North American History

Core Resources

America: History and Life with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Supplementary Resources

ACLU American Civil Liberties Union Papers 1912-1990

Provides access to the more than 2 million documents contained in the records of the American Civil Liberties Union at the Mudd Manuscript library at Princeton University.

Adams Papers Digital Edition

Digital edition of the papers of John Adams, second president of the United States.

African American Communities

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.

African American Experience

Full-text digital resource exploring African American life and culture. Targeted and thematic search options are featured to find articles, documents, images, and more.

African American Heritage

Primary sources devoted specifically to African American family history, including U.S Federal Census (African Americans only), Freedman's Bank Records, World War I Draft Cards, African American family history books, U.S. Colored Troops Records, vital records, church records, legal records, and more.

African American Newspapers

Complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

Online collection of academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other diverse periodicals.

African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998

Full-text collection of African American newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Age of Exploration

Rare manuscript and early printed material, highly illustrated maps and documents, diaries, and ships' logs that serve as primary sources for study of  key events in the history of European maritime exploration from c.1420-1920.

Alt-Press Watch

Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses.

AM explorer

Search engine to Adam Matthew archival materals.

America's Historical Newspapers

Searchable full-text of historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Now includes select coverage of some major papers after 1922 through the mid 1990s.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

Digital collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.

American Business: Agricultural Newspapers

266 newspapers published in 33 states covering both agricultural and local news.

American Business: Mercantile Newspapers

600 newspapers published in 46 states covering business, industry, international trade, and news.

American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922

American Antiquarian Society collection of 13,500 titles includes broadsides, lithographs, maps, monographs, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, and stereographs.

American Civil War Research Database

Based on unpublished state rosters, includes information about individual soldiers who fought in the American Civil War.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries, The

Includes more than 1,000 diaries, letters, and memoirs from both Northern and Southern politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies.

American Consumer Culture: Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965

Digital archive of the papers, market research reports and supporting documents of Ernest Dichter, consumer analyst and founder of the Institute for Motivational Research. Covers many famous marketing campaigns for American brands and products. 

American Founding Era

Cross-searchable digital collection of papers of founders of the United States. Currently includes papers of John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, Andrew Jackson, John Jay, Thomas Jefferson, James and Dolley Madison, John Marshall, Gouverneur Morris, Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry, and George Washington.

American Gazettes: Newspapers of Record

120 newspapers of record from 35 states providing local facts and figures, official announcements, transaction records, legal decisions, and business notices, as well as covering general news.

American History & Culture Online

Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.

American History in Video

Digital collection of newsreels from 1942-1964, plus television documentaries from the History Channel and elsewhere. Includes transcripts.

American History, 1493-1945

Documents American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection.

American Indian Histories and Cultures

Wide variety of materials relating to American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico, from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection. Covers pre-contact through the mid-20th century.

American Music

Streaming audio collection of songs and vocal / instrumental music from the United States representing a diverse range of Americans, both past and present. Addresses a variety of topics and cultures, and covers a wide range of styles and genres, particularly from popular, folk, and ethnic music, including African and Native American, bluegrass, blues, country, gospel, and rock music, jazz, and songs of war, protest, politics, and social movements.

American National Biography Online

Authoritative bios of more than 19,000 prominent people who lived in what is now the United States from the Colonial Period to the present. Everyone included is deceased. Includes bibliographic data on publications by and about these individuals. Search by name orvarious characteristics including gender, ethnicity, occupation, dates.

American Pamphlets Series I 1820-1922: From the New York Historical Society

Digital edition of pamphlets from the collections of the New-York Historical Society. Includes more than 25,000 short works printed in every region of the United States between 1820 and 1922.

American Periodicals

Full-text and page images of several hundred American periodicals of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

American Politics: Campaign Newspapers

390 newspapers from 31 states covering presidential campaigns, political parties, and their platforms, usually from a partisan perspective.

American Religion: Denominational Newspapers

401 newspapers from 33 states covering congregational news as well as general news and opinion.

