Theater
Core Resources
American Drama 1714-1915
Contains 711 plays by American dramatists that chronicle the history and culture of America through its dramatic writing. It includes plays by dramatists such as Thomas Paine, Edward Hitchcock, and James Lawson.
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection
Streaming audio collection of more than 300 important dramatic works from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theater company performed by an international array of leading actors. The collection presents classics of the Western canon, modern works by American luminaries, originally commissioned plays, and high profile docudramas by both renowned and emerging playwrights. Indexing and scholarly commentary from experts add background and contextual information for the plays.
Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television
Biographical and career information on professionals currently working in the entertainment industry, including performers, choreographers, directors, technicians, writers, composers, producers, executives, designers, and critics.
Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship and the Stage
Collection of plays presented in England between 1737-1824, along with censor’s remarks, correspondence between key theatrical figures, biographical information, portraits, advertisements, historical information and the companion texts, The London Stage 1660-1800, A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers & Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800. Includes visual materials such as portraits of actors, scenery designs, and playbills; diaries; financial records; and a database of all known performances with casts, from 1600-1800.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Offers full-text runs scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color of core U.S. and U.K. trade papers and magazines covering film, popular music, broadcasting (television and radio), and theater, together with film fan magazines and music press titles, through 2000. Key titles will include Billboard (1894-2000), Broadcasting (1931-2000), New Musical Express, The Stage (1880-2000), and Variety (1905-2000), among many others. Provides a broad spectrum of valuable research material for multidisciplinary study of the film and media industries.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Provides extensive full-text of articles, reviews, & other content from many leading, primarily English-language journals & magazines in theater, dance, & the performing arts (1995+). Also offers citations, abstracts, & some full text for articles, books, book chapters, & dissertations back to 1982, including the complete International Bibliography of Theatre (1982-99). Additional selective content dates back to 1929.
MLA International Bibliography 1926+
Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.
Music & Performing Arts (Alexander Street)
Portal page from Alexander Street for all their streaming audio and video, full-text, and image resources in music and the performing arts to which Princeton subscribes. Includes American, classical, popular, and world music, jazz, dance, theater, and film.
New Play Exchange (NPX)
A National New Play Network (NNPN) project offers the world's largest digital library of scripts by living writers and a streamlined script discovery and recommendation engine for the new play sector. The NPX provides an open platform on which writers all over the world can share their work and others can discover that work.
OntheBoards.tv
Offers streaming HD-quality full-length films of contemporary performance by some of today’s most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music, and “other forms that defy categorization.”
Oxford Reference: Performing Arts
Provides full-text access to several key encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions on dance, theater, classical and popular music, opera, and musical theater published by the Oxford University Press.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database 1864+
Comprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more. IIPA indexes more than 210 periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present; citations to articles are indexed back to 1864.
Theatre (ProQuest / Alexander Street Theater Portal)
Portal page cross-referencing and searching the community of theater and drama resources from ProQuest / Alexander Street that offer playscripts and performances of theatrical works by American, European, Asian, and other worldwide dramatists from the past several centuries as well as documentaries and interview about theater and its history, acting methods, pioneering playwrights and actors, and much more: Asian American Drama, Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection, Black Drama: Second Edition, BroadwayHD Collection, North American Indian Drama, North American Women's Drama, the Theatre in Context Collection, Theatre in Video (volumes I-II), and Twentieth Century North American Drama.
Theatre in Video
Streaming video collection in 2 volumes featuring theater documentaries and original productions of dramatic works spanning several decades, including live television broadcasts, revivals of classic works and experimental performances ranging from Shakespeare to Samuel Beckett, and important contemporary dramas. Includes both Broadway and off-Broadway productions of plays, and many interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors on the craft of theater.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Provides listings for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and the present.
Supplementary Resources
English Verse Drama
4,000 plays by 1,200 authors from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth century.
Essay and General Literature Index
Access to essays and articles published in collections, with emphasis on works in the humanities and social sciences.
Grove Art Online (part of Oxford Art Online)
Gateway to several important art historical reference tools, most notably, the Grove Dictionary of Art (Grove Art Online) and Benezit Dictionary of Artists (2006 English ed.). Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (2001), The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998), a database of images and more.
JSTOR
Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.
Music Periodicals Database
Indexes music journals covering a broad scope of research from performance, theory and composition to music education, jazz and ethnomusicology. Provides selected full text coverage of the most important music journals, and both scholarly and popular publications.
National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture (NADAC)
Policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States. This project was formerly the Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA).
North American Indian Drama
Contains the full-text of 256 plays by 49 playwrights, together with information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes the Native Playwrights' Newsletter.
Oxford Music Online
Biographical articles for composers, performers, librettists, conductors and others. Includes entries from Grove dictionaries of jazz and opera as well.
Victorian Popular Culture
Contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930. Coverage includes spiritualism, sensation and magic; circuses, sideshows and freaks; and music halls; theater and popular entertainment.
