United States History - Military History

Core Resources

America: History and Life with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Digital National Security Archive 1945+

Access to a wealth of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Divided into various core collections; each contains a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material.

Supplementary Resources

African American Heritage

Primary sources devoted specifically to African American family history, including U.S Federal Census (African Americans only), Freedman's Bank Records, World War I Draft Cards, African American family history books, U.S. Colored Troops Records, vital records, church records, legal records, and more.

AM explorer

Search engine to Adam Matthew archival materals.

American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922

American Antiquarian Society collection of 13,500 titles includes broadsides, lithographs, maps, monographs, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, and stereographs.

American Civil War Research Database

Based on unpublished state rosters, includes information about individual soldiers who fought in the American Civil War.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries, The

Includes more than 1,000 diaries, letters, and memoirs from both Northern and Southern politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies.

American Founding Era

Cross-searchable digital collection of papers of founders of the United States. Currently includes papers of John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, Andrew Jackson, John Jay, Thomas Jefferson, James and Dolley Madison, John Marshall, Gouverneur Morris, Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry, and George Washington.

Archives Unbound

Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives.

British Online Archives

Provides online access to several collections on the history of the Atlantic world, from British archives.

Civil War: A newspaper perspective, The

Full text of major articles gleaned from the The New York Herald, the Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer.

Colonial America

Digital edition of the documents in Colonial Office (CO) 5 at the UK National Archives. Consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies. Modules 1-3 covering 1606-1822 are available.

Colonial State Papers

Digital edition of material from the British National Archives, CO1 and other collections, from 1574-1759, including images of many original manuscript documents. Also includes a digital edition of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739.

First World War

Primary sources on the First World War, including published and unpublished personal accounts, visual materials and ephemera, and official documents on the war and the home front.

Gale Primary Resources

Cross-searching tool for Gale primary source collections (including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture). Also allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.

History Vault

Digital archive of U.S. history primary sources. Includes government documents, personal papers and organizational records.

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines

Digital edition of nearly 50 American & British newspapers and periodicals published during the American Civil War.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

Offers comprehensive coverage of security & counter-terrorism issues.  Content includes full text articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and background information summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.

National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books

Library and archive of declassifed United States documents received through the Freedom of Information Act.

Papers of George Washington: Digital Edition

Digital edition of the Papers of George Washington, with supplementary material not included in the print edition.

Papers of Ulysses S. Grant

Digitized, full-text searchable collection of almost every piece of correspondence, official or personal, sent or received by general and president Ulysses S. Grant.

ProQuest Civil War Era

Provides online access to an extensive collection of pamphlets and complete runs of selected regional newspaper titles covering 1840-1865.  Topics addressed include the Civil War, slavery, abolition, medicine, and the law.

ProQuest History

Combines various historical databases from ProQuest.

Readex AllSearch

Search engine to Readex products.

Sage Knowledge

Includes an expansive range of CQ Press and SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles.  Additional CQ Press titles are available in CQ Press Library.  Includes the Historic Documents Collection.

Service Newspapers of World War Two

Newspapers published for soldiers, sailors, and airmen, during the war years and the immediate aftermath (1939-1948).  Includes newspapers for British, Canadian, Indian, and United States troops.

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974

Contains letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, pamphlets, and rare audio and video materials documenting the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online

Indexing and full text access to a rich collection of declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others covering events following Word War II. Some specialized collection are contained in Archives Unbound.

U.S. Intelligence on Asia, 1945-1991

Declassified documentary records of the U.S. intelligence community in the Far East during the Cold War (1945-1991). With focus on People's Republic of China, North Korea and North Vietnam. Also covered are Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, and Australia.

U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009

Contains full-text documents from U.S. intelligence agencies covering the Middle East and North Africa from the end of WWII to 2009.   Includes CIA reports and briefings.  Note: Select ‘this collection only’ to limit search to this resource.

Warfare in North America (c. 1756-1815) - British Perspectives

This collection makes available a wide selection of original documents held at The National Archives, London, concerning warfare in North America from the Seven Years’ War to the War of 1812, giving a unique insight into the turbulent transition of the American colonies from British rule to independence. Collections included are Amherst Papers, British Army Headquarters Papers, Colonial Office Papers relating to Canada, and Admiralty In-Letters.

Weapons of Mass Destruction

Documents from the United States military, Atomic Energy Commission, Department of State, Central Intelligence Agency, White House, and other agencies detailing the development of nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons for use by American forces, from 1942-present.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for History and African American Studies
609-258-0496
A-17H-2
Firestone Library

Research Help