Korean Studies

Core Resources

DBPia 1927+

Full-text database of academic journals published in South Korea on various subjects (especially engineering, sciences, and humanities).

KISS 1910+

Full-text database of academic journals published in South Korea on various subjects (especially humanities and social sciences).

Kyobo Scholar 1927+

Full-text database of academic journals published in South Korea on various subjects (especially humanities, social sciences, and engineering).

E-Article 1990+

Full-text database of academic journals published in South Korea on various subjects (especially humanities and social sciences).

New Nonmun 1969+

Full-text database of academic journals published in South Korea on various subjects (especially social sciences, education, and psychology).

RISS International 1910+

Integrated database search of full-text journal databases (including KISS and DBPia), theses & dissertations held in more than 150 universities in South Korea, and over 7 million bibliographic records.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) 1971+

Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.

NK News

Independent, specialist database  focused on North Korea, with news, opinion, analysis, research tools, data, and subject specialists. 

Krpia

Reference contents on Korea in the various subjects, such as architecture, history, literature, folklore, art, religion, classics, oriental medicine, etc.

Korean History On-Line

Centralized database of resources on Korean history held by various institutes in South Korea. Access to original image scans and electronic texts.

DB of Korean Classics

Provides original text images, electronic texts, and translations of Korean classics written in Hanmun (Classical Chinese used in Korea). Hanguk Munjip Chonggan (Comprehensive Edition of Korean Literary Collections) is included.

Harvard Korean Studies Bibliography

This closed database contains references to almost 50,000 articles, over 17,000 books, 4,000 book sections, 7,000 theses, and 4,000 reviews from the late 16th century to 1997, the majority of which are in English; other languages written using the Latin alphabet are also included.

Naver News Library 1920-1999

Digital archive of 4 major news papers in South Korea: Kyonghyang Sinmun, Tonga Ilbo, Maeil Kyongje, and Han'gyore. Images and electronic texts are available with full-text search.

KSI e-book 2001+

Full-text e-books in humanities, social sciences, natural and medical science, arts, and education.

Supplementary Resources

Anthropology Plus

Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.

Art & Architecture Source

An important resource containing indexing and/or full-text to hundreds of art, archaeology, architecture, design, media and related journals and books in English and Western European languages, as well as art reproductions and images. Incorporates the H.W. Wilson databases--Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective—as well as Art & Architecture Complete and Art Source.

Asia-Studies Full-text Online

Database for the study of modern Asia-Pacific. As the exclusive licensee for the region's most prestigious research institutions, Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 55 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals.

Choson Ilbo Archives

Choson Ilbo (Korea Daily) Archive is a full text online newspaper that includes over 2.6 million articles in Korean. Average of 6,000 pages are added each year.

Chosŏn Wangjo Sillok = The Annals of the Joseon dynasty

Free database of the annual record of the Joseon Dynasty of Korea. Available in the Hangul scripts as well as the original classical Chinese texts.

Factiva

Full-text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and the Nikkei Weekly. Some titles are abstracted only. Includes selected full-text and abstracts of many industry and general interest publications. For non-English, choose appropriate language.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Translation service of the U.S. Government, usually attributed to the Central Intelligence Agency. It covered political, military, economic, environmental and sociological news and commentary, as well as scientific and technical information.

Francis (International coverage of the Humanities and Social Sciences.)

Citations and abstracts to articles in multiple languages in the humanities and social sciences. Online version of Bulletin Signaletique, published by the Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique (C.N.R.S.).

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

History Culture Series

Multimedia contents database on Korean history and culture. Subjects include archeology, history, and art history.

KINDS

Korean Integrated News Database System is a one-stop search portal for newspaper articles published in South Korea.

KoreaA2Z

Multimedia reference contents on Korean history and culture.

Korean History & Culture Research Database

Full-text database of excavation reports and articles in history, archeology, anthropology, literature, and folklore.

LawnB

Collection of Korean legal material including law information, judicial precedents, official documents, and information on lawyers and law firms.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers. 

National Digital Science Links

Database of science and technology resources, freely available to the public by Korea Institute of Science Technology Information. Academic articles written in English, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.

Northeast Asian History Network (Tongbuga Yŏksa Net)

: Full-text and image database of academic publications on Northeast Asia by the Northeast Asian History Foundation.

Periodicals Archive Online

Index to millions of articles published in 4,547 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the collections, British Periodicals and Periodicals Archive Online I-V, which provide searchable full-text and page images of hundreds of periodicals, primarily from the 19th century.

Sociological Abstracts

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers over 1,800 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

Sungjongwon Ilgi = The Daily Records of Royal Secretariat of Chosun Dynasty (1623-1894)

Administrative reference to important court affairs recorded for 271 years from King Injo to King Kojong of Choson Dynasty.

World News Connection (Eastview)

Foreign News Alert Service from the U.S. Government. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources. Covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.1995-2013. (For earlier years see Foreign Broadcast Information Service.)

Yŏnhaengnok ch’onggan chŭngbop’an

Compilation of travelogues written by Korean envoys that traveled to China between 13th and 19th centuries.

Subject Librarian(s)

Hyoungbae Lee

Korean Studies Librarian
609-258-0417
Frist Campus Center, East Asian Library