Canadian History

Core Resources

America: History and Life with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Colonial State Papers

Digital edition of material from the British National Archives, CO1 and other collections, from 1574-1759, including images of many original manuscript documents. Also includes a digital edition of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739.

Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961

Reproduces records relating to Canada, the Caribbean and the US from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices in the UK National Archives.

Supplementary Resources

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America.

Citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and government documents.  Formerly entitled "Bibliography of Native North Americans".

Border and Migration Studies Online

Primary sources, maps, videos, and multimedia providing historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; and Thailand.

European Views of the Americas

Created from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. Guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.

Frontier Life : Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters

Primary source documents from 1600 to 1920, covering the expansion of European culture into the American West and Southwest, Canada, Mexico, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and British Honduras (Belize).  Includes records related to agriculture, trade and commerce, family life, exploration, government, health and medicine, land and property, religion, military history, and women’s history.

Migration to New Worlds

Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolors, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories

Personal narratives of immigrants to the U.S. and Canada. Covers a wide range of nationalities and ethnic groups.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Full text database of women's personal writings.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for History and African American Studies
609-258-0496
A-17H-2
Firestone Library

Research Help