United States History - Political & Diplomatic History

Core Resources

America: History and Life with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

American Founding Era

Cross-searchable digital collection of papers of founders of the United States. Currently includes papers of John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, Andrew Jackson, John Jay, Thomas Jefferson, James and Dolley Madison, John Marshall, Gouverneur Morris, Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry, and George Washington.

Proquest Congressional 1789+

Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings:  Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+.  Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.

U.S. Presidential Library (Hein Online)

Full text of several important works related to the U.S. presidency including, among many others, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1965-2006) and Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1929-2001).

U.S. Supreme Court Library (Hein Online)

Full text of the U.S. Reports and several classic treaties on Supreme Court jurisprudence.

Supplementary Resources

ACLU American Civil Liberties Union Papers 1912-1990

Provides access to the more than 2 million documents contained in the records of the American Civil Liberties Union at the Mudd Manuscript library at Princeton University.

Adams Papers Digital Edition

Digital edition of the papers of John Adams, second president of the United States.

AM explorer

Search engine to Adam Matthew archival materals.

American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922

American Antiquarian Society collection of 13,500 titles includes broadsides, lithographs, maps, monographs, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, and stereographs.

American Civil War Research Database

Based on unpublished state rosters, includes information about individual soldiers who fought in the American Civil War.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries, The

Includes more than 1,000 diaries, letters, and memoirs from both Northern and Southern politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies.

American Gazettes: Newspapers of Record

120 newspapers of record from 35 states providing local facts and figures, official announcements, transaction records, legal decisions, and business notices, as well as covering general news.

American National Biography Online

Authoritative bios of more than 19,000 prominent people who lived in what is now the United States from the Colonial Period to the present. Everyone included is deceased. Includes bibliographic data on publications by and about these individuals. Search by name orvarious characteristics including gender, ethnicity, occupation, dates.

American Pamphlets Series I 1820-1922: From the New York Historical Society

Digital edition of pamphlets from the collections of the New-York Historical Society. Includes more than 25,000 short works printed in every region of the United States between 1820 and 1922.

American Politics: Campaign Newspapers

390 newspapers from 31 states covering presidential campaigns, political parties, and their platforms, usually from a partisan perspective.

Archives Unbound

Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives.

Black Abolitionist Papers

Primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.

Border and Migration Studies Online

Primary sources, maps, videos, and multimedia providing historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; and Thailand.

British Online Archives

Provides online access to several collections on the history of the Atlantic world, from British archives.

Civil War: A newspaper perspective, The

Full text of major articles gleaned from the The New York Herald, the Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer.

Colonial America

Digital edition of the documents in Colonial Office (CO) 5 at the UK National Archives. Consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies. Modules 1-3 covering 1606-1822 are available.

Communist Historical Newspaper Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Collection of Communist American and British papers:  The Daily Worker (1936-1958); The Ohio Socialist (1917-1919); People's Daily World (1986-1990); People's Weekly World (1990-2013); Sunday Worker (1936-1958); The Toiler (1919-1922); The Worker (1922-1924); New York; and The Worker (1958-1968); London.

Digital National Security Archive

Access to a wealth of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Divided into various core collections; each contains a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material.

Dolley Madison Digital Edition

Digital edition of the letters written from 1788-1836 by Dolley Madison, wife of James Madison, fourth president of the United States.

Early Encounters in North America

Primary sources detailing encounters between Europeans, Africans, and American Indians between 1500 and 1900.  Includes original accounts, letters, logbooks, journals and diaries.

Early Republic

20 volumes of primary material documenting the actions, debates, and thoughts of the First Federal Congress and its members.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Partially searchable digital images of books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue.  Also see the alternative interface Artemis Primary Sources that allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. 

Evans Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Translation service of the U.S. Government, usually attributed to the Central Intelligence Agency. It covered political, military, economic, environmental and sociological news and commentary, as well as scientific and technical information.

