Latin American & Iberian Studies

Core Resources

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) 1970+

Provides bibliographic citations to the contents of 700+ social science and humanities journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Citations often include links to the full text articles. 

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) 1936+

Extensive annotated bibliography and index to books, articles and a variety of other materials. The HLAS Web version, which covers resources published from the 1960s to the present, offers multiple search options and limits, and easy options for citing, saving, and emailing search results. The HLAS Online version is a legacy system that links researchers to descriptions of materials published from the 1930s to the present and also provides online access to full-text bibliographic essays written by scholars.

ÍnDICEs CSIC

Indexing of journals and conference papers published in Spain in the humanities, social sciences, science and technology, and medical sciences. A subset of the database is dedicated to Latin American Studies.

Dialnet

Bibliographic database of articles, conference papers, book chapters, dissertations and other documents in the social sciences and the humanities published mostly in Spain and to a lesser extent in Latin America.  Much of the content in available in full-text.

Redalyc

Indexing of hundreds of open access academic journals in the social sciences, natural sciences, arts and humanities published in Latin America, Spain, and a few other countries. 

CLASE. Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades

Bibliographic database of articles, essays, book reviews, and other documents indexed in approximately 1,500 social science and humanities serials published in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera

Steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.

Supplementary Resources

African Diaspora, 1860-Present

Allows the discovery of the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.

Border and Migration Studies Online

Primary sources, maps, videos, and multimedia providing historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; and Thailand.

Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library

Extensive searchable database of books and pamphlets from the personal library of the Brazilian diplomat, historian, and journalist Manoel de Oliveira Lima, covering a wide spectrum of topics in Brazilian history from the early colonial period to the early decades of the 20th century. 

Britannica Moderna

Comprehensive Spanish-language general encyclopedia, including the Merriam‑Webster's Spanish‑English Dictionary, an atlas, and timelines.

Caribbean Literature

Full text of fiction, poetry, essays, plays, and other materials by authors from the Caribbean archipelago.

Central American Journals OnLine (CAMJOL)

Indexing of journals published in Nicaragua, Honduras and El Salvador in a wide variety of disciplines.

Chicano Database

Comprehensive bibliographic index of all topics related to Mexican-Americans and, since 1992, the broader experience of the Latin American diaspora including Puerto Ricans, Cubans, Dominicans, Central Americans, and immigrants from other Latin American nationalities.

Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969

Reproduces records relating to South and Central America, plus Haiti, the Dominican Republic and Cuba, from the British Foreign Office in the UK National Archives.

Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 1: Casa y Cultura

Primary-source collection of documents from Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 2: Writers

Primary-source collection sourced from the archives of Casa de las Américas in Havana that documents literary intellectual and cultural life in revolutionary Cuba. Provides access to files covering hundreds of writers, intellectuals and artists from Cuba and abroad

Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 3: Theater

This primary source collection documents the history of theater in Latin America and the Caribbean, with a special focus on Revolutionary Cuba. 

Guatemala Collection: Government and Church Documents for Sacatepéquez (1587-1991)

Concentrates primarily on the national era, particularly 1824-1948. The vast majority of the documents—correspondence, annual reports, statistics, letters, litigation— are copies from the Archivo General de Centroamérica & the Archivo Histórico Arquidiocesano “Francisco de Paula García Peláez” in Guatemala City.  Colonial documents mainly come from the Archivo General de Indias in Seville, Spain. A few of the documents & transcripts come from the Centro de Investigaciones Regionales de Mesoamérica (CIRMA) in Antigua. In general, organized by place, theme, & chronology. 

Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers

Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. 

International Index to Black Periodicals

Current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts for over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the United States, Africa, and the Caribbean.

LAPOP - Latin American Public Opinion Project

Databases of public opinion information about political viewpoints across Latin America. Includes America's Barometer. For quick cross tabs, see the LAPOP Data Playground.

Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals Online

This collection contains 971 Latin American anarchist and labor periodicals published between 1880 and 1940 held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The periodicals in this collection have been organized by country. 

Latin American Newsstream

Selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics.

Latin American Women Writers

Contains full text of fiction, poetry, essays, and plays by women writers from Latin America, starting in the colonial period and moving through to the present.

LatinNews – Latin American Intelligence

Source of current information, political, economic, and business analysis in Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes LatinNews Daily, Latin American Weekly Report, Latin American Economy & Business (monthly), Latin American Security & Strategic Review (monthly), Latin American Special Reports, and four regional reports (Brazil & Southern Cone, Mexico, Caribbean & Central America, Andean Group).

Latinobarometro

Summary level public opinion data for Latin America.

LILACS. Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature

Literature related to the health sciences published in Latin America.

Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Database (MOxLAD)

Statistical series for economic and social indicators covering 20 Latin American countries.

PERIÓDICA. Indice de Revistas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias

Bibliographic database of articles, technical reports, case studies and other documents published in approximately 1,500 science and technology periodicals published in Latin America and the Caribbean. 

Portal de Portales Latindex

Gateway to the contents of hundreds of open access academic journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.  It integrates major open access portals such as Dialnet, Latin American Journals Online (LAMJOL), 

Race Relations Abstracts

Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de America Latina y el Caribe de la red CLACSO

E-publications, citations, and other research information from the Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales.

Redalyc

Indexing of hundreds of open access academic journals in the social sciences, natural sciences, arts and humanities published in Latin America, Spain, and a few other countries. 

Referencia Latina

Full-text Spanish-language database covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. Offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.

SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)

Provides access to full-text articles covering selected scientific journals and proceedings collections from Latin America, South Africa and other developing countries.

World Newspaper Archive - Latin American Newspapers

Provides full-text access to historical newspapers from Latin America.

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean

Digital edition of over 30 historical collections of primary source documents related to Latin America and the Caribbean. Materials include books, manuscripts, U.S. government records, pamphlets, and ephemera.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, and Iberian Peninsular Studies
(609) 258-3193
A-16J-2
Firestone Library

Research Help