Medieval History

Core Resources

Historical Abstracts with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies

Combines records from the International Medieval Bibliography, Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale and International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance.   Together they provide access to 14 centuries of European history from 300 to 1700.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Indexes articles and other materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700. Includes articles, reviews, bibliographies, catalogs, editions, abstracts, discographies, and notes.

Supplementary Resources

British History Online

Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.

Byzantinische Zeitschrift

Cumulative bibliography of essays and monographs cited in Byzantinische Zeitschrift and its supplement. Covers the history of Byzantium.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Journal articles and essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Germanische Altertumskunde Online GAO database

GAO: Digital edition of the Reallexikon der Germanischen Altertumskunde (and supplements), which covers Germanic and Northern European cultural history, archeology, and cultural studies.

In Principio

Indexes the beginning words or line of Latin texts dating from their origins to the Renaissance. Particularly useful in identifying texts in manuscripts.

Index Islamicus

Indexes literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.

Justis UK/EU/Commonwealth Law

Provides searchable full-text access to UK case law and statutes, EU case law and legislation, and case law from Canada, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand and several Caribbean nations. Also includes access to the International Law Reports.

Lexikon des Mittelalters

Standard encyclopedia for medieval studies. Covers all of Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

Manuscriptorium

System for collecting and making accessible on the internet information on historical book resources, linked to a virtual library of digitized documents. The service is financed by the National Library of the Czech Republic.

Medieval family life: the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor and Armburgh papers

Contains full-color images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor, and Armburgh family letter collections, along with full-text searchable transcripts from printed editions. Also includes family trees, chronology, a map, and a glossary.

Medieval Travel Writing

Digital edition of manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period.

Mirabile: Digital Archives for Medieval Culture

Mirabile provides access to a number of bibliographic tools for the study of the Middles Ages. This includes the database Mediolatino, which includes  an online edition of Medioevo Latino and CALMA (Compendium Auctorum Latinorum Medii Aev), as well as other tools for the study of hagiography and early Romance languages.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Illustrated collection of over 57,000 authoritative biographies of people who shaped the history of Great Britain, from the 4th century BC to those who have died in the previous few years.

Parker Library on the web

Images of 6th-18th century manuscripts from the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. Strengths are Anglo-Saxon, Anglo-Norman & Middle-English texts, and English illuminated manuscripts. Subjects represented include literature, theology, music, medieval travelogues and maps, apocalypses, bestiaries, royal ceremonies, historical chronicles and Bibles.

Patrologia Orientalis Database

Database of patristic texts from the Christian East published in the Patrologia Orientalis series. Original texts are presented as images, but the facing translations are searchable.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for History, History of Science and African Studies
609-258-2964
Floor A-18H-1 Firestone Library
Firestone Library