American Underworld: The Flash Press, Crime, Scandal, and Blackmail Papers of the Nineteenth Century

Sensationalist newspapers focusing on prostitution, gambling, urban gangs, illicit sporting activities, and sensational crimes, from 1826 to 1876.

American West

Contains original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources on the American West from the Newberry Library.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

Brings together primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection

Full-text access to historical materials documenting the Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form.

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and government documents.

Black Abolitionist Papers

Primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.

Border and Migration Studies Online

Primary sources, maps, videos, and multimedia providing historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; and Thailand.

British Online Archives

Provides online access to several collections on the history of the Atlantic world, from British archives.

Civil War: A newspaper perspective, The

Full text of major articles gleaned from the The New York Herald, the Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer.

Colonial America

Digital edition of the documents in Colonial Office (CO) 5 at the UK National Archives. Consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies. Modules 1-3 covering 1606-1822 are available.

Colonial State Papers

Digital edition of material from the British National Archives, CO1 and other collections, from 1574-1759, including images of many original manuscript documents. Also includes a digital edition of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739.

Communist Historical Newspaper Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Collection of Communist American and British papers:  The Daily Worker (1936-1958); The Ohio Socialist (1917-1919); People's Daily World (1986-1990); People's Weekly World (1990-2013); Sunday Worker (1936-1958); The Toiler (1919-1922); The Worker (1922-1924); New York; and The Worker (1958-1968); London.

Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961

Reproduces records relating to Canada, the Caribbean and the US from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices in the UK National Archives.

Digital National Security Archive

Access to a wealth of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Divided into various core collections; each contains a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material.

Digital Sanborn Maps

Sanborn fire insurance maps contain detailed information on urban structures, property boundaries, and streets. Provides historical information on the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

Disability in the Modern World

Brings together archives, video, and other primary sources for the study of history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.

Dolley Madison Digital Edition

Digital edition of the letters written from 1788-1836 by Dolley Madison, wife of James Madison, fourth president of the United States.

Early American Newspapers

Searchable full-text of historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Now includes select coverage of some major papers after 1922 through the mid 1990s.

Early Encounters in North America

Primary sources detailing encounters between Europeans, Africans, and American Indians between 1500 and 1900.  Includes original accounts, letters, logbooks, journals and diaries.

Early Republic

20 volumes of primary material documenting the actions, debates, and thoughts of the First Federal Congress and its members.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Partially searchable digital images of books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue.  Also see the alternative interface Artemis Primary Sources that allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. 

Ethnic NewsWatch

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

European Views of the Americas

Created from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. Guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.

Evans Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920

Comprises rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood.

FIMo Fire Insurance Maps Online

Complete collection of high-definition, full-color fire insurance maps from Sanborn and other publishers, real estate atlases, plat books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information.

First World War

Primary sources on the First World War, including published and unpublished personal accounts, visual materials and ephemera, and official documents on the war and the home front.

Footnote.com

Online access to material from the National Archives documenting a wide range of topics in American history. Also includes genealogical material and a collection of small town newspapers.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Translation service of the U.S. Government, usually attributed to the Central Intelligence Agency. It covered political, military, economic, environmental and sociological news and commentary, as well as scientific and technical information.

Frontier Life : Borderlands, Settlment & Colonial Encounters

Primary source documents from 1600 to 1920, covering the expansion of European culture into the American West and Southwest, Canada, Mexico, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and British Honduras (Belize).  Includes records related to agriculture, trade and commerce, family life, exploration, government, health and medicine, land and property, religion, military history, and women’s history.

Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York

Digital collection of directories, member lists, advertisements, travel guides and other sources, chronicling the people and organizations of New York City from the late 18th through the early 20th century.

Gender Identity and Social Change

Contains primary sources for the study of gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement and the men’s movement. Other key areas represented in the material include: employment and labor, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity and the family. Includes records from men’s and women’s organizations and pressure groups, detailing twentieth-century lobbying and activism on a wide array of issues to reveal developing gender relations and prevalent challenges.

Gilded Age

Primary documents and scholarly commentary, with key treatises, songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera from the late 19th century.

