History, United States - Newspapers & Magazines

Core Resources

American Periodicals 1740-1940.

Full-text and page images of several hundred American periodicals of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1922

Searchable full-text of historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Now includes select coverage of some major papers after 1922 through the mid 1990s.

Ethnic NewsWatch 1960+

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Periodicals Archive Online Late 18th century+

Index to millions of articles published in 4,547 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the collections, British Periodicals and Periodicals Archive Online I-V, which provide searchable full-text and page images of hundreds of periodicals, primarily from the 19th century.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers Varies by Newspaper.

Coverage depends on the newspaper. American Hebrew and Jewish Messenger (1857-1922); American Israelite (1854-2000); Arizona Republican (1890-1922); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010); Austin American Statesman (1871-1980); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Baltimore Sun (1837-1996); Boston Globe (1872-1990); Calgary Herald (1883-2010), Call and Post (Cleveland) (1934-1991); Chicago Defender (1909-2010); Chicago Tribune (1849-2013); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009); Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922);Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991); Dayton Daily News (1898-1922); Detroit Free Press (1831-1999); Edmonton Journal (1903-2010), Globe & Mail (1844-2018); Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003); Hartford Courant (1764-1996); Hindustan Times (1924-2000); Indianapolis Star (1903-1922); Irish Times (1859-2020); Jerusalem Post (1932-2008); Jewish Advocate (1905-1990); Jewish Exponent (1887-1990); Korea Times (1956-2016); Le Monde (1944-December 30, 2000); Leader-Post (Regina, Saskatchewan) (1883-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-2014); Louisville Courier Journal (1830-2000); Michigan Chronicle (1936-2010); Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867-2001); Montreal Gazette (1857-2010), Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); New York Times (1851-2018); New York Tribune (1841-1962); Newsday (1940-1994); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); Ottawa Citizen (1845-2010); Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003); Province (1898-2010); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); St. Louis Dispatch (1874-2003); St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Times (1886-2009); Saskatoon Star Phoenix (1902-2009); Scotsman (1817-1950); South China Morning Post (1903-2001); Times-Colonist (Victoria) (1884-2010);  Times of India (1838-August 20, 2010); Toronto Star (1894-2019); Vancouver Sun (1912-2010), Wall Street Journal (1889-2010); Washington Post (1877-2006); Windsor Star (1883-2010).   Also includes a Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) and a collection of American and British Communist papers (1917-2013).

Supplementary Resources

African American Newspapers

Complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

Online collection of academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other diverse periodicals.

African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998

Full-text collection of African American newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Alt-Press Watch

Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

Digital collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.

American Business: Agricultural Newspapers

266 newspapers published in 33 states covering both agricultural and local news.

American Business: Mercantile Newspapers

600 newspapers published in 46 states covering business, industry, international trade, and news.

American Gazettes: Newspapers of Record

120 newspapers of record from 35 states providing local facts and figures, official announcements, transaction records, legal decisions, and business notices, as well as covering general news.

American Indian Newspapers

Collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada.

American Politics: Campaign Newspapers

390 newspapers from 31 states covering presidential campaigns, political parties, and their platforms, usually from a partisan perspective.

American Religion: Denominational Newspapers

401 newspapers from 33 states covering congregational news as well as general news and opinion.

American Underworld: The Flash Press, Crime, Scandal, and Blackmail Papers of the Nineteenth Century

Sensationalist newspapers focusing on prostitution, gambling, urban gangs, illicit sporting activities, and sensational crimes, from 1826 to 1876.

Black Life in America

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.

Civil War: A newspaper perspective, The

Full text of major articles gleaned from the The New York Herald, the Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer.

Early American Newspapers

Searchable full-text of historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Now includes select coverage of some major papers after 1922 through the mid 1990s.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Translation service of the U.S. Government, usually attributed to the Central Intelligence Agency. It covered political, military, economic, environmental and sociological news and commentary, as well as scientific and technical information.

Gale Primary Resources

Cross-searching tool for Gale primary source collections (including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture). Also allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.

HarpWeek

Electronic access to Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912.

Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980

Extensive full-text collection of Spanish-language and bilingual newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines

Digital edition of nearly 50 American & British newspapers and periodicals published during the American Civil War.

Men's Magazine Archive

Digital access to the backfiles of six major US and UK men’s-interest consumer magazines:All Sports Illustrated Weekly (1919 to 1930)Argosy (1882 to 1978)Esquire [UK edition] (1991 to 2015)M: The Civilized Man (1983 to 1992)National Police Gazette (1845 to 1977)Sports Budget (1923 to 1939)

Nation Digital Archive

Digital edition of The Nation, a leading journal of left and liberal opinion, with coverage of foreign affairs, politics, culture and the arts.Access: 1865 - 2020. 

News, Policy and Politics Magazine Archive

Consists of the backfile of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Covers history, political science, law and economics

Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspaper Digital Archive

Digital archive of U.S. newspapers from the 19th century.

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: U.S. Midwest Historical

Includes various newspapers from Indiana (Indianapolis, Lafayette, Muncie, Richmond), Michigan (Battle Creek, Port Huron,  Lansing), Ohio (Chillicothe, Coshocton, Lancaster, Mansfield, Marion, Newark, Port Clinton, Springfield, Zanesville), and Wisconsin (Appleton, Fond du Lac, Green Bay, Manitowoc, Marshfield, Oshkosh, Sheboygan, Stevens Point, Wausau, Wisconsin Rapids) from the 19th century forward.

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: U.S. North Central Historical

Includes various newspapers from Colorado (Fort Collins), Iowa (Des Moines, Iowa City), Minnesota (St. Cloud), Missouri (Springfield), Montana (Great Falls), and South Dakota (Sioux Falls) from the 19th century forward.

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: U.S. Northeast Historical

Includes various newspapers from Delaware (Wilmington), New Jersey (Asbury Park, Bridgewater, Cherry HIll, East Brunswick, Millville, Morristown, New Brunswick, Plainfield, Vineland), New York (Binghamton, Elmira, Ithaca, New York, Nyack, Poughkeepsie, Rochester, Rockland, West Nyack, White Plains, Yorktown), Pennsylvania (Allentown, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh), and Vermont (Burlington) from the 19th century forward.

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: U.S. South Central Historical

Includes various newspapers from Alabama (Montgomery), Louisiana (Alexandria, Lafayette, Monroe, Opelousas, Shreveport), Mississippi (Hattiesburg, Jackson), and New Mexico (Albuquerque) from the 19th century forward.

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: U.S. Southeast Historical

Includes various newspapers from Florida (Brevard County, Fort Lauderdale, Fort Myers, Miami, Orlando, Palm Beach, Pensacola, Tallahassee, Tampa, West Palm Beach), Maryland (Salisbury),  North Carolina (Asheville), Tennessee (Jackson), and Virginia (Newport News, Staunton) from the 19th century forward.

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: U.S. West Historical

Includes various newspapers from California (Palm Springs, Salinas, San Francisco, Tulare, Visalia), Nevada (Reno), Oregon (Salem), Utah (Hurricane, St. George), and Washington (Spokane, Spokane Falls) from the 19th century forward.

ProQuest History

Combines various historical databases from ProQuest.

Rafu Shimpo Digital Archive

"The Rafu Shimpo" (羅府新報, L.A. Japanese Daily News) is the preeminent Japanese American newspaper in the United States. This digital archive contains content from 1914 on, with an additional year’s worth of content added on an annual basis.

Readers' Guide

Indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals.

Readex AllSearch

Search engine to Readex products.

Sage Knowledge

Includes an expansive range of CQ Press and SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles.  Additional CQ Press titles are available in CQ Press Library.  Includes the Historic Documents Collection.

Service Newspapers of World War Two

Newspapers published for soldiers, sailors, and airmen, during the war years and the immediate aftermath (1939-1948).  Includes newspapers for British, Canadian, Indian, and United States troops.

Women's Magazine Archive

Complete archives of the foremost titles of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for History and African American Studies
(609) 258-0496
A-17H-2
Firestone Library

Research Help