United States History - Social History

Core Resources

America: History and Life with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Supplementary Resources

ACLU American Civil Liberties Union Papers 1912-1990

Provides access to the more than 2 million documents contained in the records of the American Civil Liberties Union at the Mudd Manuscript library at Princeton University.

African American Communities

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.

African American Experience

Full-text digital resource exploring African American life and culture. Targeted and thematic search options are featured to find articles, documents, images, and more.

African American Heritage

Primary sources devoted specifically to African American family history, including U.S Federal Census (African Americans only), Freedman's Bank Records, World War I Draft Cards, African American family history books, U.S. Colored Troops Records, vital records, church records, legal records, and more.

Age of Exploration

Rare manuscript and early printed material, highly illustrated maps and documents, diaries, and ships' logs that serve as primary sources for study of  key events in the history of European maritime exploration from c.1420-1920.

Alt-Press Watch

Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses.

AM explorer

Search engine to Adam Matthew archival materals.

American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922

American Antiquarian Society collection of 13,500 titles includes broadsides, lithographs, maps, monographs, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, and stereographs.

American Civil War Research Database

Based on unpublished state rosters, includes information about individual soldiers who fought in the American Civil War.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries, The

Includes more than 1,000 diaries, letters, and memoirs from both Northern and Southern politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies.

American History & Culture Online

Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.

American History, 1493-1945

Documents American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection.

American Pamphlets Series I 1820-1922: From the New York Historical Society

Digital edition of pamphlets from the collections of the New-York Historical Society. Includes more than 25,000 short works printed in every region of the United States between 1820 and 1922.

American Religion: Denominational Newspapers

401 newspapers from 33 states covering congregational news as well as general news and opinion.

American Underworld: The Flash Press, Crime, Scandal, and Blackmail Papers of the Nineteenth Century

Sensationalist newspapers focusing on prostitution, gambling, urban gangs, illicit sporting activities, and sensational crimes, from 1826 to 1876.

American West

Contains original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources on the American West from the Newberry Library.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

Brings together primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.

Archives Unbound

Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives.

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection

Full-text access to historical materials documenting the Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form.

Black Abolitionist Papers

Primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.

Border and Migration Studies Online

Primary sources, maps, videos, and multimedia providing historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; and Thailand.

British Online Archives

Provides online access to several collections on the history of the Atlantic world, from British archives.

Civil War: A newspaper perspective, The

Full text of major articles gleaned from the The New York Herald, the Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer.

Communist Historical Newspaper Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Collection of Communist American and British papers:  The Daily Worker (1936-1958); The Ohio Socialist (1917-1919); People's Daily World (1986-1990); People's Weekly World (1990-2013); Sunday Worker (1936-1958); The Toiler (1919-1922); The Worker (1922-1924); New York; and The Worker (1958-1968); London.

Digital Sanborn Maps

Sanborn fire insurance maps contain detailed information on urban structures, property boundaries, and streets. Provides historical information on the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

Disability in the Modern World

Brings together archives, video, and other primary sources for the study of history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Partially searchable digital images of books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue.  Also see the alternative interface Artemis Primary Sources that allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. 

European Views of the Americas

Created from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. Guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.

Evans Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920

Comprises rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood.

FIMo Fire Insurance Maps Online

Complete collection of high-definition, full-color fire insurance maps from Sanborn and other publishers, real estate atlases, plat books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information.

First World War

Primary sources on the First World War, including published and unpublished personal accounts, visual materials and ephemera, and official documents on the war and the home front.

Frontier Life : Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters

Primary source documents from 1600 to 1920, covering the expansion of European culture into the American West and Southwest, Canada, Mexico, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and British Honduras (Belize).  Includes records related to agriculture, trade and commerce, family life, exploration, government, health and medicine, land and property, religion, military history, and women’s history.

Gale Primary Resources

Cross-searching tool for Gale primary source collections (including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture). Also allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.

Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York

Digital collection of directories, member lists, advertisements, travel guides and other sources, chronicling the people and organizations of New York City from the late 18th through the early 20th century.

Gilded Age

Primary documents and scholarly commentary, with key treatises, songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, and ephemera from the late 19th century.

HeritageQuest Online

Includes all of the images, & extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. Offers more than 20,000 book titles, including nearly 8,000 family histories & over 12,000 local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records, and more.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

History Vault

Digital archive of U.S. history primary sources. Includes government documents, personal papers and organizational records.

HistoryMakers

Oral history interviews with more than 2,600 historically significant African Americans in fields such as the arts, business, education, entertainment, the law, the military, politics, religion, and science.

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines

Digital edition of nearly 50 American & British newspapers and periodicals published during the American Civil War.

J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America

Contains documents from the archives of J. Walter Thompson, one of the largest advertising firms in the United States.  They range from the 1890s to the late 1990s but most are from 1945 forward.  The collections included are the firm’s publications, account files for nine key clients, staff newsletters, writings and speeches, research files, and a selection of print advertisements. A huge number of brands, companies, and industries are covered from automobiles to cosmetics and cruises.

Jewish Life in America c1654-1954

Digital edition of organizational and personal papers and printed books and pamphlets from the American Jewish Historical Society.

Left of Liberalism: Marxist-Socialist Newspapers, 1900-2015

Now called "Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals"Newspapers published by communist, socialist, and Marxist organizations in the English-speaking world, addressing issues such as labor conditions, the working class, McCarthyism, labor unions, the and civil rights.

Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism

Films, travel journals, periodicals, leaflets, corporate records, guidebooks, maps and images chronicling the rise of tourism in the 19th and 20th centuries.  Explores themes of leisure, race, technology, and culture.