HarpWeek

Electronic access to Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912.

HeritageQuest Online

Includes all of the images, & extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. Offers more than 20,000 book titles, including nearly 8,000 family histories & over 12,000 local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records, and more.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

Indexing of articles and other documents appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

Historic Documents Online Edition

Online compilation of excerpts from key historic documents. Documents selected range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Excerpts are preceded by a thorough introductions that seek to put the documents into historical context. Search by keyword, or browse by date and topic. Provides references to the full documents for further research.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

HistoryMakers

Oral history interviews with more than 1,600 historically significant African Americans in fields such as the arts, business, education, entertainment, the law, the military, politics, religion, and science.

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines

Digital edition of nearly 50 American & British newspapers and periodicals published during the American Civil War.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

Offers comprehensive coverage of security & counter-terrorism issues.  Content includes full text articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and background information summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.

J. Walter Thomson: Advertising America

Contains documents from the archives of J. Walter Thompson, one of the largest advertising firms in the United States.  They range from the 1890s to the late 1990s but most are from 1945 forward.  The collections included are the firm’s publications, account files for nine key clients, staff newsletters, writings and speeches, research files, and a selection of print advertisements. A huge number of brands, companies, and industries are covered from automobiles to cosmetics and cruises.

Jewish Life in America c1654-1954

Digital edition of organizational and personal papers and printed books and pamphlets from the American Jewish Historical Society.

Latino American Experience

Wide-ranging resource focusing on the history and culture of Latinos in the United States. Includes ready-reference sources, full-text titles, photographs, primary sources, and links to important web sites.

Left of Liberalism: Marxist-Socialist Newspapers, 1900-2015

Newspapers published by communist, socialist, and Marxist organizations in the English-speaking world, addressing issues such as labor conditions, the working class, McCarthyism, labor unions, the and civil rights

Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism

Films, travel journals, periodicals, leaflets, corporate records, guidebooks, maps and images chronicling the rise of tourism in the 19th and 20th centuries.  Explores themes of leisure, race, technology, and culture.

Liberator

Full-text of the weekly abolitionist newspaper published in Boston, Massachusetts by William Lloyd Garrison.

Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Legal Treatises 1800-1926)

Digital library of works from the 19th and early 20th centuries on British Commonwealth and American law. Includes treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.

Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1970

Contains digitized and searchable copies of over 300 years of legal primary sources, such as early U.S. state codes, city charters, constitutional conventions and compilations, and other documents.

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive

Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from 1450 to 1945. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries

Collection of previously unpublished letters and diaries by women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries documenting the details of their lives and illuminating the roles women played within their families, their communities, and the social and political movements of their times. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

March of Time

Online version of March of Time newsreels. Coverage: 1935-1967

Marcive Web DOCS

Online catalog of U.S. government publications dating back to mid-1976. Direct links to documents on the web are provided. Many of the documents are available in the U.S. Documents Collection in Firestone

Mary Ferrell Foundation

Searchable archive of documents related to the assassinations of John F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King Jr., Robert F. Kennedy, the Watergate scandal, and post-Watergate investigations into abuses of the CIA and other intelligence agencies.

Migration to New Worlds

Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolors, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids.

Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications

Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government.

Nation Digital Archive

Digital edition of The Nation, a leading journal of left and liberal opinion, with coverage of foreign affairs, politics, culture and the arts. PDF page images and searchable OCR text for all issues from 1865 through December 2004.

National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books

Library and archive of declassifed United States documents received through the Freedom of Information Act.

News, Policy and Politics Magazine Archive

Consists of the backfile of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Covers history, political science, law and economics

Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalog

NSTC is an index of all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English.

Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspaper Digital Archive

Digital archive of U.S. newspapers from the 19th century.

Nixon Years, 1969-1974

Digital edition of FCO 7and FCO 82 files from The National Archives, Kew.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories

Personal narratives of immigrants to the U.S. and Canada. Covers a wide range of nationalities and ethnic groups.

North American Indian Thought and Culture

Integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. Presents the entire spectrum of native peoples' experiences from their own point of view.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Full text database of women's personal writings.

