.

Westlaw (commercial version)

Comprehensive database of legal materials, both primary and secondary sources, from the United States and selected foreign countries and international organizations. Password required.  Please try searching WestlawNext Campus Research which contains similar coverage and features.  Contact dholland@princeton.edu for Westlaw commercial log-on if still necessary.

WestlawNext Campus Research

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations. Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law.

Wharton Research Data Service (Princeton only)

Interface to various financial and economic databases including Compustat, CRSP, IBES, Optionmetrics, and TAQ.

Who's Who
Who's Who in the Classical World

Includes the full-text of more than 100 dictionaries and reference books published by Oxford University Press.

WhoPlus (Japan)

Biographical information on hundreds of thousands of historical and contemporary people. Entries link to data in MagazinePlus.

Wilson OmniFile

Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles.

Wilson Social Sciences Index
WiserTrade

International trade database which includes U.S. state level export series, U.S. exports and imports by customs district & by individual port, as well as EU, Canadian and Chinese (by province), Chilean and Colombian (by region), South African (district and port), Taiwanese, and Japanese trade statistics.

WiseSearch

News items from over 1,500 newspapers and other media sources from the Greater China region, both national, provincial and regional. Some English-language sources from Asia are included, as is company news. See the EAL pages for more info.

Wittgenstein: Letters and Lectures

The lectures are those based on the notes of John King and Desmond Lee from Cambridge University, 1930-1932.

Wittgenstein: Nachlass

The Bergen Electronic Edition. Includes Wittgenstein'ss philosophical Nachlass of some 20,000 pages

Wittgenstein: Tagebucher und Briefe

Includes correspondence with Ludwig von Ficker, Ludwig Hansel, Rudolf Koder and Stanislaus and Adele Jolles. The diaries cover the years 1930-1932, 1936-1937.

Wollstonecraft: Works

Searchable electronic edition of The Works of Mary Wollstonecraft.

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820

Contains primary source documents written by women in response to imperialism, colonialism, missionary work, Native American affairs, and war.

Women and Social Movements in the United States

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

Women and Social Movements International

Writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made.

Women in the National Archives

Consists of a finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives of the United Kingdom and original documents covering the campaign for women's suffrage in Britain, 1903-1928 and the granting of women's suffrage in colonial territories, 1930-1962.

Women Working (1800-1930)

Access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

Women Working, 1800-1930: Women's Bureau Bulletins

Explores women's roles in the United States economy between 1800 and the Great Depression.

Women Writers Online

Full text collection of early modern women's writing.

Women's Magazine Archive

Complete archives of the foremost titles of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture.

Women’s Wear Daily Archive

Comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last 12 months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included.

WordNet

Princeton hosted database of English nouns, verbs, adjectives and adverbs grouped into sets of cognitive synonyms (synsets), each expressing a distinct concept.

World Almanac of Islamism

Designed to track the rise or decline of radical Islam on a national, regional and global level. Focuses on the nature of the contemporary Islamist threat around the world, and on the current activities of radical Islamist movements worldwide.

World Bank e-Library

Online access to World Bank publications. Useful for research in international social and economic development. Also see the World Bank's Open Knowledge Repository which contains open access materials.

World Biographical Information System

Gives name, occupation, birth, and death dates for millions of individuals who are treated in thousands of reference works, and provides digital facsimiles of biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 21st century.

World Christian Database

Contains statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups.

World Constitutions Illustrated

Provides current constitutions for every country, constitutional histories for many countries, and a variety of full-text sources covering constitutions worldwide.

World Defence Industry
World Development Indicators

Includes annual economic, social, educational, environmental and health data from many of the World Bank's major statistical publications.

World Economic Outlook

Presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups (classified by region, stage of development, etc.), and in many individual countries. Focuses on major economic policy issues as well as on the analysis of economic developments and prospects.

World Factbook

Annual publication of the Central Intelligence Agency provides profiles of countries throughout the world. Each profile begins with a brief historical background and includes information about geography, population, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.

