International Relations/Comparative Politics

Core Resources

Annual Review of Political Science 1998+

Comprehensive review of the literature in political science. Can help students identify major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of politics.

Cambridge Core (E-Books and E-Journals)

Cambridge University Press content (eBooks and eJournals) avialable to Princeton University. Please note: Princeton University does not have full-text access to all of the content found on the Cambridge Core platform. On the Cambrdige Core platform, check the box below the searchbox that says "Only search content I have access to" if you want to limit search results to the content you have access to. 

EIU Country Report (Previously: EIU Profiles and Reports) 1996+

Background reports covering economic, political, and social conditions of countries.  For 1952-1995, use the EIU Country Reports Archive.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS 1951+

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

International Political Science Abstracts 1951+

Abstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals. Topics covered include political science method and theory, political thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions, political process, international relations, and national and area studies

Oxford Bibliographies: International Relations

Annotated bibliographies to some of the most important and most recent scholarship on various aspects of international relations.

Oxford Bibliographies: Political Science

More than 100 annotated guides to recent scholarship in topics across all subfields of political science.

Oxford Handbooks Online

Brings together the world’s leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics across numerous disciplines. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics, a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, and a review of the key issues and debates.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias

Oxford Research Encyclopedias provides access to thousands of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries of the scholarly literature by world-class experts across a broad range of disciplines. New articles are added monthly and existing reviews are regularly updated to reflect changes in scholarship.

Oxford Scholarship Online: Political Science

Searchable full text of many Oxford University Press politics titles.

PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service 1915+

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

ProQuest Social Sciences

Cross searches more than 30 databases in the social sciences, including EconLit, Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive, GenderWatch, Index Islamicus, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), PAIS International, and other databases covering criminal justice, education, political science, sociology, and more.

Routledge Handbooks Online

Provides overview of classic and current research and future trends in the social Sciences and humanities, while at the same time providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.

World Development Indicators 1960+

Includes annual economic, social, educational, environmental and health data from many of the World Bank's major statistical publications.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 1975+

Provides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.

Supplementary Resources

Africa Development Indicators

Social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, & environmental indicators on Africa.

African Research Online

Consists of 2 parts:  (1)  The African Studies Companion Online contains entries covering guides and resources for African languages, Africa cartography and maps, African film, African studies journals, magazines and newsletters, media guides and news sources for Africa, the African press, African studies library collections worldwide, national archives in Africa, centers of African studies and African studies programs worldwide, awards and prizes in African studies. (2) The Africa Yearbook covers major domestic political developments, the foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Sahara Africa – all related to developments in one calendar year.

Afrobarometer

Comparative series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, markets and civil society in Africa.

BBC Monitoring: International Reports

Provides news and information based on round-the-clock monitoring of radio, TV, press, internet and news agency sources around the world. Expert selection from an extensive range of international news sources enables us to provide insightful and reliable coverage of political, economic, security and media news. Reports are translated into English from more than 100 languages, showing not only what the media are reporting but how they are telling the story. Included in Nexis UNI.

BMI Research

Provides market research reports on 24 industries and 200 global markets, emphasizing emerging markets. Includes extensive economic and political risk ratings and analysis, and macroeconomic analysis and forecasts.ACCESS NOTE: Click here for instructions to log in as a Princeton patron.

Border and Migration Studies Online

Primary sources, maps, videos, and multimedia providing historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; and Thailand.

CEIC

Provides macroeconomic and financial time series data for many countries. Contains a wide range of data on topics including national accounts, government and public finance, demographic and labor markets, inflation, foreign trade, foreign direct investment, financial markets, and data on a variety of industry sectors. Includes subnational data for Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, and Russia.Please logoff the database.  We have 5 concurrent users.  Additional help information can be found on their site.

Chatham House Online Archive

Digital archive of a premier think-tank on international affairs and global policy covering a wide range of topics and all major world regions. Content includes briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers, and monographs, as well as audio recordings (with searchable transcripts) of key figures in international affairs. Also includes access to the full text of Chatham House’s two flagship publications: International Affairs and The World Today.

China Economic and Social Data Platform (CNKI, in Chinese)

This database allows cross yearbook indicator searches and online map generation based on the statistical data originating from the officially published Chinese Statistical Yearbooks. Both functions are not available in the original China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CNKI).

China Geo-Explorer

Integrates different data sources from government statistics, population census and economics census of China at different levels (province, city, county, township and ZIP code) into a spatial system with comparable variables.

