Civil Engineering

Core Resources

Compendex (EI Compendex Plus) 1884+

Extensive bibliographic database of engineering research. Indexes journal papers and conference proceedings. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Online Research Library 1996+

Full text of more than 33,000 journal articles and proceedings papers from the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Engineering Collection (ProQuest)

Includes the following databases: Abstracts in New Technology & Engineering, Biotechnology and BioEngineering Abstracts, Biotechnology Research Abstracts, Civil Engineering Abstracts, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts.

Structurae

International database and gallery for bridge, structural, and civil engineering. Includes information on over 65,000 structures, 9,000 engineers and architects and over 200,000 images.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals 1930s+

Indexes journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.

Engineering Case Studies Online

Video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes.

Techstreet

Multi-agency technical and engineering standards provider. Princeton's subscription includes access to ACI (American Concrete Institute), ASHRAE, and ICC (International Codes Council) standards.A personal account is needed to request access to additional standards. Please email Joe Marciniak (Jm110@princeton.edu) to create a personal account.  

AccessEngineering

McGraw-Hill engineering reference database. Includes major engineering reference works such as Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers as well as advanced tools such as calculators, interactive tables, videos, and data visualisation of material properties.

Supplementary Resources

AAPG Datapages

Full text access to American Association of Petroleum Geologists publications, including AAPG Bulletin, AAPG Special Volumes, Bulletin of Canadian Petroleum Geology, Journal of Petroleum Geology, Journal of Sedimentary Research. Coverage varies from 1917 to present. Also includes publications by several regional groups.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database

Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides coverage of energy-related issues. It covers journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include monographs, government studies and newsletters.

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate

General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided.

BuildingGreen Suite

Interdisciplinary resource featuring a rich array of media and information resources, including full-text access to Environmental Building News, the BuildingGreen Suite of online tools, GreenSpec directory of products, and the LEEDuser web tool. Also included is the High Performance Buildings Database (HPB) which provides case studies of projects ranging from homes and commercial interiors to large buildings and even whole campuses and neighborhoods. These may be certified green projects, or simply projects that have one or more notable environmental features.

IEEE Xplore

Full text of all IEEE (institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) journals and conferences back to 1988 with select content back to 1893.

INSPEC

Major bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology.

Knovel Engineering and Scientific Online References

Collection of the latest leading technical and engineering reference books.

Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (ProQuest)

Monitors 654 journals and conference proceedings, books technical reports, etc. for world's literature on climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography, environmental sciences, and air pollution..

NTIS

Source for accessing unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies. Provides access to over two million critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.

OnePetro

Collection of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. Access requires authentication (restricted to Princeton University users).

SciTechNetBase (CRCnetBase)

Online books published by CRC Press. Princeton subscribes to select modules (Biomedical Science, Chemistry, Clean Tech, Economics, Environmental Science, Geosciences, Material Science, Math, Neuroscience, Physics, Psychology).

Scopus

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.

Water Resources Abstracts

One of 12 subfiles in the cluster that comprises the Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management database. Covers scientific and technical world literature about water. The abstracts describe journal articles, books, conference papers, and technical reports, from the physical and life sciences as well as engineering, legal and government publications. [Known as Selected Water Resources Abstracts and was published by the USGS, the United States Geological Survey, until 1994].

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Subject Librarian(s)

Engineering Librarian
609-258-6567
A11
Fine Hall