World History in Video

Digital collection of BBC, PBS and independent documentaries covering world history. Includes transcripts.

World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)

World Bank and UNCTAD data on trade, tariffs, and non-tariff measures. Requires registration. World Bank and UNCTAD data on trade, tariffs, and non-tariff measures. Requires registration.

World LNG Map

Interactive tool from Petroleum Economist Map Services. Contains maps, world statistics and data (production, consumption, trade movement, import and export capacities by country and operator) and shipping information for LNG (liquefied natural gas).

World News Connection (Eastview)

Foreign News Alert Service from the U.S. Government. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources. Covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.

1995-2013. (For earlier years see Foreign Broadcast Information Service.)
World Newspaper Archive

Provides full-text access to historical newspapers in the United States, Africa, and Latin America.

World Newspaper Archive - African Newspapers

Provides full-text access to historical newspapers from Africa.

World Newspaper Archive - Latin American Newspapers

Provides full-text access to historical newspapers from Latin America.

World Newspaper Archive - South Asian Newspapers

Historical newspapers include Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka), Indian People (Allahabad), Kayasare hinda (Bombay), Leader (Allahabad), Madras Mail (Madras), Pioneer (Allahabad), and Tribune (Lahore).

World Newsreels Online

Streaming video of international newsreels produced between 1929 and 1966. All are accompanied by transcripts, with those in foreign languages translated into English.

World Population Prospects

Demographic indicators including measures of fertility, life expectancy, migration, and measures of the impact of HIV/AIDS.

World Press Trends Database

Primary source of data on the newspaper industry world-wide. For each of more than 70 countries and territories, a broad range of annual data includes elements such as the number of titles and circulation, advertising costs and income, sales revenue, number of journalists and employees, salary costs, and costs for newsprint.

World Religion Database

Contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world.

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean

Digital edition of over 30 historical collections of primary source documents related to Latin America and the Caribbean. Materials include books, manuscripts, U.S. government records, pamphlets, and ephemera.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online

Provides listings for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and the present.

World Tourism Organization Database

Fully cross-searchable portal of World Tourism Organization publications in their respective languages.

World Treaty Library

Collection of over 160,000 treaties, covering 1648 to the present.  Also includes important secondary and scholarly material related to treaty research.

World War II Memorial Book

Provides the name, date and place of death, class year, and rank and branch of service for each Princeton student or alumnus who died in service to his country during the Second World War.

World Who's Who

Basic biographical data on more than 23,000 prominent living or recently deceased individuals from around the world.

World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow (Smithsonian Collections Online)

Materials published between 1834-1940. Includes Books of the Fairs: Smithsonian Libraries holdings; world's fairs titles in the Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology and in the Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Library.

World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions

World's fairs showcased the newest ideas and inventions on a global stage, and are valuable for interdisciplinary research.  Includes documents from over 200 fairs covering 1851-2015, including governmental records of early financial appeals, international diplomatic documents, minutes and correspondence of fair committees, plans and design concepts, contemporary ephemera (tickets, pamphlets, posters), personal accounts, and official guidebooks. Includes in-depth case studies.

WorldCat

Comprehensive online catalog of library holdings. Lists books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, and other materials located in public, academic, corporate, school and specialized libraries all over the world. Check Worldcat for holdings of material that are not available at Princeton. Available items may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Worldscope

Presents fundamental data for major international companies. Searchable by company name, country, exchange, or fundamental items.  Available through WRDS.

WorldTradeLaw.net

Legal research tool for WTO dispute settlement.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.

WRDS
Writings on Art, From the 18th to the 20th Century

Texts of art criticism by notable French and other artists and writers, specifically focused on salons and important literary works written from 1741 to 1927. This important primary resource includes works of aesthetics, philosophy and art history by such individuals as Apollinaire, Balzac, Baudelaire, Chateaubriand, Delacroix, Diderot, Dumas, Falconet, Gauguin, Mallarme, de Maupassant, Michelet, Proust, Rodin, Sand, Stendhal, Viollet-le-Duc, Winckelmann, and Zola.