Gale Primary Resources

Cross-searching tool for Gale primary source collections (including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture). Also allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online

Major source for the study of women's history in the world, especially feminism and the movement for women's rights. The collection includes the full text of books, pamphlets and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.

Gilded Age

Primary documents and scholarly commentary, with key treatises, songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera from the late 19th century.

History Vault

Digital archive of U.S. history primary sources. Includes government documents, personal papers and organizational records.

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines

Digital edition of nearly 50 American & British newspapers and periodicals published during the American Civil War.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center

Offers comprehensive coverage of security & counter-terrorism issues.  Content includes full text articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and background information summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.

Left of Liberalism: Marxist-Socialist Newspapers, 1900-2015

Now called "Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals"Newspapers published by communist, socialist, and Marxist organizations in the English-speaking world, addressing issues such as labor conditions, the working class, McCarthyism, labor unions, the and civil rights.

Making of Modern Law Digital Archive (Legal Treatises 1800-1926)

Digital library of works from the 19th and early 20th centuries on British Commonwealth and American law. Includes treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.

Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1970

Contains digitized and searchable copies of over 300 years of legal primary sources, such as early U.S. state codes, city charters, constitutional conventions and compilations, and other documents.

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive

Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from 1450 to 1945. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

Marcive Web DOCS

Online catalog of U.S. government publications dating back to mid-1976. Direct links to documents on the web are provided. Many of the documents are available in the U.S. Documents Collection in Firestone

Mary Ferrell Foundation

Searchable archive of documents related to the assassinations of John F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King Jr., Robert F. Kennedy, the Watergate scandal, and post-Watergate investigations into abuses of the CIA and other intelligence agencies.

Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications

Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government.

Nation Digital Archive

Digital edition of The Nation, a leading journal of left and liberal opinion, with coverage of foreign affairs, politics, culture and the arts.Access: 1975 - current

National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books

Library and archive of declassifed United States documents received through the Freedom of Information Act.

News, Policy and Politics Magazine Archive

Consists of the backfile of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Covers history, political science, law and economics

Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

Nixon Years, 1969-1974

Digital edition of FCO 7and FCO 82 files from The National Archives, Kew.

PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Papers of Andrew Jackson

Digital edition of the papers of Andrew Jackson, seventh president of the United States.

Papers of Daniel Webster

Digitized version of  correspondence, legal papers, diplomatic papers, and speeches and formal writings from the nineteenth-century legislator and diplomat.

Papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry

Digital edition of the papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney (1722-1793) and Harriott Pinckney Horry (1748-1830).  Documents the lives of 2 founding-era women who were members of one of South Carolina’s leading families. Richly details the daily life of maintaining family ties and managing households and plantations. Pinckney’s correspondence illustrates the importance of women’s social connections & transatlantic friendships. Horry’s correspondence documents the strength of personal ties that linked the elite families of the North & the South to each other even as connections were threatened by disputes over slavery, commercial differences, and political and constitutional conflict.

Papers of George Washington: Digital Edition

Digital edition of the Papers of George Washington, with supplementary material not included in the print edition.

Papers of James Madison Digital Edition

Digital edition of the papers of James Madison, fourth president of the United States.

Papers of John Marshall

Digital edition of the papers of John Marshall, fourth Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States.

Papers of Thomas Jefferson Digital Edition

Digital edition of the papers of Thomas Jefferson, third president of the United States.

Papers of Ulysses S. Grant

Digitized, full-text searchable collection of almost every piece of correspondence, official or personal, sent or received by general and president Ulysses S. Grant.

Papers of Woodrow Wilson Digital Edition

Digitized, full-text searchable collection of almost every piece of correspondence, official or personal, sent or received by Woodrow Wilson.