China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CNKI)

Large selection of statistical data published by the Chinese government including census data. Chinese-language version offers more up-to-date and reliable results; best to use the yearbook navigation mode.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Aggregates research in international affairs. Publishes a wide range of scholarship, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.

Commodity Price Statistics (UNCTADSTAT)

Annual pricing data for various commodities often specific to a place.

countrydata.com

Political and economic risk data from the International Country Risk Guide (ICRG).

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive

Economic, social, and political indicators of nations and empires of the world including countries and empires that no longer exist. Select data goes back to 1815.

Data and Statistical Services

Gateway to the data collections at Princeton University, including crime, elections, public opinion, population, social, and economic data.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators. Includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade (1980+), Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics. Rich source for USA subnational data.

Database of U.S. Security Treaties and Agreements

RAND has developed a dataset that codes all of the United States' current and historical security-related bilateral and multilateral treaties and agreements. It codes for when the treaty entered into force or is terminated, world region, primary and secondary subjects (6 possibilities), treaty characteristics, COW code, and more. Data is in Excel and covers 1955-2012.

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)

Department of Defense's central resource for citations and/or full text of journal articles, technical reports, and other DoD- and government-funded publications about military and naval science, operational warfare, joint planning, and many other defense-related topics. Collections include Scientific & Technical Reports of DoD-funded R&D (mid-1900s+), Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP, 1988+), and Staff College Automated Military Periodicals Index (SCAMPI, 1985+).

Digital National Security Archive

Access to a wealth of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Divided into various core collections; each contains a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material.

Documents on British Policy Overseas

Digital edition of material from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, documenting British foreign policy from the mid-19th century to the 1970's. Based on the printed editions.

Doing Business (World Bank)

Objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement. Indicators are comparable across more than 130 economies.

E-STAT (Statistics Canada)

Economic, political, and social data covering Canada and its provinces with select data back to 1665.

East View Universal Databases

Full-text indexing of contemporary journalism and humanities and social science academic periodicals for Russia and parts of the near abroad. Retrospective coverage varies by individual title, with some going back to the 1980s and most to the 1990s. Full-page images are available for approximately 25 Moscow newspapers. Near-comprehensive full-page image archives for a number of periodicals, including newspapers and illustrated magazines and journals, many dating to the early years of the twentieth century. Collections of print ephemera related to elections and other high-impact events. Provides access in Russian or English. Searches submitted in English will yield results in English. Searches in Russian may be conducted in Cyrillic or in Roman script following the Library of Congress Romanization Table for Russian.

Economic Microdata Sources

Gateway to the microdata collections at Princeton University, including businesses, consumer spending, crime, education, health, income and employment, and transportation.

Economics and Finance FAQ

Provides a starting point to many questions in economics and finance.

Economist Historical Archive

For more recent articles (1997 forward) use Economist.com. (If off campus, once in the record click on 2000-Latest: Economist Newspaper).

EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service)

Full-text economic, financial, news, and legal information covering Central & Eastern Europe, Central Asia & the Caucasus, and Southeast Europe.

EPS China Statistics (English version)

Consists of 79 statistical datasets covering China’s population census (1953-2020), micro-census (1995-2015),  Industrial / Economic census (1985-2018), agricultural census (1996-2016), macro economy, financial markets, industry, trade, resources, and social statistics. The database has a particularly strong focus on city and county statistics. It allows creation of charts and maps and simple analysis. Data can be individually selected and downloaded in various formats: Statistics (Excel), charts (JPEG), maps (Excel, PDF, JPEG). 

EUObserver

The only independent news media covering European Union affairs in Brussels and all 28 member states. Files daily news reports from the EU capital and beyond and does in-depth investigations on topics of special interest.

EUR-Lex

Access to European Union legislation, case law and other documents considered to be public. Includes Official Journal of the European Union. Updated daily.

Europa World Plus

Online version of the Europa World Year Book and the 9-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Current surveys of countries and territories, covering such topics as government, political organizations, diplomatic representation, religion, media, finance, trade, industry, transport, and tourism. Also provides basic country data and a comparative statistics feature. Essays analyze key issues for each region, and there is directory information for international and regional organizations, as well as research institutes. Links to archives of previous years' content, back to 2006.

EUROPA: Gateway to the European Union

Portal site, providing up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Includes overview of the organization.

