Japanese Studies
Core Resources
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) 1971+
Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.
CiNii Articles
Japanese scholarly journal index. It includes National Diet Library Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (journal article index), thesis, research bulletins, and academic societies’ papers. A large number of full texts are available mostly in science, technology, and medicine.
CiNii Books
Bibliographic database of books and journals held in Japanese academic and research libraries. Provides information not only on current publications but also on rare books, foreign books, CDs, and DVDs.
Zasshi kiji sakuin detabesu = The Complete Database of Japanese Magazine and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present 1868+
Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies.
MAGAZINEPLUS 1948+
Indexes more than 50 million articles from 8,500 Japanese language journals. Updated weekly. Covers humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
WhoPlus (Japan)
Biographical information on hundreds of thousands of historical and contemporary people. Entries link to data in MagazinePlus.
Web Oya-bunko 1988+
Indexes to 2,000,000 articles from 400 popular journals in Japanese. Updated monthly.
JapanKnowledge Lib
Reference collection including encyclopedias, an economic weekly journal, maps, people in the news, etc. Includes access to the Jitsu, Nihon Kokugo Daijiten (Nikkoku Online) and Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei dictionaries.
Japan Times Archives 1897-
English newspaper in Japan since 1897. Archive includes the Japan Times only, not the back issues of the newspapers it merged with along its history (1918: The Japan Mail , 1940: The Japan Advertiser and The Japan Chronicle).
Japan Chronicle Weekly 1900-1940
Well-informed, but controversial newspaper founded and based in Kobe, tracing Japan’s engagement with modernity and its emergence onto the world stage. Includes the weekly Commercial Supplement.
Maisaku (Mainichi Shinbun Online Database)
The Mainichi Shimbun is the one of 3 major Japanese newspapers and the oldest daily newspaper. Provides the following: Mainichi Shimbun (1872+); Weekly Economist (1989+; images in reduced size edition is available from 1989-1999); and The Mainichi (English) (2008+). Can also browse today’s news and breaking news.
Asahi Shimbun cross search 1879+
Fully searchable newspaper database containing all non-copyrighted articles from Asahi shinbun since 1879. In addition, it includes Aera, Shukan Asahi and Chiezo.
Yomidasu rekishikan (Yomiuri Online) 1874+
Online version of the Yomiuri Shinbun containing searchable newspaper articles from 1874 through 1989 in image format, and from 1986 in full text. Also included is a Who's who of 26,000 people and the English-language Daily Yomiuri since 1989.
Gunsho ruijū
The three Gunsho ruijū series, published between 1793 and 1909, consist of 3,750 works covering law, politics, economics, education, ethics, regional studies, history, literature, art, music, culture and entertainment. Searchable using modern characters. For more information, see the East Asian Library website.
Shinpen Kokka taikan
Searchable collection of Japanese traditional poetry.
Japanese Literature in Translation Search
Includes Japanese literary works translated into other languages mainly from the end of World War II to the 1990s and is searchable by author, original title, translator, and other keywords.
Web-ban Fuzoku gaho 1889-1916
A graphic magazine of Japanese manners and customs. Contains illustrations, photographs, and cartoons that describe Japanese cultural life during the Meiji and Taisho periods. Covers the complete issues of Fuzoku gaho including special issues.
Taiyo. Web-ban Nihon Kindai Bingakukan
One of the largest journals originally published by Hakubunkan from the Meiji to Showa periods (1895 to 1928). Covers comprehensive fields including history, art, science, literature, literary criticism, politics, economics, etc. with approximately 6,500 contributors.
Bungei Kurabu: Meiji-hen. Web-ban Nihon Kindai Bingakukan
A literary magazine published in 1895 integrating with several journals and run until 1933. Bungei Kurabu contains many literary works by Izumi Kyoka, Ozaki Koyo, Tayama Katai, Yamada Bimyo, Higuchi Ichiyo etc. as well as theaters, rakugo, and kodan. This database covers Meiji-hen from 1895 to 1912.
Shintei zōho Kokushi taikei (Compendium of Japanese History)
Shintei zōho Kokushi taikei (新訂増補国史大系) published by Yoshikawa Kōbunkan (1998-2001) covers fundamental pre-modern works of Japanese history. The online edition contains total 66 volumes (60 volumes plus supplements) in PDF including Kojiki, Nihonshoki, Azuma Kagami, Tokugawa Jikki, Honchō Seiki, Nihon Kiryaku, Hyakuren Shō, Nihon Isshi, Zokushi Gushō, Ritsu, Ryō no gige, Ryō no shuge, Engishiki, Ruijū Sandaikaku. The volumes are accessible via JapanKnowledge.
Passport
Provides international demographic, macro-economic and marketing statistics for 210 countries. Covers economic indicators, population trends, consumer and lifestyle information, country infrastructure, environment and more.
RIPM: Retrospective Index, Online Archive, and E-Library of Music Periodicals 1760-1966
Combines a highly annotated database providing detailed analyses of writings on musical history and culture with links to two searchable, full-text collections of over 165 rare music magazines and journals dating between 1760 and 1966.
