Latino Studies

Core Resources

Chicano Database

Comprehensive bibliographic index of all topics related to Mexican-Americans and, since 1992, the broader experience of the Latin American diaspora including Puerto Ricans, Cubans, Dominicans, Central Americans, and immigrants from other Latin American nationalities.

America: History and Life with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection Colonial times until 1960.

Full-text access to historical materials documenting the Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form.

Race Relations Abstracts 1975+

Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Latino American Experience

Wide-ranging resource focusing on the history and culture of Latinos in the United States. Includes ready-reference sources, full-text titles, photographs, primary sources, and links to important web sites.

Supplementary Resources

APA PsycInfo®

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

Archive Finder

Contains the entire holdings in the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC). Current directory of thousands of repositories and over 220,000 collections of primary source materials across the United States, United Kingdom, and Ireland.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus

Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals.

Book Review Digest Plus

English language reviews of fiction, nonfiction, social science and general science books. The reviews are selected from journals in the humanities, sciences, social sciences and library review media.

Border and Migration Studies Online

Primary sources, maps, videos, and multimedia providing historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; and Thailand.

Contemporary Hispanic Biography

Biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of Latino heritage who form the international Hispanic community.

EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals

EconLit

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

Education Full Text

Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Cover-to cover indexing, abstracts, and full text from hundreds of journals covering such topics as: comparative education, competency-based education, higher education, literacy standards, prayer in public schools, student counseling, teaching methods and evaluation, and dozens more.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Gallup Analytics

Analyze, visualize, and export data from Gallup's U.S. Daily tracking and World Poll surveys. U.S. tracks economic, wellbeing, and political data collected daily since 2008. It can be analyzed daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annually as well as by state and Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). World Poll data covers more than 80 metrics from 160+ countries collected since 2005. Does not include access to microdata.

GenderWatch

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980

Extensive full-text collection of Spanish-language and bilingual newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

Provides bibliographic citations to the contents of 700+ social science and humanities journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Citations often include links to the full text articles. 

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Humanities Source Ultimate

Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews.   

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text

Provides extensive full-text of articles, reviews, & other content from many leading, primarily English-language journals & magazines in theater, dance, & the performing arts (1995+). Also offers citations, abstracts, & some full text for articles, books, book chapters, & dissertations back to 1982, including the complete International Bibliography of Theatre (1982-99). Additional selective content dates back to 1929.

Latino Literature

Full text of prose, poetry, plays, and other materials by Latino writers. Many previously unpublished and rare materials are included.

Literature Resource Center

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

MLA International Bibliography

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Music Index with Full Text

Includes international music periodicals covering classical, popular and world of music. Comprehensively cites articles and news about music, musicians and the music industry as well as book and concert reviews and obituaries.

Music Periodicals Database

Indexes music journals covering a broad scope of research from performance, theory and composition to music education, jazz and ethnomusicology. Provides selected full text coverage of the most important music journals, and both scholarly and popular publications.

PAIS International

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Policy Commons

Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs, and NGOs.

PopIndex

Annotated bibliography of global demographic and population literature. Covers books, journal articles, working papers, doctoral dissertations and machine-readable data files. 1935-1999 available in JSTOR.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.

ProQuest Research Library

Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.

Readers' Guide

Indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals.

Referencia Latina

Full-text Spanish-language database covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. Offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.

Reveal Digital Independent Voices

Collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press from the 1960s, including feminists, anti-war groups, African-Americans, Native-Americans and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.

Social Work Abstracts

Provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

Sociological Abstracts

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers over 1,800 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

Sport Discus

International sport and fitness literature covering periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, and research papers.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, and Iberian Peninsular Studies
609-258-3193
A-16J-2
Firestone Library

Research Help