Political Extremism in the Twentieth Century

Primary source material from far-right and fascist movements, alongside of radical leftist groups.  Includes ephemera, election materials, government documents and oral histories from groups in the United States, Europe, and Australia including John Birch Society, Black Panther Party, Ku Klux Klan, LaRouche, anti-integration groups, neo-Nazis, Communist and anti-Communist groups, Christian Identity, British Union of Fascists, British National Party, and religious cults.  Spans 1930s-21st century.

Presidential Recordings Digital Edition

Digitized transcriptions of tape recordings made of phone calls made to and from the Oval Office during the presidencies of John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, and Richard M. Nixon.

ProQuest Civil War Era

Provides online access to an extensive collection of pamphlets and complete runs of selected regional newspaper titles covering 1840-1865.  Topics addressed include the Civil War, slavery, abolition, medicine, and the law.

ProQuest History

Combines various historical databases from ProQuest.

Readex AllSearch

Search engine to Readex products.

Sage Knowledge

Includes an expansive range of CQ Press and SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles.  Additional CQ Press titles are available in CQ Press Library.  Includes the Historic Documents Collection.

Selected Papers of John Jay

Digital edition of selected papers of John Jay, first Chief Justice of the United States.

Shaw-Shoemaker Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the early 19th century. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice

Brings together original manuscript and rare printed material from dozens of libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. It includes significant coverage of slavery today, US court records from the local, regional and State Supreme Court level, documents on the Islamic slave trade, as well as sources on urban slavery, interracial education, the Day Law in Kentucky, desegregation and social justice.  Also includes material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.

Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations (SHAFR) Guide Online

A near-comprehensive, 2.1 million-word online annotated bibliography of historical work covering the entire span of U.S. foreign relations.

Territorial Papers of the United States

Official correspondence and documents of each territory of the United States in its pre-statehood years.  Includes Native American negotiations and treaties, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers

Includes the  House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688 and the House of Lords Papers from 1715-1910. Includes searchable full text and subject indexing. The Parliamentary Papers are an essential primary source for Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy.

U.S. Attorney General Opinions (Hein Online)

Contains several publications of attorney general opinions including Official Opinions of the Attorney General (1791-1982) and Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel (1977-1996).

U.S. Congressional Documents (Hein Online)

Digital access to Congressional Record (Bound and Daily), Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, American State Papers, Journals of the Continental Congress, and Territorial Papers of the United States. "Daily-to-Bound Locator" provides citation to Bound version from the Daily Congressional Record. Also includes smaller works including Journal of William Maclay, Diplomatic Correspondence of the American Revolution, James Madison's Notes of Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787, Administrative Conferences of the United States, Legislation of Congress for the Government of the Organized Territories of the United States, B.F. Steven's Facsimiles of Manuscripts in European Archives Relating to America, 1773-1783.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online

Indexing and full text access to a rich collection of declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others covering events following Word War II. Some specialized collection are contained in Archives Unbound.

U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (Hein Online)

Full text of Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories: A Bibliography of Government Documents, Periodical Articles, and Books and full text legislative histories of important legislation.

U.S. Intelligence on Asia, 1945-1991

Declassified documentary records of the U.S. intelligence community in the Far East during the Cold War (1945-1991). With focus on People's Republic of China, North Korea and North Vietnam. Also covered are Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, and Australia.

U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009

Contains full-text documents from U.S. intelligence agencies covering the Middle East and North Africa from the end of WWII to 2009.   Includes CIA reports and briefings.  Note: Select ‘this collection only’ to limit search to this resource.

U.S. Treaties Library (Hein Online)

Full-text searchable versions of almost all official and unofficial publications of U.S. treaties and treaty indexes, including U.S.T., T.I.A.S., KAV, Treaties in Force, Bevans Miller, Malloy and International Legal Materials.

Weapons of Mass Destruction

Documents from the United States military, Atomic Energy Commission, Department of State, Central Intelligence Agency, White House, and other agencies detailing the development of nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons for use by American forces, from 1942-present.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for History and African American Studies
609-258-0496
A-17H-2
Firestone Library

Research Help