United States History - Native American History

Core Resources

America: History and Life with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

American Indian Histories and Cultures

Wide variety of materials relating to American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico, from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection. Covers pre-contact through the mid-20th century.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America. 16th Century+

Citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and government documents.  Formerly entitled "Bibliography of Native North Americans".

North American Indian Thought and Culture

Integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. Presents the entire spectrum of native peoples' experiences from their own point of view.

Supplementary Resources

Age of Exploration

Rare manuscript and early printed material, highly illustrated maps and documents, diaries, and ships' logs that serve as primary sources for study of  key events in the history of European maritime exploration from c.1420-1920.

AM explorer

Search engine to Adam Matthew archival materals.

American Indian Newspapers

Collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada.

American West

Contains original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources on the American West from the Newberry Library.

Archives Unbound

Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives.

Border and Migration Studies Online

Primary sources, maps, videos, and multimedia providing historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; and Thailand.

Early Encounters in North America

Primary sources detailing encounters between Europeans, Africans, and American Indians between 1500 and 1900.  Includes original accounts, letters, logbooks, journals and diaries.

European Views of the Americas

Created from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. Guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.

Evans Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Frontier Life : Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters

Primary source documents from 1600 to 1920, covering the expansion of European culture into the American West and Southwest, Canada, Mexico, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and British Honduras (Belize).  Includes records related to agriculture, trade and commerce, family life, exploration, government, health and medicine, land and property, religion, military history, and women’s history.

Gale Primary Resources

Cross-searching tool for Gale primary source collections (including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture). Also allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.

History Vault

Digital archive of U.S. history primary sources. Includes government documents, personal papers and organizational records.

ProQuest History

Combines various historical databases from ProQuest.

Race Relations Abstracts

Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Readex AllSearch

Search engine to Readex products.

Reveal Digital Independent Voices

Collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press from the 1960s, including feminists, anti-war groups, African-Americans, Native-Americans and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.

Sage Knowledge

Includes an expansive range of CQ Press and SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles.  Additional CQ Press titles are available in CQ Press Library.  Includes the Historic Documents Collection.

Territorial Papers of the United States

Official correspondence and documents of each territory of the United States in its pre-statehood years.  Includes Native American negotiations and treaties, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.

Warfare in North America (c. 1756-1815) - British Perspectives

This collection makes available a wide selection of original documents held at The National Archives, London, concerning warfare in North America from the Seven Years’ War to the War of 1812, giving a unique insight into the turbulent transition of the American colonies from British rule to independence. Collections included are Amherst Papers, British Army Headquarters Papers, Colonial Office Papers relating to Canada, and Admiralty In-Letters.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for History and African American Studies
609-258-0496
A-17H-2
Firestone Library

Research Help