United States History - Government Documents

Core Resources

PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service 1915+

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Proquest Congressional 1789+

Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings:  Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+.  Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.

Supplementary Resources

ACLU American Civil Liberties Union Papers 1912-1990

Provides access to the more than 2 million documents contained in the records of the American Civil Liberties Union at the Mudd Manuscript library at Princeton University.

America: History and Life with Full Text

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

American Gazettes: Newspapers of Record

120 newspapers of record from 35 states providing local facts and figures, official announcements, transaction records, legal decisions, and business notices, as well as covering general news.

Archives Unbound

Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives.

Digital National Security Archive

Access to a wealth of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Divided into various core collections; each contains a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material.

Disability in the Modern World

Brings together archives, video, and other primary sources for the study of history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.

Early Republic

20 volumes of primary material documenting the actions, debates, and thoughts of the First Federal Congress and its members.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Translation service of the U.S. Government, usually attributed to the Central Intelligence Agency. It covered political, military, economic, environmental and sociological news and commentary, as well as scientific and technical information.

Gale Primary Resources

Cross-searching tool for Gale primary source collections (including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture). Also allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

History Vault

Digital archive of U.S. history primary sources. Includes government documents, personal papers and organizational records.

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive

Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from 1450 to 1945. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

Marcive Web DOCS

Online catalog of U.S. government publications dating back to mid-1976. Direct links to documents on the web are provided. Many of the documents are available in the U.S. Documents Collection in Firestone

Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications

Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government.

Nixon Years, 1969-1974

Digital edition of FCO 7and FCO 82 files from The National Archives, Kew.

ProQuest History

Combines various historical databases from ProQuest.

Readex AllSearch

Search engine to Readex products.

Sage Knowledge

Includes an expansive range of CQ Press and SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles.  Additional CQ Press titles are available in CQ Press Library.  Includes the Historic Documents Collection.

Social Explorer

Allows user to visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports from 1790 to the present. Also includes the 2011 censuses for Canada and the United Kingdom.

Territorial Papers of the United States

Official correspondence and documents of each territory of the United States in its pre-statehood years.  Includes Native American negotiations and treaties, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers

Includes the  House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688 and the House of Lords Papers from 1715-1910. Includes searchable full text and subject indexing. The Parliamentary Papers are an essential primary source for Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy.

U.S. Attorney General Opinions (Hein Online)

Contains several publications of attorney general opinions including Official Opinions of the Attorney General (1791-1982) and Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel (1977-1996).

U.S. Congressional Documents (Hein Online)

Digital access to Congressional Record (Bound and Daily), Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, American State Papers, Journals of the Continental Congress, and Territorial Papers of the United States. "Daily-to-Bound Locator" provides citation to Bound version from the Daily Congressional Record. Also includes smaller works including Journal of William Maclay, Diplomatic Correspondence of the American Revolution, James Madison's Notes of Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787, Administrative Conferences of the United States, Legislation of Congress for the Government of the Organized Territories of the United States, B.F. Steven's Facsimiles of Manuscripts in European Archives Relating to America, 1773-1783.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online

Indexing and full text access to a rich collection of declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others covering events following Word War II. Some specialized collection are contained in Archives Unbound.

U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (Hein Online)

Full text of Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories: A Bibliography of Government Documents, Periodical Articles, and Books and full text legislative histories of important legislation.

U.S. Intelligence on Asia, 1945-1991

Declassified documentary records of the U.S. intelligence community in the Far East during the Cold War (1945-1991). With focus on People's Republic of China, North Korea and North Vietnam. Also covered are Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, and Australia.

U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009

Contains full-text documents from U.S. intelligence agencies covering the Middle East and North Africa from the end of WWII to 2009.   Includes CIA reports and briefings.  Note: Select ‘this collection only’ to limit search to this resource.

U.S. Supreme Court Library (Hein Online)

Full text of the U.S. Reports and several classic treaties on Supreme Court jurisprudence.

U.S. Treaties Library (Hein Online)

Full-text searchable versions of almost all official and unofficial publications of U.S. treaties and treaty indexes, including U.S.T., T.I.A.S., KAV, Treaties in Force, Bevans Miller, Malloy and International Legal Materials.

Weapons of Mass Destruction

Documents from the United States military, Atomic Energy Commission, Department of State, Central Intelligence Agency, White House, and other agencies detailing the development of nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons for use by American forces, from 1942-present.

Women Working (1800-1930)

Access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for History and African American Studies
609-258-0496
A-17H-2
Firestone Library

Research Help