Liberator

Full-text of the weekly abolitionist newspaper published in Boston, Massachusetts by William Lloyd Garrison.

Making of the Modern World Digital Archive

Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from 1450 to 1945. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries

Collection of previously unpublished letters and diaries by women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries documenting the details of their lives and illuminating the roles women played within their families, their communities, and the social and political movements of their times. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

Men's Magazine Archive

Digital access to the backfiles of six major US and UK men’s-interest consumer magazines:All Sports Illustrated Weekly (1919 to 1930)Argosy (1882 to 1978)Esquire [UK edition] (1991 to 2015)M: The Civilized Man (1983 to 1992)National Police Gazette (1845 to 1977)Sports Budget (1923 to 1939)

Migration to New Worlds

Showcases unique primary source material recounting the many and varied personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Includes Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolors, and oral histories supplemented by carefully selected secondary research aids.

Music Online: American Song

Streaming audio collection of songs and vocal / instrumental music from the United States representing a diverse range of Americans, both past and present. Addresses a variety of topics and cultures, and covers a wide range of styles and genres, particularly from popular, folk, and ethnic music, including African and Native American, bluegrass, blues, country, gospel, and rock music, jazz, and songs of war, protest, politics, and social movements.

Nation Digital Archive

Digital edition of The Nation, a leading journal of left and liberal opinion, with coverage of foreign affairs, politics, culture and the arts.Access: 1975 - current

News, Policy and Politics Magazine Archive

Consists of the backfile of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Covers history, political science, law and economics

Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalog

NSTC is an index of all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories

Personal narratives of immigrants to the U.S. and Canada. Covers a wide range of nationalities and ethnic groups.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Full text database of women's personal writings.

Oral History Online

Provides indexing, plus some full text, for English-language oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Primarily covers 20th-century America, but there is some content for other times and places.

PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Political Extremism in the Twentieth Century

Primary source material from far-right and fascist movements, alongside of radical leftist groups.  Includes ephemera, election materials, government documents and oral histories from groups in the United States, Europe, and Australia including John Birch Society, Black Panther Party, Ku Klux Klan, LaRouche, anti-integration groups, neo-Nazis, Communist and anti-Communist groups, Christian Identity, British Union of Fascists, British National Party, and religious cults.  Spans 1930s-21st century.

ProQuest Civil War Era

Provides online access to an extensive collection of pamphlets and complete runs of selected regional newspaper titles covering 1840-1865.  Topics addressed include the Civil War, slavery, abolition, medicine, and the law.

ProQuest History

Combines various historical databases from ProQuest.

Race Relations in America

Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department's staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

Readex AllSearch

Search engine to Readex products.

Sage Knowledge

Includes an expansive range of CQ Press and SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles.  Additional CQ Press titles are available in CQ Press Library.  Includes the Historic Documents Collection.

Service Newspapers of World War Two

Newspapers published for soldiers, sailors, and airmen, during the war years and the immediate aftermath (1939-1948).  Includes newspapers for British, Canadian, Indian, and United States troops.

Shaw-Shoemaker Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the early 19th century. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974

Contains letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, pamphlets, and rare audio and video materials documenting the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America.

Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online

Searches thousands of private writings and personal narratives ranging from the 1550’s to the 21st century. Includes material found in the collections North American Women's Letters and Diaries; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories; The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; Black Thought and Culture; Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society.  

Social Explorer

Allows user to visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports from 1790 to the present. Also includes the 2011 censuses for Canada and the United Kingdom.

Trade Catalogues and the American Home

Collection of illustrated catalogs offering products for direct sale to consumer, from late 18th century to present day.   Useful for the study of popular culture, material culture, social norms and attitudes, as well as the history of marketing, business, and technology.  Includes capsule histories of important retail companies.

Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry (Smithsonian Collections Online)

Collection covers 1820-1926 and includes National Museum of American History Library Trade Literature Collection.

Twentieth Century Advice Literature

Digital collection of advice manuals, etiquette books, how-to-guides, professional manuals, textbooks, and government and association publications that provide insight into social and economic issues including race, sex, gender, and family life in 20th century America.

Virginia Company Archives

Digital edition of the papers of the Virginia Company of London (Ferrar Papers), now at Magdalene College, Cambridge.

Warfare in North America (c. 1756-1815) - British Perspectives

This collection makes available a wide selection of original documents held at The National Archives, London, concerning warfare in North America from the Seven Years’ War to the War of 1812, giving a unique insight into the turbulent transition of the American colonies from British rule to independence. Collections included are Amherst Papers, British Army Headquarters Papers, Colonial Office Papers relating to Canada, and Admiralty In-Letters.

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820

Contains primary source documents written by women in response to imperialism, colonialism, missionary work, Native American affairs, and war.

Women and Social Movements in the United States

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

Women Working (1800-1930)

Access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

Women's Magazine Archive

Complete archives of the foremost titles of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture.

World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow (Smithsonian Collections Online)

Materials published between 1834-1940. Includes Books of the Fairs: Smithsonian Libraries holdings; world's fairs titles in the Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology and in the Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Library.

World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions

World's fairs showcased the newest ideas and inventions on a global stage, and are valuable for interdisciplinary research.  Includes documents from over 200 fairs covering 1851-2015, including governmental records of early financial appeals, international diplomatic documents, minutes and correspondence of fair committees, plans and design concepts, contemporary ephemera (tickets, pamphlets, posters), personal accounts, and official guidebooks. Includes in-depth case studies.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for History and African American Studies
609-258-0496
A-17H-2
Firestone Library

Research Help