United States History - Women's History

Core Resources

America: History and Life with Full Text 1954+

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online 1543-1945

Major source for the study of women's history in the world, especially feminism and the movement for women's rights. The collection includes the full text of books, pamphlets and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.

Supplementary Resources

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

Brings together primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.

Archives Unbound

Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives.

Dolley Madison Digital Edition

Digital edition of the letters written from 1788-1836 by Dolley Madison, wife of James Madison, fourth president of the United States.

Early Encounters in North America

Primary sources detailing encounters between Europeans, Africans, and American Indians between 1500 and 1900.  Includes original accounts, letters, logbooks, journals and diaries.

Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920

Comprises rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood.

Gale Primary Resources

Cross-searching tool for Gale primary source collections (including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture). Also allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.

History Vault

Digital archive of U.S. history primary sources. Includes government documents, personal papers and organizational records.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries

Collection of previously unpublished letters and diaries by women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries documenting the details of their lives and illuminating the roles women played within their families, their communities, and the social and political movements of their times. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

Papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry

Digital edition of the papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney (1722-1793) and Harriott Pinckney Horry (1748-1830).  Documents the lives of 2 founding-era women who were members of one of South Carolina’s leading families. Richly details the daily life of maintaining family ties and managing households and plantations. Pinckney’s correspondence illustrates the importance of women’s social connections & transatlantic friendships. Horry’s correspondence documents the strength of personal ties that linked the elite families of the North & the South to each other even as connections were threatened by disputes over slavery, commercial differences, and political and constitutional conflict.

ProQuest History

Combines various historical databases from ProQuest.

Readex AllSearch

Search engine to Readex products.

Reveal Digital Independent Voices

Collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press from the 1960s, including feminists, anti-war groups, African-Americans, Native-Americans and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.

Sage Knowledge

Includes an expansive range of CQ Press and SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles.  Additional CQ Press titles are available in CQ Press Library.  Includes the Historic Documents Collection.

Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online

Searches thousands of private writings and personal narratives ranging from the 1550’s to the 21st century. Includes material found in the collections North American Women's Letters and Diaries; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories; The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; Black Thought and Culture; Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society.  

ViVa Bibliography of Women's History

Provides access to articles about women's and gender history from more than hundred European, American and Indian historical and women's studies journals.

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820

Contains primary source documents written by women in response to imperialism, colonialism, missionary work, Native American affairs, and war.

Women and Social Movements in the United States

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

Women Working (1800-1930)

Access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

Women's Magazine Archive

Complete archives of the foremost titles of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture.

Subject Librarian(s)

Librarian for History and African American Studies
609-258-0496
A-17H-2
Firestone Library

Research Help