United States History - Radio, Television, & Film

Core Resources

American History in Video

Digital collection of newsreels from 1942-1964, plus television documentaries from the History Channel and elsewhere. Includes transcripts.

Television News Archive (Vanderbilt University)

Index to the most extensive and complete archive of television news. Streamed video access to NBC and CNN content; other network content available for loan for a fee.  Place loan requests through Interlibrary Loan; depending on costs, fees may be covered.

Supplementary Resources

60 Minutes: 1997-2014

Videos from the CBS television program "60 Minutes".

American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB)

Collection of American public radio and television content dating back to the 1950s.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Translation service of the U.S. Government, usually attributed to the Central Intelligence Agency. It covered political, military, economic, environmental and sociological news and commentary, as well as scientific and technical information.

Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS)

English-language archive of U.S. government translations of foreign scientific, technical, and social science monographs, reports, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts. Companion to Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports. 

March of Time

Online version of March of Time newsreels. Coverage: 1935-1967

Music Online: American Song

Streaming audio collection of songs and vocal / instrumental music from the United States representing a diverse range of Americans, both past and present. Addresses a variety of topics and cultures, and covers a wide range of styles and genres, particularly from popular, folk, and ethnic music, including African and Native American, bluegrass, blues, country, gospel, and rock music, jazz, and songs of war, protest, politics, and social movements.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for History and African American Studies
609-258-0496
A-17H-2
Firestone Library

Research Help