United States History - Economic History

Core Resources

America: History and Life with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Colonial Period to 2000

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

Supplementary Resources

Age of Exploration

Rare manuscript and early printed material, highly illustrated maps and documents, diaries, and ships' logs that serve as primary sources for study of  key events in the history of European maritime exploration from c.1420-1920.

AM explorer

Search engine to Adam Matthew archival materals.

American Business: Agricultural Newspapers

266 newspapers published in 33 states covering both agricultural and local news.

American Business: Mercantile Newspapers

600 newspapers published in 46 states covering business, industry, international trade, and news.

American National Biography Online

Authoritative bios of more than 19,000 prominent people who lived in what is now the United States from the Colonial Period to the present. Everyone included is deceased. Includes bibliographic data on publications by and about these individuals. Search by name orvarious characteristics including gender, ethnicity, occupation, dates.

American West

Contains original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources on the American West from the Newberry Library.

Archives Unbound

Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives.

Communist Historical Newspaper Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Collection of Communist American and British papers:  The Daily Worker (1936-1958); The Ohio Socialist (1917-1919); People's Daily World (1986-1990); People's Weekly World (1990-2013); Sunday Worker (1936-1958); The Toiler (1919-1922); The Worker (1922-1924); New York; and The Worker (1958-1968); London.

Digital Sanborn Maps

Sanborn fire insurance maps contain detailed information on urban structures, property boundaries, and streets. Provides historical information on the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

Evans Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

FIMo Fire Insurance Maps Online

Complete collection of high-definition, full-color fire insurance maps from Sanborn and other publishers, real estate atlases, plat books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information.

Gale Primary Resources

Cross-searching tool for Gale primary source collections (including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture). Also allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.

Gilded Age

Primary documents and scholarly commentary, with key treatises, songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera from the late 19th century.

History Vault

Digital archive of U.S. history primary sources. Includes government documents, personal papers and organizational records.

J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America

Contains documents from the archives of J. Walter Thompson, one of the largest advertising firms in the United States.  They range from the 1890s to the late 1990s but most are from 1945 forward.  The collections included are the firm’s publications, account files for nine key clients, staff newsletters, writings and speeches, research files, and a selection of print advertisements. A huge number of brands, companies, and industries are covered from automobiles to cosmetics and cruises.

Left of Liberalism: Marxist-Socialist Newspapers, 1900-2015

Now called "Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals"Newspapers published by communist, socialist, and Marxist organizations in the English-speaking world, addressing issues such as labor conditions, the working class, McCarthyism, labor unions, the and civil rights.

Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism

Films, travel journals, periodicals, leaflets, corporate records, guidebooks, maps and images chronicling the rise of tourism in the 19th and 20th centuries.  Explores themes of leisure, race, technology, and culture.

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive

Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from 1450 to 1945. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965

Digital archive of the papers, market research reports and supporting documents of Ernest Dichter, consumer analyst and founder of the Institute for Motivational Research. Covers many famous marketing campaigns for American brands and products. 

Migration to New Worlds

Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolors, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids.

Nation Digital Archive

Digital edition of The Nation, a leading journal of left and liberal opinion, with coverage of foreign affairs, politics, culture and the arts.Access: 1975 - current

News, Policy and Politics Magazine Archive

Consists of the backfile of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Covers history, political science, law and economics

Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories

Personal narratives of immigrants to the U.S. and Canada. Covers a wide range of nationalities and ethnic groups.

ProQuest History

Combines various historical databases from ProQuest.

Readex AllSearch

Search engine to Readex products.

Sage Knowledge

Includes an expansive range of CQ Press and SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles.  Additional CQ Press titles are available in CQ Press Library.  Includes the Historic Documents Collection.

Shaw-Shoemaker Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the early 19th century. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice

Brings together original manuscript and rare printed material from dozens of libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. It includes significant coverage of slavery today, US court records from the local, regional and State Supreme Court level, documents on the Islamic slave trade, as well as sources on urban slavery, interracial education, the Day Law in Kentucky, desegregation and social justice.  Also includes material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.

Social Explorer

Allows user to visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports from 1790 to the present. Also includes the 2011 censuses for Canada and the United Kingdom.

Trade Catalogues and the American Home

Collection of illustrated catalogs offering products for direct sale to consumer, from late 18th century to present day.   Useful for the study of popular culture, material culture, social norms and attitudes, as well as the history of marketing, business, and technology.  Includes capsule histories of important retail companies.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database

Comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. A variable (Source) cites the records for each voyage in the database. Other variables enable users to search for information about a particular voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, or on a timeline.

Virginia Company Archives

Digital edition of the papers of the Virginia Company of London (Ferrar Papers), now at Magdalene College, Cambridge.

Women Working (1800-1930)

Access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow (Smithsonian Collections Online)

Materials published between 1834-1940. Includes Books of the Fairs: Smithsonian Libraries holdings; world's fairs titles in the Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology and in the Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Library.

World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions

World's fairs showcased the newest ideas and inventions on a global stage, and are valuable for interdisciplinary research.  Includes documents from over 200 fairs covering 1851-2015, including governmental records of early financial appeals, international diplomatic documents, minutes and correspondence of fair committees, plans and design concepts, contemporary ephemera (tickets, pamphlets, posters), personal accounts, and official guidebooks. Includes in-depth case studies.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for History and African American Studies
609-258-0496
A-17H-2
Firestone Library

Research Help