Oral History Online

Provides indexing, plus some full text, for English-language oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Primarily covers 20th-century America, but there is some content for other times and places.

Oxford African American Studies Center

Access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, AASC includes the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895; the forthcoming companion set, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; the second edition of Black Women in America; and the much-anticipated African American National Biography. Also includes the highly acclaimed Africana, a 5 volume history of the African and African American experience. In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference series, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature.

Papers of Alexander Hamilton

Digital edition of the papers of Alexander Hamilton.

Papers of Andrew Jackson

Digital edition of the papers of Andrew Jackson, seventh president of the United States.

Papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry

Digital edition of the papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney (1722-1793) and Harriott Pinckney Horry (1748-1830).  Documents the lives of 2 founding-era women who were members of one of South Carolina’s leading families. Richly details the daily life of maintaining family ties and managing households and plantations. Pinckney’s correspondence illustrates the importance of women’s social connections & transatlantic friendships. Horry’s correspondence documents the strength of personal ties that linked the elite families of the North & the South to each other even as connections were threatened by disputes over slavery, commercial differences, and political and constitutional conflict.

Papers of George Washington: Digital Edition

Digital edition of the Papers of George Washington, with supplementary material not included in the print edition.

Papers of James Madison Digital Edition

Digital edition of the papers of James Madison, fourth president of the United States.

Papers of John Marshall

Digital edition of the papers of John Marshall, fourth Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States.

Papers of Thomas Jefferson Digital Edition

Digital edition of the papers of Thomas Jefferson, third president of the United States.

Papers of Ulysses S. Grant

Digitized, full-text searchable collection of almost every piece of correspondence, official or personal, sent or received by general and president Ulysses S. Grant.

Papers of Woodrow Wilson Digital Edition

Digitized, full-text searchable collection of almost every piece of correspondence, official or personal, sent or received by Woodrow Wilson.

Pennsylvania Gazette, The

Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century.

Periodicals Archive Online

Index to millions of articles published in 4,547 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the collections, British Periodicals and Periodicals Archive Online I-V, which provide searchable full-text and page images of hundreds of periodicals, primarily from the 19th century.

Presidential Recordings Digital Edition

Digitized transcriptions of tape recordings made of phone calls made to and from the Oval Office during the presidencies of John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, and Richard M. Nixon.

ProQuest Civil War Era

Provides online access to an extensive collection of pamphlets and complete runs of selected regional newspaper titles covering 1840-1865.  Topics addressed include the Civil War, slavery, abolition, medicine, and the law.

Proquest Congressional

Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings:  Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+.  Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.

Proquest Congressional U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection

Collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. Includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.

ProQuest History

Combines various historical databases from ProQuest.

Race Relations in America

Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department's staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

Readers' Guide

Indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals.

Readex AllSearch

Search engine to Readex products.

Reveal Digital Independent Voices

Collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press from the 1960s, including feminists, anti-war groups, African-Americans, Native-Americans and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.

Selected Papers of John Jay

Digital edition of selected papers of John Jay, first Chief Justice of the United States.

Service Newspapers of World War Two

Newspapers published for soldiers, sailors, and airmen, during the war years and the immediate aftermath (1939-1948).  Includes newspapers for British, Canadian, Indian, and United States troops.

Shaw-Shoemaker Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the early 19th century. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974

Contains letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, pamphlets, and rare audio and video materials documenting the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online

Searches thousands of private writings and personal narratives ranging from the 1550’s to the 21st century. Includes material found in the collections North American Women's Letters and Diaries; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories; The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; Black Thought and Culture; Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society.  

Social Explorer

Allows user to visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports from 1790 to the present. Also includes the 2011 censuses for Canada and the United Kingdom.

Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and the anti-Vietnam War Movement

Papers of the youth-oriented leftist organization, which organized activism for civil rights and against the Vietnam War.

Territorial Papers of the United States

Official correspondence and documents of each territory of the United States in its pre-statehood years.  Includes Native American negotiations and treaties, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.

