Near Eastern Studies

Core Resources

Encyclopedia of Islam

Comprehensive information on the world of Islam in disciplines ranging from religion and history to politics and culture with a geographic and chronological scope encompassing the early Arab-Islamic Empire, Iran, Central Asia, the Indian subcontinent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an

An encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’anic studies.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Collection of English-language reference resources on the Islamic world, including the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, and two translations of the Qur'an. Also includes a timeline of Islamic events and a date converter for the Christian and Islamic calendars.

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures

An interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. The encyclopedia aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research on women in the Islamic world, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.

Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World

Covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.

Index Islamicus 1906+

Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews are monitored for inclusion in the database. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

MENALIB (The Middle East Virtual Library)

Information portal for Middle East and Islamic Studies which provides access to online information and to digital records of printed and other offline media. Created by the State- and University Library of Saxony-Anhalt in Halle, Germany and integrates the efforts of many institutions and individuals.

Early Arabic Printed Books From the British Library Science & History 1475-1900

Digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books, it exemplifies the long exchange of ideas and learning between Europe and the Arabic-speaking world.

Arab Barometer

Nonpartisan research network that provides insight into the social, political, and economic attitudes and values of ordinary citizens across the Arab world. It is the largest repository of publicly available data on the views of men and women in the Middle East and North Africa. 

Middle East and Africa: A Reference Corporation World Area Studies Database

Provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel & the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide. Provides access to journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, press releases, books, manuals, magazines, and ephemera.

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969

Reproduces records relating to the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices in the UK National Archives.

U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009

Contains full-text documents from U.S. intelligence agencies covering the Middle East and North Africa from the end of WWII to 2009.   Includes CIA reports and briefings.  Note: Select ‘this collection only’ to limit search to this resource.

Middle Eastern Manuscripts Online 1: Pioneer Orientalists

Manuscript Collections of Scaliger, Raphelengius and Golius from Leiden University Libraries.

Middle Eastern Manuscripts Online 2: The Ottoman Legacy of Levinus Warner

Consists of 140 volumes from the Warner Collection, totaling 45,809 pages of Ottoman Turkish, Arabic, and Persian texts.

Supplementary Resources

Akkasah: Center for Photography - NYU Abu Dhabi

An online archive of photographs from the Middle East and North Africa, Akkasah explores the histories and contemporary practices of photography in the region. Akkasah investigates these histories and practices of documentary, vernacular, and art photography in the Middle East and North Africa in dialogue with other photographic cultures and traditions from around the world.

Arabic Collections Online

Publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content with full digital access to thousands of Arabic-language books covering a variety of topics.

Arabic Papyrology DataBase

Tool enabling  access to the editions of Arabic documents written on different material such as papyrus, parchment or paper. Those productive editions are an often unraised treasure for almost every aspect of Islamic history up to the 16th c. A.D. 

Database of Ottoman Inscriptions: Searchable database of Arabic, Persian and Turkish inscriptions from Ottoman domains

Searchable digital database comprising information about, as well as transliterations and pictures of, all the Turkish, Arabic and Persian architectural inscriptions created in the Ottoman lands during Ottoman times.

Dayan Center Bibliographical Database

Index to articles, pamphlets and occasional publications on the Middle East published in English, French, and Arabic, based on the holdings of the Moshe Dayan Center in Tel Aviv.

Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME)

Offers free and open access to the rich cultural legacy of the Middle East and North Africa by bringing together collections from a wide range of cultural heritage institutions. Developed by an engineering team from CLIR and Stanford Libraries, the platform federates and makes accessible data about collections from around the world. 

Mamluk Bibliography Online

Comprehensive bibliography of all primary sources relating to the Mamluk sultanate of Egypt and Syria and all research and discussion germane to this subject. An on-going project of the Middle East Documentation Center (MEDOC) at the University of Chicago.

Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers

Researchers will find a wealth of unique content from the Middle East and North Africa, much of which has never been digitized or available as open access material. Content in the Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. The collection comprises mostly out-of-copyright, orphaned content. CRL members and subscribing institutions also receive access to five in-copyright titles from the region: al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية, Egypt), Filasṭīn (فلسطين, Israel), al-Akhbar (الاخبار, Lebanon), al-Riyadh (الرياض, Saudi Arabia), and al-Dustūr (الدستور, Jordan).

Mideastwire

Daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.

Multi Data Online Data Bank

Provides articles from important studies, opinions, and analyses published in Arab newspapers and magazines.

Princeton Geniza Project Digital Library

Seeks to extend the resources and methodologies available for working with the documents found in the Geniza chamber of the Ben Ezra Synagogue in Cairo. The project is dedicated to discovering and describing unpublished documents, creating a full text retrieval database of Geniza documents (including both new and published transcriptions and translations), and developing technical tools such as glossaries, documentary structures and diplomatic categories.

University of Leiden Turkish Studies Digitized Resources

This overview aims at assisting in locating relevant sources for those doing research on, in particular, the (late) Ottoman Empire and the early Republic of Turkey. Some sources of a later date are also added. It is meant to be used not only by experienced researchers, but also, and even more so, by young and new researchers or even prospective researchers and students. 

University of Manchester Library, Nashreya: Digital Iranian History, Digitized Iranian newspapers and periodicals held by the University of Manchester

The newspapers and periodicals digitized here many of which have been only partially accessible inside Iran, cover the defining moments from the following three eras:1) The premiership of Mohammad Mossadegh and the August 1953 coup d'étatagainst his government (1950-53)2) The 1979 Revolution; and3) The late 1990s/early 2000s ‘reform era’ of former President MohammadKhatami.

Subject Librarian(s)

Near Eastern Studies Librarian
609-258-3279
A-16-H2
Firestone Library

Research Help