History, United States - Political & Diplomatic

Digital edition of the papers of John Adams, second president of the United States.

Based on unpublished state rosters, includes information about individual soldiers who fought in the American Civil War.

120 newspapers of record from 35 states providing local facts and figures, official announcements, transaction records, legal decisions, and business notices, as well as covering general news.

Digital edition of pamphlets from the collections of the New-York Historical Society. Includes more than 25,000 short works printed in every region of the United States between 1820 and 1922.

Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives.

Primary sources, maps, videos, and multimedia providing historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; and Thailand.

Full text of major articles gleaned from the The New York Herald, the Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer.

Collection of Communist American and British papers:  The Daily Worker (1936-1958); The Ohio Socialist (1917-1919); People's Daily World (1986-1990); People's Weekly World (1990-2013); Sunday Worker (1936-1958); The Toiler (1919-1922); The Worker (1922-1924); New York; and The Worker (1958-1968); London.

Digital edition of the letters written from 1788-1836 by Dolley Madison, wife of James Madison, fourth president of the United States.

20 volumes of primary material documenting the actions, debates, and thoughts of the First Federal Congress and its members.

Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Cross-searching tool for Gale primary source collections (including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture). Also allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.

Primary documents and scholarly commentary, with key treatises, songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera from the late 19th century.

Digital edition of nearly 50 American & British newspapers and periodicals published during the American Civil War.

Now called "Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals"Newspapers published by communist, socialist, and Marxist organizations in the English-speaking world, addressing issues such as labor conditions, the working class, McCarthyism, labor unions, the and civil rights.

Contains digitized and searchable copies of over 300 years of legal primary sources, such as early U.S. state codes, city charters, constitutional conventions and compilations, and other documents.

Online catalog of U.S. government publications dating back to mid-1976. Direct links to documents on the web are provided. Many of the documents are available in the U.S. Documents Collection in Firestone

Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government.

Library and archive of declassifed United States documents received through the Freedom of Information Act.

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Digitized version of  correspondence, legal papers, diplomatic papers, and speeches and formal writings from the nineteenth-century legislator and diplomat.

Digital edition of the Papers of George Washington, with supplementary material not included in the print edition.

Digital edition of the papers of John Marshall, fourth Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States.

Digitized, full-text searchable collection of almost every piece of correspondence, official or personal, sent or received by general and president Ulysses S. Grant.

Primary source material from far-right and fascist movements, alongside of radical leftist groups.  Includes ephemera, election materials, government documents and oral histories from groups in the United States, Europe, and Australia including John Birch Society, Black Panther Party, Ku Klux Klan, LaRouche, anti-integration groups, neo-Nazis, Communist and anti-Communist groups, Christian Identity, British Union of Fascists, British National Party, and religious cults.  Spans 1930s-21st century.

Provides online access to an extensive collection of pamphlets and complete runs of selected regional newspaper titles covering 1840-1865.  Topics addressed include the Civil War, slavery, abolition, medicine, and the law.

Search engine to Readex products.

Digital edition of selected papers of John Jay, first Chief Justice of the United States.

Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

A near-comprehensive, 2.1 million-word online annotated bibliography of historical work covering the entire span of U.S. foreign relations.

Includes the  House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688 and the House of Lords Papers from 1715-1910. Includes searchable full text and subject indexing. The Parliamentary Papers are an essential primary source for Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy.

Digital access to Congressional Record (Bound and Daily), Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, American State Papers, Journals of the Continental Congress, and Territorial Papers of the United States. "Daily-to-Bound Locator" provides citation to Bound version from the Daily Congressional Record. Also includes smaller works including Journal of William Maclay, Diplomatic Correspondence of the American Revolution, James Madison's Notes of Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787, Administrative Conferences of the United States, Legislation of Congress for the Government of the Organized Territories of the United States, B.F. Steven's Facsimiles of Manuscripts in European Archives Relating to America, 1773-1783.

Full text of Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories: A Bibliography of Government Documents, Periodical Articles, and Books and full text legislative histories of important legislation.

Contains full-text documents from U.S. intelligence agencies covering the Middle East and North Africa from the end of WWII to 2009.   Includes CIA reports and briefings.  Note: Select ‘this collection only’ to limit search to this resource.