Supplementary Resources
(Takita Choin kyūzō) Kindai sakka genkō. (Nihon Kindai Bungakukan)
A collection of manuscripts by modern writers involved with Takita Choin, the chief editor of Chuō Korōn.
Anthropology Plus
Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.
Art & Architecture Source
An important resource containing indexing and/or full-text to hundreds of art, archaeology, architecture, design, media and related journals and books in English and Western European languages, as well as art reproductions and images. Incorporates the H.W. Wilson databases--Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective—as well as Art & Architecture Complete and Art Source.
Asia-Studies Full-text Online
Database for the study of modern Asia-Pacific. As the exclusive licensee for the region's most prestigious research institutions, Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 55 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals.
Bijutsu Shinpo
Journal of modern Japanese art and modern culture, not exclusively focused on the art of Japan, but also treating Western art. Index searchable by keyword. Accessible within the JapanKnowledge Lib (click on login).
Cambridge Histories Online
Full text reference works from Cambridge University Press in history and other fields.
Factiva
Full-text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and the Nikkei Weekly. Some titles are abstracted only. Includes selected full-text and abstracts of many industry and general interest publications. For non-English, choose appropriate language.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
Translation service of the U.S. Government, usually attributed to the Central Intelligence Agency. It covered political, military, economic, environmental and sociological news and commentary, as well as scientific and technical information.
Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952
British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952.
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online
Major source for the study of women's history in the world, especially feminism and the movement for women's rights. The collection includes the full text of books, pamphlets and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Historical Resources for Relations between Korea and Japan DB
About 20,000 articles on Korea-Japan relations extracted from Samguk sagi, Samguk yusa, Koryŏsa, Koryŏsa chŏryo, and Chosŏn wangjo sillok. Includes original text images in classical Chinese and translation in Korean. All text is searchable.
Jinbutsu Sōsho
Collection of biographies of historical figures in Japan edited by the Nihon Rekishi Gakkai (The Society of Japanese history). Contains 270 volumes/persons from ancient to contemporary times within a wide range of areas such as politics, economics, literature, religion and art. Accessible from within JapanKnowledge Lib (click on login).
Keijo nippo = Kyungsung ilbo
Japanese language newspaper published in Korea during the Occupation Period. Access is by date only.
Kōbunsō Taika Koshomoku
A set of antiquarian book catalogs sent out to customers by Shigeo Sorimachi, founder of the antiquarian bookstore Kōbunsō. Available from within JapanKnowledge Lib (click on login)..
Making of the Modern World Digital Archive
Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from 1450 to 1945. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.
Meiji Japan: The Edward Sylvester Morse Collection from the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum
English-language multidisciplinary archives containing diaries, sketches, travel journals, scrapbooks, publications and correspondence of the polymath and collector Morse, known for his work in natural history (zoology, evolution, astronomy, methodology), ethnography (material culture, music, games, printing, Ainu, religion) and art history (including archaeology, architecture) bridging Japan and America from the 1880s to the 1920s.
MLA International Bibliography
Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.
Mobilizing East Asia
Tightly organized series of English-language newspapers, books and magazines reporting on developments in East and South-East Asia 1900 to the early 1950s, concentrating on the lead to WWII.
Nexis UNI (former Lexis-Nexis Academic)
Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers.
NikkeiTelecom21
Pay-per-use online business information database, with newspaper and some journal articles, as well as pertinent information on companies, businessmen, and statistics, etc.
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service
Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Databases
Citations and abstracts to articles in multiple languages in the humanities and social sciences. Online version of Bulletin Signaletique, published by the Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique (C.N.R.S.).
Periodicals Archive Online
Index to millions of articles published in 4,547 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the collections, British Periodicals and Periodicals Archive Online I-V, which provide searchable full-text and page images of hundreds of periodicals, primarily from the 19th century.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
PSO (Prefectural Statistics Online): Shōwa-hen
Digital archive of prefectural statistics on various categories such as population, agriculture, industry. These statistics have been collected annually in each prefecture since the Meiji period.
Series of Geography, History and Customs of Manchuria-Mongolia DB
A collection of 200 volumes on geography, history and customs of Manchuria and Mongolia between late Chosen and 1945 published by Governor-General of Korea. Includes original text images in Japanese (searchable).
Sociological Abstracts
Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers over 1,800 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.
Toyo Keizai Archives
The issues of the Toyo Keizai Shimpo. Topics include the economic modern history in Asia, politics, diplomacy, the Constitution of Japan, media, and journalism. Available from JapanKnowledge Lib (click on login).
World News Connection (Eastview)
Foreign News Alert Service from the U.S. Government. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources. Covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.1995-2013. (For earlier years see Foreign Broadcast Information Service.)
Yūhō Bunko
Archival collection of rare and highly valuable materials related to the Chōsen Sōtoku-fu (Government General of colonial Korea). The collection includes official documents, publications, memos and handwritten reports brought by officials of the former Chōsen Sōtoku-fu, who were principles in determining the policies of the rule of Korea.
Subject Librarian(s)
Japanese Studies Librarian
(609) 258-6159
315
Frist Campus Center