Spanish/Portuguese Literature

Core Resources

MLA International Bibliography 1926+

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) 1970+

Provides bibliographic citations to the contents of 700+ social science and humanities journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Citations often include links to the full text articles. 

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) 1936+

Extensive annotated bibliography and index to books, articles and a variety of other materials. The HLAS Web version, which covers resources published from the 1960s to the present, offers multiple search options and limits, and easy options for citing, saving, and emailing search results. The HLAS Online version is a legacy system that links researchers to descriptions of materials published from the 1930s to the present and also provides online access to full-text bibliographic essays written by scholars.

ÍnDICEs CSIC

Indexing of journals and conference papers published in Spain in the humanities, social sciences, science and technology, and medical sciences. A subset of the database is dedicated to Latin American Studies.

Dialnet

Bibliographic database of articles, conference papers, book chapters, dissertations and other documents in the social sciences and the humanities published mostly in Spain and to a lesser extent in Latin America.  Much of the content in available in full-text.

Supplementary Resources

Basque Database

Information about Basque topics. Indexed formats include articles, books, chapters of edited books, dissertations, and other publications. Also includes Basque-related videos and DVDs, musical recordings, maps, and other media.

Caribbean Literature

Full text of fiction, poetry, essays, plays, and other materials by authors from the Caribbean archipelago.

CLASE. Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades

Bibliographic database of articles, essays, book reviews, and other documents indexed in approximately 1,500 social science and humanities serials published in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry, The

Indexes poems in anthologies by title, first line, author, and subject, as well as providing the full text of thousands of poems.

Contemporary Authors (Literature Resource Center)

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

Contemporary Literary Criticism (Literature Resource Center)

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 1: Casa y Cultura

Primary-source collection of documents from Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 1: Casa y Cultura

Primary-source collection of documents from Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-, Part 2: Writers

Primary-source collection sourced from the archives of Casa de las Américas in Havana that documents literary intellectual and cultural life in revolutionary Cuba. Provides access to files covering hundreds of writers, intellectuals and artists from Cuba and abroad

EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals

Essay and General Literature Index

Access to essays and articles published in collections, with emphasis on works in the humanities and social sciences.

Humanities Source Ultimate

Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews.   

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text

Provides extensive full-text of articles, reviews, & other content from many leading, primarily English-language journals & magazines in theater, dance, & the performing arts (1995+). Also offers citations, abstracts, & some full text for articles, books, book chapters, & dissertations back to 1982, including the complete International Bibliography of Theatre (1982-99). Additional selective content dates back to 1929.

Latin American Women Writers

Contains full text of fiction, poetry, essays, and plays by women writers from Latin America, starting in the colonial period and moving through to the present.

Latino Literature

Full text of prose, poetry, plays, and other materials by Latino writers. Many previously unpublished and rare materials are included.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Indexes journals covering all aspects of the study of languages, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.

Literature Criticism Online

Covers authors and their works across regions, eras, and genres. Includes biographical and critical overviews, and many interviews of authors. Contains the full text of volumes in Children’s Literature Review, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticis, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Shakespearean Literature Criticism and Something About the Author Online.

Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Databases

Citations and abstracts to articles in multiple languages in the humanities and social sciences. Online version of Bulletin Signaletique, published by the Centre Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique (C.N.R.S.).

Periodicals Archive Online

Index to millions of articles published in 4,547 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the collections, British Periodicals and Periodicals Archive Online I-V, which provide searchable full-text and page images of hundreds of periodicals, primarily from the 19th century.

ProQuest Research Library

Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.

Redalyc

Indexing of hundreds of open access academic journals in the social sciences, natural sciences, arts and humanities published in Latin America, Spain, and a few other countries. 

Scribner Writers eBooks

Long, scholarly essays on prominent authors from antiquity to the late 20th century, focusing on their lives and the significance of their works, with bibliographies. Includes the content of African American Writers, American Writers, Ancient Writers, British Writers, European Writers, Latino and Latina Writers, plus other sets.

Short Story Index

Provides citations to short stories written in or translated into English published in short story collections as well as periodicals indexed by the Reader's Guide and the Humanities Index.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, and Iberian Peninsular Studies
(609) 258-3193
A-16J-2
Firestone Library

Research Help