Dance

Core Resources

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text

Provides extensive full-text of articles, reviews, & other content from many leading, primarily English-language journals & magazines in theater, dance, & the performing arts (1995+). Also offers citations, abstracts, & some full text for articles, books, book chapters, & dissertations back to 1982, including the complete International Bibliography of Theatre (1982-99). Additional selective content dates back to 1929.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database 1864+

Comprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more. IIPA indexes more than 210 periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present; citations to articles are indexed back to 1864.

Dance in Video

Includes video dance productions and documentaries by performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and more.

Medici.tv

Offers streaming classical music videos that include over 1,600 films as well as many events broadcast live, with replays available for several weeks after the live events. Content  includes music festivals (such as the Verbier, Salzburg, and Lucerne), concerts from baroque through contemporary music (Berlin,  New York Philharmonic orchestras, the Concertgebouw, Carnegie Hall recitals, etc.), operas (including Paris and La Scala), ballets, workshops and master classes with renowned artists (from Juilliard, Heidelberg and elsewhere), competitions (the Tchaikovsky from Moscow), documentaries, artist portraits, and archived performances.

Oxford Reference: Performing Arts

Provides full-text access to several key encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions on dance, theater, classical and popular music, opera, and musical theater published by the Oxford University Press.

Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television

Biographical and career information on professionals currently working in the entertainment industry, including performers, choreographers, directors, technicians, writers, composers, producers, executives, designers, and critics.

OntheBoards.tv

Offers streaming HD-quality full-length films of contemporary performance by some of today’s most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music, and “other forms that defy categorization.”

Digital Theatre Plus

Recently launched, expanding streaming video resource divided into 5 categories: recent British theatrical productions (Shakespeare, classics, new writing, musicals, dance, and opera); making theater (creative, productive, and technical teams; the acting company; theater management; and filmed interviews with practitioners); study guides; teaching support; and collections (performances from the Gran Teatre de Liceu; Royal Opera House, Shakespeare's Globe, Broadway Digital Archive, and National Jewish Theater). 

Music & Performing Arts (Alexander Street)

Portal page from Alexander Street for all their streaming audio and video, full-text, and image resources in music and the performing arts to which Princeton subscribes. Includes    American, classical, popular, and world music, jazz, dance, theater, and film.

Supplementary Resources

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)

Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and government documents.

Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA)

Policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States. Data is migrating to NADAC.

ECCO

Partially searchable digital images of books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue.  Also see the alternative interface Artemis Primary Sources that allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. 

Film Index International

Information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - indexes films from over 170 countries.

Grove Art Online (part of Oxford Art Online)

Gateway to several important art historical reference tools, most notably, the Grove Dictionary of Art (Grove Art Online) and Benezit Dictionary of Artists (2006 English ed.). Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (2001), The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998), a database of images and more.

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)

Annotated bibliography and index to books, articles and a variety of other materials. Updated monthly.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Humanities Source Ultimate

Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews.   

JSTOR

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.  Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.

Music Index

Includes international music periodicals covering classical, popular and world of music. Comprehensively cites articles and news about music, musicians and the music industry as well as book and concert reviews and obituaries.

Music Periodicals Database

Indexes music journals covering a broad scope of research from performance, theory and composition to music education, jazz and ethnomusicology. Provides selected full text coverage of the most important music journals, and both scholarly and popular publications.

Oxford Music Online

Biographical articles for composers, performers, librettists, conductors and others. Includes entries from Grove dictionaries of jazz and opera as well.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Covers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. If related to music, works in other fields, such as literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics are included.

Victorian Popular Culture

Contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930. Coverage includes spiritualism, sensation and magic; circuses, sideshows and freaks; and music halls; theater and popular entertainment.

Subject Librarian(s)

Darwin Scott

Mendel Music Librarian
609-258-4251
Mendel Music Library