Europe Daily Bulletin

Published since 1953, the Europe Daily Bulletin provides an overview and analysis of European institutions and agencies.ACCESS NOTE: Princeton University subscribes to the English-language version of this resource. Use the language icon in the upper-right corner of the resource website to toggle from French to English. 

Eurostat

Wide variety of economic and social indicators, nationally and regionally, for the European Union and its member states.

fdiMarkets.com Library -- Crossborder Investment Monitor

Cross border foreign direct investment data by project and company.

Finding and using financial data at Princeton University

Research guide to data sources in finance.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Translation service of the U.S. Government, usually attributed to the Central Intelligence Agency. It covered political, military, economic, environmental and sociological news and commentary, as well as scientific and technical information.

Foreign Law Guide

Bibliography of sources of foreign law organized by country. Each entry contains a brief description of the country's legal system with citations to primary sources of law both in print and electronic versions when available. At the end of each entry is a list of subject headings with citations to the relevant laws or statutes.

Gallup Analytics

Analyze, visualize, and export data from Gallup's U.S. Daily tracking and World Poll surveys. U.S. tracks economic, wellbeing, and political data collected daily since 2008. It can be analyzed daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annually as well as by state and Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). World Poll data covers more than 80 metrics from 160+ countries collected since 2005. Does not include access to microdata.

Global Financial Data

Historical data on bonds, commodities, interest rates, stock markets and indices, futures, exchange rates, GDP, prices, and unemployment. 

Global Insight

Best source for United States national, state, and metropolitan data. International data includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, and Balance of Payments as well as OECD's Main Economic Indicators and National Accounts. Data for interest rates, government bond yields, commodity prices, exchange rates, select futures and options. Limited data coming directly from other countries are also included. Includes subnational forecasts for the United States.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

History Vault

Digital archive of U.S. history primary sources. Includes government documents, personal papers and organizational records.

Homeland Security Digital Library

Over 170,000 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources, primarily federal, state, and local governments, but also IGOs, NGOs, and research centers. It collects key strategy documents, legislation, and executive directives and also features a number of topical collections, such as active shooters, energy security, drones, pandemics, cybersecurity, and nukes.

Human Rights Documents Online

Includes human rights documents collected by the Human Rights Internet (HRI) in Ottawa, Canada since 1980.    The documents have been published  by hundreds of non-governmental human rights organizations (NGOs) throughout the world.  HDRO will be updated regularly.

Human Rights Studies Online

Database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials.

IA Reporter: Investment Arbitration Reporter

Electronic news service tracking cross-border arbitrations between foreign investors and their host governments. Covers lawsuits and policy developments related to nationalizations, privatizations, and other regulatory disputes.

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

World's largest archive of digital social science data.

ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature

Citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.

IMF eLibrary

Full reports, books, and journals from the International Monetary Fund.

Index to International Economics, Development, and Finance

Online catalog of the holdings of the publications contained in the joint International Monetary Fund/World Bank Library. Journals are selectively indexed. Great source for finding publications of the IMF and the World Bank.

Indiastat.com

Socio-economic statistical facts and figures for India at the national and state level.ACCESS NOTE: Click on "Login", then "Through IP Login" to access. One concurrent user.

International Debt Statistics (formerly known as Global Development Finance)

International Debt Statistics (IDS)—formerly known as Global Development Finance (GDF)—provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd ed.)

Aims to capture the \state of the art\ of the social and behavioral sciences, expanding its focus to include related biological fields, such as evolutionary science, genetics, cognitive neuroscience, psychiatry, and health. Topics include anthropology, archaeology, demography, economics, education, geography, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, and sociology.

International Historical Statistics

Collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. Includes data collected between 1750-2010.  Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.  Also know as the B.R. Mitchell books.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

Offers comprehensive coverage of security & counter-terrorism issues.  Content includes full text articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and background information summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.

International Strategic Analysis Reports & Forecasts

Current international market analysis, country and regional intelligence, risk, and economic forecasting.

International Trade Statistics : A Guide to Selected Resources

Overview and sampling of current trade resources available at Princeton University.

ipoll databank (Roper)

Largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 25,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms.  Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more.  When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.

Jane's Online

International security information concerning such topics as terrorism, weapons of mass destruction, reports on military readiness and capabilities of individual countries, the global defense industry, etc. Includes Terrorism and Insurgency Centre; Defence News; Security News; and World Defence Industry.

LAPOP - Latin American Public Opinion Project

Databases of public opinion information about political viewpoints across Latin America. Includes America's Barometer. For quick cross tabs, see the LAPOP Data Playground.

