Economics & Financial Literature

Core Resources

EconLit 1886+

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

ABI/Inform 1971+

Worldwide business periodicals. In-depth coverage of business & economic conditions, management techniques, theory, & practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, & taxation.

REPEC: IDEAS

Indexing and links to working papers in economics.

ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature

Citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics

Considered the definititive, authoritative source for scholarly, signed articles in economics.

Handbooks in Economics

Definitive essays on major fields in economics.

Annual Review of Economics 2009+

Comprehensive review of the literature in economics. Can help researchers identify major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of economics.

Annual Review of Financial Economics 2009+

Comprehensive review of the literature in financial economics. Can help researchers identify major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of financial economics.

Annual Review of Resource Economics 2009+

Comprehensive review of the literature in resource economics. Can help researchers identify major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of resource economics.

Supplementary Resources

Accounting & Tax

Accounting and taxation journal articles, dissertations, working papers and newspapers. 

Asia Pacific: A Reference Corporation World Area Studies Database

Provides area coverage (especially for economic development, investment, trade and technological industries) for Northeast Asia and Asia-Pacific.

Asia-Studies Full-text Online

Database for the study of modern Asia-Pacific. As the exclusive licensee for the region's most prestigious research institutions, Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 55 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.

Bloomberg Businessweek Archive

For more recent issues, see the Catalog.

Business Full Text

English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)

Includes current events, business, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia, and lifestyles, all with a Canadian focus. Full text is available within these areas.

China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database

All collected volumes of papers called pishu(皮书) from the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS), published by the Social Science Academic Press (SSAP). Useful for researchers in the economic, political and social sciences of China.  

CNKI Journal Translation Project

English translations from prominent Chinese articles in many fields, from humanities and social sciences to exact sciences including medicine. Also arranged according to current hot topics. The Chinese originals are also included.

Conference Board Business Knowledge Research

Think tank research on economic, political, demographic, and technological developments that have a major impact on business management.

Economist Historical Archive

For more recent articles (1997 forward) use Economist.com.

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive

For 1996+, see EIU Country Profiles and Reports.

EIU Country Profiles and Reports

Background reports covering economic, political, and social conditions of countries.  For 1952-1995, use the EIU Country Reports Archive.

EURA: A Reference Corporation World Area Studies Database (Eurasia Atlantic Database)

Provides intensive area coverage (especially for economic development, investment, trade and technological industries) for Eastern Europe & the Former Soviet Union, and lesser coverage to Western Europe.

Factiva

Full-text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and the Nikkei Weekly. Some titles are abstracted only. Includes selected full-text and abstracts of many industry and general interest publications. For non-English, choose appropriate language.

Financial Times Historical Archive

For recent years, use Lexis-Nexis Academic.

Forbes Archive

For more recent issues, see the Catalog.

Fortune Magazine Archive

For more recent issues, see the Catalog.

Global Commodities

Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.

Human Resources Abstracts

Covers essential areas related to human resources, including human resources management, employee assistance, organizational behavior and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

IMF eLibrary

Full reports, books, and journals from the International Monetary Fund.

Index to International Economics, Development, and Finance

Online catalog of the holdings of the publications contained in the joint International Monetary Fund/World Bank Library. Journals are selectively indexed. Great source for finding publications of the IMF and the World Bank.

International Directory of Company Histories

Histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location.

Middle East and Africa: A Reference Corporation World Area Studies Database

Provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel & the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide. Provides access to journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, press releases, books, manuals, magazines, and ephemera.

MyiLibrary

Full text of select publications from the International Atomic Energy Agency, International Labour Organization, International Organization for Migration, UNAIDS, United Nations, and the World Health Organization.

OECD iLibrary

Statistics as well as full-text books, periodicals, and working papers published by the OECD and the International Energy Agency.

Oxford Bibliographies: Management

Annotated bibliographies of the most recent and authoritative management and labor scholarship.

ProQuest Business

Searches many databases simultaneously including ABI Complete, Banking Information Source, Econlit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Accounting and Tax, Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, ProQuest Asian Business & Reference, ProQuest European Business, and Snapshots.

Proquest Congressional

Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings:  Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+.  Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.

Regional Business News

Covers more than 80 regional business publications covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Sage Research Methods

A cross-disciplinary research methods tool.  It provides full access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference materials, and videos about research design, specific methods, conducting research, and writing about research results.  Along with many other titles, it includes the full-text of SAGE’s Little Green Books and Little Blue Books.

Social Science Research Network

Abstracts and select full text of select scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers in economics, business, and law.

Trade Catalogues and the American Home

Collection of illustrated catalogs offering products for direct sale to consumer, from late 18th century to present day.   Useful for the study of popular culture, material culture, social norms and attitudes, as well as the history of marketing, business, and technology.  Includes capsule histories of important retail companies.

U.S. International Trade Library

Provides documents and publications related to the exchange of goods and services between the United States and other nations, as well as the history of Section 337 of the Tariff Act of 1930. Includes legislative histories, official texts of trade agreements, reports from the US International Trade Commission, and Section 337 investigations.

USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse

Index and selected full text to USAID funded technical and program documentation.

Wall Street Journal Digital Microfilm

Digital version of the microfilm for many major papers including Barron's (2008+), Boston Globe (2008+), Chicago Tribune (2008+), Guardian London (2010+), Los Angeles Times (2008+), National Law Journal (2009+), New York Times (2008+), Philadelphia Inquirer (2010+), San Francisco Chronicle (2008+), Wall Street Journal (2008+), and Washington Post (2008+).

World Bank e-Library

Online access to World Bank publications. Useful for research in international social and economic development. Also see the World Bank's Open Knowledge Repository which contains open access materials.

Subject Librarian(s)

Bobray Bordelon

Economics & Finance Librarian/Data Services Librarian
609-258-3211
Floor A 13J.2
Firestone Library