Indigenous Studies
Core Resources
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Wide variety of materials relating to American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico, from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection. Covers pre-contact through the mid-20th century.
American Indian Newspapers 1828-2016.
Collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada.
Supplementary Resources
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America.
Citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and government documents. Formerly entitled "Bibliography of Native North Americans".
Digital Sanborn Maps
Sanborn fire insurance maps contain detailed information on urban structures, property boundaries, and streets. Provides historical information on the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.
Early Encounters in North America
Primary sources detailing encounters between Europeans, Africans, and American Indians between 1500 and 1900. Includes original accounts, letters, logbooks, journals and diaries.
European Views of the Americas
Created from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. Guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.
Frontier Life : Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters
Primary source documents from 1600 to 1920, covering the expansion of European culture into the American West and Southwest, Canada, Mexico, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and British Honduras (Belize). Includes records related to agriculture, trade and commerce, family life, exploration, government, health and medicine, land and property, religion, military history, and women’s history.
Migration to New Worlds
Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolors, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. Presents the entire spectrum of native peoples' experiences from their own point of view.
Subject Librarian(s)
Assistant University Librarian for Research Services, Teaching, and Social Sciences
(609) 258-8769
A-18J
Firestone Library