Latin American Newsstream

Selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics.

LatinNews – Latin American Intelligence

Source of current information, political, economic, and business analysis in Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes LatinNews Daily, Latin American Weekly Report, Latin American Economy & Business (monthly), Latin American Security & Strategic Review (monthly), Latin American Special Reports, and four regional reports (Brazil & Southern Cone, Mexico, Caribbean & Central America, Andean Group).

Latinobarometro

Summary level public opinion data for Latin America.

Middle East Newsstream

Selection of full-text Middle Eastern newspapers and newswires covering international and Middle Eastern regional topics.

Military and Government Collection

Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.

National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books

Library and archive of declassifed United States documents received through the Freedom of Information Act.

NewsBank (Access World News)

Provides full-text of many USA and international newspapers.

Nexis UNI (former Lexis-Nexis Academic)

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers. 

OECD iLibrary

Statistics as well as full-text books, periodicals, and working papers published by the OECD, International Energy Agency, and the International Transport Forum.

OpinionArchives

Includes the archives of American Quarterly, American Spectator, Commentary, Commonweal, Dissent, Harpers Magazine, LaFollette's Magazine, Moment, New York Review of Books, New Yorker, Orion Magainze, Progressive, Washington Monthly, and Weekly Standard.

PARLINE

Developed by the Inter-Parliamentary Union. General information on each country's Parliament's chambers, electoral system, and most recent election results.

Party and Government Documents in English (PR of China)

Party and Government Documents in English (PGDiE) is a unique collection of official documents in English, covering various levels of Chinese government, Communist Party of China (CPC) and National People's Congress (NPC) from authoritative sources from 1921 onwards.

Passport

Provides international demographic, macro-economic and marketing statistics for 210 countries. Covers economic indicators, population trends, consumer and lifestyle information, country infrastructure, environment and more.

Policy Commons

Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs, and NGOs.

PolicyFile

Draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Covers all aspects of public policy.

Political Extremism in the Twentieth Century

Primary source material from far-right and fascist movements, alongside of radical leftist groups.  Includes ephemera, election materials, government documents and oral histories from groups in the United States, Europe, and Australia including John Birch Society, Black Panther Party, Ku Klux Klan, LaRouche, anti-integration groups, neo-Nazis, Communist and anti-Communist groups, Christian Identity, British Union of Fascists, British National Party, and religious cults.  Spans 1930s-21st century.

Polling the Nations

Compilation of public opinion surveys conducted in the United States and more than 100 other countries. Each record includes the question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the groups or areas included in the interview.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Coverage depends on the newspaper. American Hebrew and Jewish Messenger (1857-1922); American Israelite (1854-2000); Arizona Republican (1890-1922); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010); Austin American Statesman (1871-1980); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Baltimore Sun (1837-1996); Boston Globe (1872-1990); Calgary Herald (1883-2010), Call and Post (Cleveland) (1934-1991); Chicago Defender (1909-2010); Chicago Tribune (1849-2012); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2008); Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922);Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991); Dayton Daily News (1898-1922); Detroit Free Press (1831-1999); Edmonton Journal (1903-2010), Globe & Mail (1844-2018); Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003); Hartford Courant (1764-1996); Hindustan Times (1924-2000); Indianapolis Star (1903-1922); Irish Times (1859-2020); Jerusalem Post (1932-2008); Jewish Advocate (1905-1990); Jewish Exponent (1887-1990); Korea Times (1956-2016); Le Monde (1944-December 30, 2000); Leader-Post (Regina, Saskatchewan) (1883-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-2013); Louisville Courier Journal (1830-2000); Michigan Chronicle (1936-2010); Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867-2001); Montreal Gazette (1857-2010), Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); New York Times (1851-2018); New York Tribune (1841-1962); Newsday (1940-1993); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); Ottawa Citizen (1845-2010); Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003); Province (1898-2010); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); St. Louis Dispatch (1874-2003); St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Times (1886-2009); Saskatoon Star Phoenix (1902-2009); Scotsman (1817-1950); South China Morning Post (1903-2001); Times-Colonist (Victoria) (1884-2010);  Times of India (1838-August 20, 2010); Toronto Star (1894-2019); Vancouver Sun (1912-2010), Wall Street Journal (1889-2010); Washington Post (1877-2005); Windsor Star (1883-2010).   Also includes a Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) and a collection of American and British Communist papers (1917-2013).

