United States History - Personal Papers

Core Resources

American Founding Era

Cross-searchable digital collection of papers of founders of the United States. Currently includes papers of John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, Andrew Jackson, John Jay, Thomas Jefferson, James and Dolley Madison, John Marshall, Gouverneur Morris, Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry, and George Washington.

Supplementary Resources

Adams Papers Digital Edition

Digital edition of the papers of John Adams, second president of the United States.

Archives Unbound

Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives.

Dolley Madison Digital Edition

Digital edition of the letters written from 1788-1836 by Dolley Madison, wife of James Madison, fourth president of the United States.

Gale Primary Resources

Cross-searching tool for Gale primary source collections (including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture). Also allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.

History Vault

Digital archive of U.S. history primary sources. Includes government documents, personal papers and organizational records.

Nixon Years, 1969-1974

Digital edition of FCO 7and FCO 82 files from The National Archives, Kew.

Papers of Alexander Hamilton

Digital edition of the papers of Alexander Hamilton.

Papers of Andrew Jackson

Digital edition of the papers of Andrew Jackson, seventh president of the United States.

Papers of Daniel Webster

Digitized version of  correspondence, legal papers, diplomatic papers, and speeches and formal writings from the nineteenth-century legislator and diplomat.

Papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry

Digital edition of the papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney (1722-1793) and Harriott Pinckney Horry (1748-1830).  Documents the lives of 2 founding-era women who were members of one of South Carolina’s leading families. Richly details the daily life of maintaining family ties and managing households and plantations. Pinckney’s correspondence illustrates the importance of women’s social connections & transatlantic friendships. Horry’s correspondence documents the strength of personal ties that linked the elite families of the North & the South to each other even as connections were threatened by disputes over slavery, commercial differences, and political and constitutional conflict.

Papers of George Washington: Digital Edition

Digital edition of the Papers of George Washington, with supplementary material not included in the print edition.

Papers of James Madison Digital Edition

Digital edition of the papers of James Madison, fourth president of the United States.

Papers of John Marshall

Digital edition of the papers of John Marshall, fourth Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States.

Papers of Thomas Jefferson Digital Edition

Digital edition of the papers of Thomas Jefferson, third president of the United States.

Papers of Ulysses S. Grant

Digitized, full-text searchable collection of almost every piece of correspondence, official or personal, sent or received by general and president Ulysses S. Grant.

Papers of Woodrow Wilson Digital Edition

Digitized, full-text searchable collection of almost every piece of correspondence, official or personal, sent or received by Woodrow Wilson.

Presidential Recordings Digital Edition

Digitized transcriptions of tape recordings made of phone calls made to and from the Oval Office during the presidencies of John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, and Richard M. Nixon.

ProQuest History

Combines various historical databases from ProQuest.

Readex AllSearch

Search engine to Readex products.

Sage Knowledge

Includes an expansive range of CQ Press and SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles.  Additional CQ Press titles are available in CQ Press Library.  Includes the Historic Documents Collection.

Selected Papers of John Jay

Digital edition of selected papers of John Jay, first Chief Justice of the United States.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for History and African American Studies
609-258-0496
A-17H-2
Firestone Library

Research Help