Trade Catalogues and the American Home

Collection of illustrated catalogs offering products for direct sale to consumer, from late 18th century to present day.   Useful for the study of popular culture, material culture, social norms and attitudes, as well as the history of marketing, business, and technology.  Includes capsule histories of important retail companies.

Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry (Smithsonian Collections Online)

Collection covers 1820-1926 and includes National Museum of American History Library Trade Literature Collection.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database

Comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. A variable (Source) cites the records for each voyage in the database. Other variables enable users to search for information about a particular voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, or on a timeline.

Twentieth Century Advice Literature

Digital collection of advice manuals, etiquette books, how-to-guides, professional manuals, textbooks, and government and association publications that provide insight into social and economic issues including race, sex, gender, and family life in 20th century America.

U. S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 (Making of Modern Law Digital Archive)

A fully searchable digital archive containing 150 years of U.S. SupremeCourt records and briefs. The record for a case may contain the following types of documents: motions, petitions, oral transcripts, transcripts of the trial record, applications for writ, appendices, letter briefs and jurisdictional statements.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers

Includes the  House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688 and the House of Lords Papers from 1715-1910. Includes searchable full text and subject indexing. The Parliamentary Papers are an essential primary source for Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy.

U.S. Attorney General Opinions (Hein Online)

Contains several publications of attorney general opinions including Official Opinions of the Attorney General (1791-1982) and Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel (1977-1996).

U.S. Congressional Documents (Hein Online)

Digital access to Congressional Record (Bound and Daily), Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, American State Papers, Journals of the Continental Congress, and Territorial Papers of the United States. "Daily-to-Bound Locator" provides citation to Bound version from the Daily Congressional Record. Also includes smaller works including Journal of William Maclay, Diplomatic Correspondence of the American Revolution, James Madison's Notes of Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787, Administrative Conferences of the United States, Legislation of Congress for the Government of the Organized Territories of the United States, B.F. Steven's Facsimiles of Manuscripts in European Archives Relating to America, 1773-1783.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online

Indexing and full text access to a rich collection of declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others covering events following Word War II. Some specialized collection are contained in Archives Unbound.

U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (Hein Online)

Full text of Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories: A Bibliography of Government Documents, Periodical Articles, and Books and full text legislative histories of important legislation.

U.S. Presidential Library (Hein Online)

Full text of several important works related to the U.S. presidency including, among many others, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1965-2006) and Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1929-2001).

U.S. Supreme Court Library (Hein Online)

Full text of the U.S. Reports and several classic treaties on Supreme Court jurisprudence.

U.S. Treaties Library (Hein Online)

Full-text searchable versions of almost all official and unofficial publications of U.S. treaties and treaty indexes, including U.S.T., T.I.A.S., KAV, Treaties in Force, Bevans Miller, Malloy and International Legal Materials.

Virginia Company Archives

Digital edition of the papers of the Virginia Company of London (Ferrar Papers), now at Magdalene College, Cambridge.

Weapons of Mass Destruction

Documents from the United States military, Atomic Energy Commission, Department of State, Central Intelligence Agency, White House, and other agencies detailing the development of nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons for use by American forces, from 1942-present.

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820

Contains primary source documents written by women in response to imperialism, colonialism, missionary work, Native American affairs, and war.

Women and Social Movements in the United States

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

Women's Magazine Archive

Complete archives of the foremost titles of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture.

World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow (Smithsonian Collections Online)

Materials published between 1834-1940. Includes Books of the Fairs: Smithsonian Libraries holdings; world's fairs titles in the Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology and in the Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Library.

World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions

World's fairs showcased the newest ideas and inventions on a global stage, and are valuable for interdisciplinary research.  Includes documents from over 200 fairs covering 1851-2015, including governmental records of early financial appeals, international diplomatic documents, minutes and correspondence of fair committees, plans and design concepts, contemporary ephemera (tickets, pamphlets, posters), personal accounts, and official guidebooks. Includes in-depth case studies.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for History and African American Studies
609-258-0496
A-17H-2 Firestone Library
Firestone Library