Byzantine Studies
Core Resources
Byzantinische Zeitschrift 1892+
Cumulative bibliography of essays and monographs cited in Byzantinische Zeitschrift and its supplement. Covers the history of Byzantium.
International Medieval Bibliography 1967+
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
Texts of Greek literature from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Constantinople (1453 CE).
Supplementary Resources
Basilica Online
Searchable online edition of the Basilica text and its scholia, as edited by H. J. Scheltema, D. Holwerda, and N. van der Wal.
Modern Language Translations of Byzantine Sources
Database of modern language translations of Byzantine primary sources, which can be searched by keyword or browsed using pull-down menus.
Patrologia Graeca
Greek texts relevant to the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
Patrologia Orientalis Database
Database of patristic texts from the Christian East published in the Patrologia Orientalis series. Original texts are presented as images, but the facing translations are searchable.
Prosopography of the Byzantine World
Database of biographical evidence covering the years 1025-1150.
Resources for Byzantine Studies
Collection of electronic resources created by Dumbarton Oaks.
Subject Librarian(s)
Librarian for Classics, Hellenic Studies and Linguistics
(609) 258-5811
A-15J-2
Firestone Library