South Asian Studies

Core Resources

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) 1971+

Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.

Digital South Asia Library

Digital materials for reference and research on South Asia: dictionaries, texts, images, maps, statistics.

South Asia Open Archives

The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA), a subset of the South Asia Materials Project (SAMP), creates and maintains a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia. This major collaborative initiative is aimed at addressing the current scarcity of digital resources pertinent to South Asia studies and at making collections more widely accessible both to North American scholars and to researchers worldwide. 

Oxford Bibliographies

Detailed guides to a wide variety of disciplines.

World Newspaper Archive - South Asian Newspapers

Historical newspapers include Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka), Indian People (Allahabad), Kayasare hinda (Bombay), Leader (Allahabad), Madras Mail (Madras), Pioneer (Allahabad), and Tribune (Lahore).

Supplementary Resources

ABIA - Index of South and Southeast Asian Art and Archaeology

A bibliography dedicated to South and Southeast Asian prehistory, archaeology of the historical period, art, crafts and architecture, inscriptions and palaeography, coins and seals of these regions.

Access World News (NewsBank)

Provides full-text of many USA and international newspapers.

Archives Unbound

Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives.

ARTstor

Digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

British Library Newspapers

Consists of 2 major collections from the British Library which span 300 years of newspaper publishing in the U.K.—17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century Newspapers  Provides a representative selection of papers from 17th-19th century Britain and includes national, regional and local newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland & Wales.

British Online Archives

Provides online access to several collections on the history of the Atlantic world, from British archives.

Buddhist Digital Resource Center (formerly Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center)

Provides digitized copies of Buddhist texts in Tibetan.

CapExdx

Database of investment projects that involve the setting up of new capacities in India. Captures only those projects that entail a capital expenditure of Rs.10 million or more.

Church Missionary Society Periodicals

From its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the Church Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the 19th to the 21st century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounter.

Critical Collective

A rich site focused on Indian visual and performing arts that promotes exhibitions, features interviews, and provides access to a number of articles on topics like photography, gender, film, and related to specific artists. The 20th-century articles accessible here are likely not widely available otherwise.

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism

Has in addition to Chinese, Japanese and Korean information, also Indian, Tibetan and other references.

Diplomacy and Political Secrets

Documents on some Chinese frontier regions  from the perspective of British India.

East India Company

Offers access to India Office Records from the British Library. Contains royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types. Charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.

Eighteenth Century Journals

Digital edition of journals and newspapers published between 1685-1815 in England, Scotland, Ireland, Jamaica, and British India.

Elections in India

Provides electoral information for 543 parliamentary constituencies, 4120 assembly constituencies, 640 districts, 5924 sub-districts, 7933 towns, 640930 villages and 927553 polling stations of India.

Empire Online

Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last 5 centuries and are accompanied by secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.

Encyclopedia of Buddhism

This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. It also contains entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, and the history of Buddhism.

Encyclopedia of Islam

Comprehensive information on the world of Islam in disciplines ranging from religion and history to politics and culture with a geographic and chronological scope encompassing the early Arab-Islamic Empire, Iran, Central Asia, the Indian subcontinent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Translation service of the U.S. Government, usually attributed to the Central Intelligence Agency. It covered political, military, economic, environmental and sociological news and commentary, as well as scientific and technical information.

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan

Material from the British government on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. Includes DO 133, DO 134, FO 371 and FCO 37 files from The National Archives, Kew.

ImageQuest

Over two million images of objects, events, places, works of art, sports, and scientific pursuits, from dozens of collections such as Getty Images and the National Geographic Society. Each image includes full citation and copyright information. Rights have been cleared for education use.

Index Islamicus

Indexes literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews.

India, Raj and Empire

Digitized manuscripts from the National Library of Scotland, from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the 1947 Independence of India and Pakistan.

Indiastat.com

Socio-economic statistical facts and figures for India at the national and state level.NOTE:  Click on "IP Login" to access.  One concurrent user.

Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online

Lexicon of the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European, including Latin, Greek, Slavic, Proto-Celtic, Old Frisian, Armenian, Hittite, Luvian, the Iranian verb and Proto-Nostratic. (Proto-Germanic and Persian are forthcoming)

Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS)

English-language archive of U.S. government translations of foreign scientific, technical, and social science monographs, reports, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts. Companion to Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports. 

Legal Information Institute of India

Free, independent and non-profit access to 109 databases of Indian law.

Making Of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600-1926

Provides digital access to historical legal treatises and commentaries covering the law in a variety of foreign jurisdictions including Argentina, Australia, Canada, France, Germany, India, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, South Africa, Spain, and Switzerland as well as international, comparative and religious (Canon, Jewish, and Islamic) law topics.

Mitra Sharafi's South Asian Legal History Resource Page

Tools and resources for the historical study of law in South Asia.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Also see the alternative interface Artemis Primary Sources that allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. 

Pakistan Law Site

The Pakistan Law Site is a repository of statutes, rules and cases related to Pakistan. The repository also contains academic articles published in the law-reporting journals of PLD Publishers.

Prowess

Daily stock price data and detailed fundamental s data for companies in India. Both private and public companies are included. Produced by Centre for the Monitoring of the Indian Economy (CMIE). Also contains data on Ownership and governance (board composition, meetings, major stakeholders, subsidiaries etc.) and mergers & acquisitions.

Savifa: Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Sudasien

University of Heidelberg information gateway for South Asian Studies.

SCC Online Indian Law

Extensive searchable database of Indian case law and statute law.  Contains some secondary source material and some pre-statehood material as well.  NOTE:  Must register for an account before first use.

SCC Online Indian Law

Extensive searchable database of Indian case law and statute law.  Contains some secondary source material and some pre-statehood material as well.  NOTE:  Must register for an account before first use.

Shodhganga

Reservoir of theses from India.

South and Southeast Asian Literature

Fiction & poetry written in English by authors from South & Southeast Asia & their Diasporas. Focusing on works composed during the late-colonial & postcolonial eras, the collection will also feature author interviews & manuscript materials.

States of India

Demographics, infrastructure, investment, economic, socio-economic and political data on India. Includes states, union territories, and districts.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers

Includes the  House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688 and the House of Lords Papers from 1715-1910. Includes searchable full text and subject indexing. The Parliamentary Papers are an essential primary source for Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy.

World Almanac of Islamism

Designed to track the rise or decline of radical Islam on a national, regional and global level. Focuses on the nature of the contemporary Islamist threat around the world, and on the current activities of radical Islamist movements worldwide.

Subject Librarian(s)

South Asian Studies Librarian
Floor A 16H 1
Firestone Library