ProQuest Statistical Insight

Indexes statistical publications issued by (1) the U.S. government (ASI; 2004+ full text); (2) international & intergovernmental sources (IIS; 2007+ select full text); and state governments and private sources (SRI). Most sources are available in microfiche. 

ProQuest TDM Studio

ProQuest TDM (Text and Data Mining) Studio allows you to create and analyze datasets from ProQuest content. For more information, please email Joe Marciniak (Jm110@princeton.edu).

PsycInfo

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

Rand Corporation Publications

RAND, a nonprofit public policy research institution, was established after World War II to study national security. Today it also examines domestic policy problems, national defense, education and training, health care, criminal and civil justice, labor and population, community development, international relations, and regional studies.

SA ePublications - South African Journals published online

Provides access to selected full text South African journals in the social sciences, humanities and law.

Sage Knowledge

Includes an expansive range of CQ Press and SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles.  Additional CQ Press titles are available in CQ Press Library.  Includes the Historic Documents Collection.

SAGE Reference Online

Handbooks and encyclopedias in history, the sciences, and the social sciences.

Sage Research Methods

A cross-disciplinary research methods tool.  It provides full access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference materials, and videos about research design, specific methods, conducting research, and writing about research results.  Along with many other titles, it includes the full-text of SAGE’s Little Green Books and Little Blue Books.

Scopus

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.

Security Studies (JSTOR)

Journal articles, think tank reports, and book chapters focused on violence and conflict focused on violence and conflict in international relations,  including: cyber security, foreign policy, human security, intelligence & espionage, international law, military studies, peace & conflict studies, and political violence & terrorism.

Social Science Research Network

Abstracting and indexing to working papers in Economics, Finance, Accounting, Law, Management, Political Science, and Social Insurance. Select full text is available.

Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations (SHAFR) Guide Online

A near-comprehensive, 2.1 million-word online annotated bibliography of historical work covering the entire span of U.S. foreign relations.

States of India

Demographics, infrastructure, investment, economic, socio-economic and political data on India. Includes states, union territories, and districts.

Statesman's Yearbook

Authoritative reference for international affairs. Includes reliable information on all 194 countries in the world plus states and dependencies, covering key historical events, population, government organization and politics, economics, trade, and infrastructure. 1864+

Statista

Statistics portal that integrates facts from a wide range of sources categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and digital markets. 

Statistical Abstracts of the World

For a select list of countries, contains recent yearbooks.  Tables are available in Excel format and have been converted to English.

StratFor

Short for Strategic Forecasting this service provides up-to-date geopolitical analysis and forecasts focused on international political, economic and security issues.

TRAC: Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium

Profiles of nearly 4000 terrorist groups, including the group's tactics, targets, ideology, associated groups, leaders, theater of operation, links to other resources, and links to TRAC analyses of incidents and events. Also serves as a clearinghouse of news and analysis (both text and video) on terrorist groups with continuous monitoring of unfolding events. Content can be browsed by ideology, tactics, target, group, or region.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers

Includes the  House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688 and the House of Lords Papers from 1715-1910. Includes searchable full text and subject indexing. The Parliamentary Papers are an essential primary source for Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online

Indexing and full text access to a rich collection of declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others covering events following Word War II. Some specialized collection are contained in Archives Unbound.

U.S. Intelligence on Asia, 1945-1991

Declassified documentary records of the U.S. intelligence community in the Far East during the Cold War (1945-1991). With focus on People's Republic of China, North Korea and North Vietnam. Also covered are Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, and Australia.

U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009

Contains full-text documents from U.S. intelligence agencies covering the Middle East and North Africa from the end of WWII to 2009.   Includes CIA reports and briefings.  Note: Select ‘this collection only’ to limit search to this resource.

U.S. International Trade Library

Provides documents and publications related to the exchange of goods and services between the United States and other nations, as well as the history of Section 337 of the Tariff Act of 1930. Includes legislative histories, official texts of trade agreements, reports from the US International Trade Commission, and Section 337 investigations.

U.S. Treaties Library (Hein Online)

Full-text searchable versions of almost all official and unofficial publications of U.S. treaties and treaty indexes, including U.S.T., T.I.A.S., KAV, Treaties in Force, Bevans Miller, Malloy and International Legal Materials.

