Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles.
Psychology
Core Resources
APA PsycInfo® 1800's+
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
APA PsycArticles®
Online database containing searchable full-text articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
APA PsycBooks®
Full text in PDF of 1,456 scholarly books and 22,623 chapters as well as 736 classic resources in psychology. Of these, 720 books are published by the APA, including 100 out-of-print books from 1950-2002.
APA PsycExtra®
PsycEXTRA, a gray literature database, is a companion to PsycINFO. It contains a wide variety of important information in psychology, behavioral science, and health. Most of the content was written for professionals and disseminated outside of peer-reviewed journals. Documents include newsletters, magazines, newspapers, technical and annual reports, government reports, consumer brochures, and more. PsycEXTRA is different from PsycINFO in its coverage, and also in its format, because it includes abstracts and citations plus full text for a major portion of the records. There is no coverage overlap with PsycINFO.
APA PsycCritiques®
New searchable database of book reviews in psychology. The database replaces APA's respected print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books, providing major enhancements, very current reviews, and much more content.
Web of Science (ISI) Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), Arts and Humanities (1975+), Conference Proceedings (1990+)
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive. Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.
Scopus 1996+
International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.
PubMed
Database of biomedical journal literature providing access to information on population and reproductive biology, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences, and allied health. Worldwide coverage with an emphasis on English-language peer reviewed journals. Includes in-process records not yet added to Medline (EbscoHost), some out-of-scope citations, and some that precede the date a journal was selected for Medline indexing.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) 1928+
National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical journal literature providing access to information on the following: population and reproductive biology, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, the preclinical sciences, and allied health. Coverage is worldwide with an emphasis on English-language peer reviewed journals.
MMY (Mental Measurements Yearbook)
Produced by the Buros Institute, contains full-text information about and citations to articles about many English-language educational, psychological and vocational standardized tests
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are included. Records contained in HaPI provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
Psychiatry Online
Contains references including full-text of all versions of the DSM and its Treatment Companion, and the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders. It also gives access to journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry and Psychiatric Services and several textbooks including The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry. Psychiatry Online also has self-assessment tools for study, board certification and recertification review, and lifelong learning. It also contains clinical and research news from Psychiatric News.
Supplementary Resources
Academic Writer
Tool for writing papers in APA Style. Contains an in-site word processor with pre-populated templates and a powerful citation tool for generating references in APA format. An account (free) is required to save your work.
Annual Review of Neuroscience
Comprehensive review of the literature in neuroscience. Can help students identify major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of neuroscience.
Annual Review of Psychology
Comprehensive review of the literature in psychology. Can help students identify major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of psychology.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender
Brings together primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.
BioRender
BioRender is a web application that can be used to create scientific figures, diagrams, and illustrations from a scientifically accurate image library. Account (free) required.
Cabell’s Directory of Publishing Opportunities: Psychology & Psychiatry Whitelist, Math & Science Whitelist, and Complete Blacklist
A source for psychology, psychiatry, math, and science journal information, evaluation metrics, and submission details. Also includes the Complete Blacklist (blacklisted journals from all 18 disciplines).
Encyclopedia of Religion
Provides articles with bibliographies on every aspect of religion. The second edition of the classic Encyclopedia of Religion.
ERIC (EBSC0)
Complete bibliography of education materials featuring published and unpublished sources of thousands of educational topics, with information from the Resources in Education and Current Index to Journals in Education. A very well designed thesaurus and identifiers facilitate use of this product.
Global Health
International public health database providing abstracts to literature about healthcare, biomedical life sciences, sexual and reproductive health, communicable and non-communicable diseases, environmental health, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene . Covers English and foreign language journals, books, reports, patents, dissertations and conference proceedings.
JoVE
JoVE produces and publishes videos of scientific experiments from laboratories around the world, allowing for reproducibility.
MIT's CogNet Library
Full Text access to MIT books, journals, reference works and conference materials in cognitive and brain science.
Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (PEP) Archive
Full text archive of eighteen premier journals in psychoanalysis. Contains over 50,000 articles and 4,000 figures and illustrations and also Freud's complete correspondence with Abraham, Ferenczi, Fliess, Jones and Jung. Included are also twenty-three classic psychoanalytic books by the following authors: Bion, Klein and Winnicot and work by Anzieu, Fairbairn, King and Steiner, Laplanche and Pontalis, Matte Blanco, Rosenfeld, Spence, and Stern.
SciTechNetBase (CRCnetBase)
Online books published by CRC Press. Princeton subscribes to select modules (Biomedical Science, Chemistry, Clean Tech, Economics, Environmental Science, Geosciences, Material Science, Math, Neuroscience, Physics, Psychology).
Springer Protocols (formerly BioMedProtocols)
Provides access to reproducible, step-by-step protocols for use in the laboratory. It features over 16,000 peer-reviewed protocols from Humana's book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.
WordNet
Princeton hosted database of English nouns, verbs, adjectives and adverbs grouped into sets of cognitive synonyms (synsets), each expressing a distinct concept.
Subject Librarian(s)
Behavioral Sciences Librarian
(609) 258-6173
226
Lewis Library