Posted on: Monday, 23 November 2015 - 10:25am
Nov. 23, 2015. Princeton users now have access to the Apabi Newspaper database at http://library.princeton.edu/resource/27062; choose the shuzi baozhi 数字报纸 tab. Newspapers available include the following: Renmin ribao (2009-), Guangming ribao (2013-), Huanqiu ribao (1993-), Wenhuibao (2012-),...
Posted on: Thursday, 10 September 2015 - 10:00am
September 10, 2015. Princeton users have now access to the collected volumes of papers called pishu (皮书) from the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS), published (often yearly) by the Social Science Academic Press (SSAP). This database should be especially useful for researchers in the...
Posted on: Thursday, 10 September 2015 - 9:49am
September 10, 2015. Princeton users have now access to the Sinica Sinoweb database. This database gives access to past and (if applicable) current issues to the following Sinological periodicals published in Taiwan (mostly from the Academia Sinica):
中央研究院歷史語言研究所集刊, 中央研究院中國文哲研究集刊, 中央研究院近代史研究所集刊,...
Posted on: Wednesday, 9 September 2015 - 5:04pm
September 2, 2015. Princeton users now have access to the National People’s Congress (NPC) database of the People’s Republic of China. This is a comprehensive collection of archives and documents of the National People’s Congress, from the 1st Session of 1st NPC to present.
The collection includes...
Posted on: Wednesday, 9 September 2015 - 4:36pm
September 2, 2015. Princeton users have now access to the Gunsho ruijū series (including the Zoku Gunsho ruijū and the Zoku Zoku Gunsho ruijū.)
The three Gunsho ruijū series in total consist of 3,750 works covering law, politics, economics, education, ethics, regional studies, history, literature,...
Posted on: Wednesday, 9 September 2015 - 4:29pm
September 2, 2015. Princeton users now have access to the WhoPlus database, which contains biographical information on a total of 610,000 historical and contemporary people. Entries link to MagazinePlus which enables one to find citations and links to the works of that person.
Posted on: Wednesday, 9 September 2015 - 4:27pm
September 2, 2015. Princeton users now have full access to the (Takita Choin kyūzō) Kindai sakka genkō (近代作家原稿集) database, part of the Nihon Kindai Bungakukan collection within JapanKnowledge.
This database is a manuscript collection of modern writers involved with Takita Choin, the chief editor of...
Posted on: Wednesday, 9 September 2015 - 4:22pm
September 2, 2015. Princeton users now have access to the Japan Times Archives.
The Japan Times is the only English newspaper database in Japan that daily reported on Japanese people, places, and news from the world since 1897. The Japan Times merged with The Japan Mail in 1918 and purchased The...
Posted on: Wednesday, 2 September 2015 - 11:32am
September 2, 2015. Princeton users have trial access to the China Encyclopedic Resources Online, part of Brill’s Chinese Reference Shelf.
The “encyclopedic resources” part of the reference shelf gives access, in addition to Brill’s Encyclopedia of China Online (already previously accessible), to...
Posted on: Wednesday, 2 September 2015 - 11:26am
September 2, 2015. Princeton users have trial access to the A Student’s Dictionary of Classical and Medieval Chinese dictionary online, part of Brill’s Chinese Reference Shelf. The dictionary is essential for all those reading Chinese texts from the period of approx. 500 BCE to 1000 CE. It contains...
Posted on: Wednesday, 2 September 2015 - 11:18am
September 2, 2015. Princeton users now have access to the online version of the Encyclopedia of Chinese Language and Linguistics.
This version is the early release version, and content is still being added until the complete edition comes out in early 2016.
The Encyclopedia of Chinese Language and...
Posted on: Wednesday, 2 September 2015 - 9:51am
September 2, 2015. Princeton users have access to the English-language Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902–1940). This is the newspaper of record for Japan’s engagement with modernity and its emergence, through war, political and social upheaval and seismic social change in East Asia, onto the world...
Posted on: Wednesday, 18 March 2015 - 9:33am
March 13, 2015. Princeton users have trial access to the following 3 Japanese databases
A Nihon bungaku web toshokan : Waka & haikai Library
This database is specialized for waka and haikai. The contents are:
Shinpen Kokka taikan (新編国歌大観)
Shinpen Shikashū taisei (新編私家集大成)
Posted on: Thursday, 5 February 2015 - 12:08pm
February 5, 2015. The already previously available Zhongguo fang zhi ku database (from Airusheng = Erudition) has doubled in size: it now includes 4,000 of the estimated 10,000 extant pre-1949 local gazetteers. This database is fully text-searchable.
Users should note that the intermediate page...
Posted on: Wednesday, 19 November 2014 - 9:30am
Princeton users now have a trial access to 한국학 종합 DB (Han’gukhak Chonghap DB = Korean Studies DB) until the end of the next AAS Conference (March 2015).
This database is composed of the following two components:
韓國歷代文集叢書 (series of Korean literary works. 3,000 volumes. In Classical Chinese)...
Posted on: Thursday, 30 October 2014 - 3:38pm
October 30, 2014. Princeton users have until March 31, 2015, access to a trial version of the:
Yomidasu Rekishikan Shōwa no chiikiban (ヨミダス歴史館・昭和の地域版) at
The already previously available Yomidasu Rekishikan has added Yomiuri Shinbun’s 46 local editions,...
Posted on: Wednesday, 27 August 2014 - 2:53pm
August 27. We warmly recommend to Princeton patrons the free website Zhongguo yanjiu wangluo ziyuan daohang (Navigator to Chinese Studies resources available on the internet.) This is an easy-to-navigate, well-organized site which brings together a large number of databases in Chinese studies...
Posted on: Monday, 21 July 2014 - 2:54pm
July 17, 2014. Princeton users have access to the Huan qiu shi bao, also known as Global Times (http://library.princeton.edu/resource/12895). Daily Chinese tabloid under the auspices of the People’s Daily newspaper, focusing on international issues. Use IE; other browsers have issues. Click on “...
Posted on: Friday, 18 July 2014 - 2:22pm
July 18, 2014.
Princeton users already had access to some files of declassified material on China (and some Japan) on national security, namely on the Chinese Civil War and the Tiananmen Square incident. These collections have now moved into the Archives Unbound (http://library.princeton.edu/...
Posted on: Friday, 18 July 2014 - 12:06pm
July 18, 2014. Princeton users have now access (to at least end 2014) to the huge CADAL ebook collection. We are in the process of negotiation for ensuring access beyond that date.
CADAL (China Academic Digital Associative Library) is a government-sponsored cooperative project of some 60+ Chinese...
Posted on: Thursday, 17 July 2014 - 11:17am
July 17, 2014. Princeton users have now access to the Maisaku database of the Mainichi company. The Mainichi Shinbun is one of the 3 major Japanese newspapers and Japan’s oldest daily newspaper. This database provides the following: Mainichi Shinbun (1872-); Weekly Economist (1989-; images in...