UKPressOnline

Archive of important British newspapers published from 1835 to current, including digitized full runs of the Daily Express, Daily Mirror, and Church Times, plus historical runs of titles from the 19th and 20th centuries, including wartime publications issued 1933-45 and the Daily Worker (1930-45). Includes “war, peace, politics, religion, and all the daily details of life,” including  popular culture. 

UN Comtrade Database

Provides selected trade series from 30 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas recognized by the United Nations.

UN iLibrary

Brings together United Nations publications on a broad range of social and economic topics, usually covering a number of countries and with significant statistical content.  Publications from about the last decade are included.  Although the intention is to provide full text in pdf format for all titles, this is an ongoing project and full text is not yet included for some titles listed.

Undata (formerly UN Common Database of Statistics)

The United Nations Statistical Office provides this smooth interface to some key statistics from the broad range of statistical offices found throughout the UN system. Coverage varies by measure, but can go back to 1950.

United Nations Digital Library

Includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979.

United Nations Official Documents System Full Text - UN-ODS

Provides full text of United Nations central agency parliamentary and working documents. Includes all of the six official UN languages in which a document was published.

United Nations Statistical Yearbook

Provides in a single volume a comprehensive compilation of internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels, for an appropriate historical period. It is prepared by the Statistics Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, of the United Nations Secretariat. Provides access to the current and past issues.

United Nations Treaty Databases

Index and full text database for some 50,000 bilateral and multilateral treaties and subsequent treaty actions in their authentic language(s), along with a translation into English and French.

United Nations Yearbook Collection

Principal reference work of the United Nations. Provides a detailed overview of the Organization's activities. Includes all major General Assembly, Security Council and Economic & Social Council resolutions.

Universal Database of Statistics

Statistical publications from Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States.

US Newsstream (ProQuest Newsstand)

Provides full text access to the New York Times (1995+) , the Wall Street Journal (1982+), the Los Angeles Times (1985+), the Washington Post (1987+), and the Chicago Tribune (1985+) and many other papers.

USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse

Index and selected full text to USAID funded technical and program documentation.

vLex Justis World Law

Provides access to case law, legislation, regulation, legal blogs and general news sources from many world jurisdictions including the U.K and Ireland (formerly the Justis database), Continental Europe (Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Spain, and others), Latin America (Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and others), Asia Pacific (Australia, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, and others), South Africa and more.

Wall Street Journal Digital Edition

Last 4 years of the digital edition of the Wall Street Journal.   For older issues, see Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) (1982+) or Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) (1889-2004).

Washington Post

Digital edition of The Washington Post.  Not available via mobile app.

Weapons of Mass Destruction

Documents from the United States military, Atomic Energy Commission, Department of State, Central Intelligence Agency, White House, and other agencies detailing the development of nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons for use by American forces, from 1942-present.

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

World Bank e-Library

Online access to World Bank publications. Useful for research in international social and economic development. Also see the World Bank's Open Knowledge Repository which contains open access materials.

World Biographical Information System

Gives name, occupation, birth, and death dates for millions of individuals who are treated in thousands of reference works, and provides digital facsimiles of biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 21st century.

World Constitutions Illustrated

Provides current constitutions for every country, constitutional histories for many countries, and a variety of full-text sources covering constitutions worldwide.

World Factbook

Annual publication of the Central Intelligence Agency provides profiles of countries throughout the world. Each profile begins with a brief historical background and includes information about geography, population, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.

World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)

World Bank and UNCTAD data on trade, tariffs, and non-tariff measures. Requires registration. World Bank and UNCTAD data on trade, tariffs, and non-tariff measures. Requires registration.

World Telecommunication/ICT Indicators Database.

Contains time series data for 1960, 1965, 1970 and annually from 1975-2019 for around 180 different telecommunication and ICT statistics covering the telecommunication network and ICT uptake, mobile services, quality of service, traffic, staff, tariffs, revenue and investment. Data for over 200 economies are available.  Also see ITU Historical Statistics with select data from 1849-1967.

World Treaty Library

Collection of over 160,000 treaties, covering 1648 to the present.  Also includes important secondary and scholarly material related to treaty research.

WorldTradeLaw.net

Legal research tool for WTO dispute settlement.

WTO ilibrary

Publications and statistics on trade from the World Trade Organization.

Yearbook of International Organizations Online

Provides current information on over 66,000 international organizations including Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs) and International Nongovernmental Organizations (INGOs) in 300 countries and territories. Approximately 1,200 new organizations are added each year.

Subject Librarian(s)

Politics Librarian
609-258-3209
A-13J-1
Firestone Library

Research Help