Financial Engineering

Core Resources

ABI/Inform 1971+

Worldwide business periodicals. In-depth coverage of business & economic conditions, management techniques, theory, & practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, & taxation.

EconLit 1886+

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

ACM Digital Library

Collection of citations & full text from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journals, newsletters & conference proceedings. A major resource in the field of computing research and education.

MathSciNet 1941+

Bibliographic database with reviews of journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research

CRSP (Center for Research in Securities Prices). 1925+

Data on stocks trading on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ as well as U.S. government bonds. Also includes index-level data. Mutual funds data back to 1962.

Datastream International

Current and historical international data on stocks, indices, bonds, commodities, futures, options, earning forecasts, economic conditions, interest rates, exchange rates, and economic forecasts. For more information see http://libguides.princeton.edu/datastream.

Global Financial Data Economic data: 1624+ ; Stock Market data: 1693+; Real Estate Data 1830+

Historical data on bonds, commodities, interest rates, stock markets and indices, futures, exchange rates, GDP, prices, and unemployment. 

Ivy DB Optionmetrics (Princeton only)

Historical prices of options & their associated underlying instruments, implied volatilities, & option sensitivities. IVY DB US contains data on all US exchange-listed & NASDAQ equities & market indices, as well as all US listed index & equity options. January 1996+. IVY DB Europe includes  900+ optionable securities from UK, French, German, Swiss, Netherlands, Belgium, Spanish and Italian exchanges.  2002+

NYSE Trade and Quote (Princeton only) 1993+

Tick data for equities traded on the New York Stock Exchange, American Stock Exchange, and NASDAQ. Additional data for the NYSE and AMEX are available for 1983-1992 and for the NASDAQ for 1987-1992 through ISSM (also available on WRDS).

Tick-by-tick Intraday Data

Provides intraday data. Princeton subscribes to Futures, Cash Indices, VIX (under Market Indicators), London Equities, Euronext Equities, and Forex data. Dates of coverage vary. User's manual includes many helpful tips.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global 1861+; full text 1997+

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.

Supplementary Resources

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate

General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided.

Capital IQ

Private equity and venture capital.

Capital IQ Credit Ratings

Also know as Standard & Poor’s Ratings Services Credit Ratings on Xpressfeed via Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)).  9,000 global issuers including corporates, financial institutions and insurance companies; 600 sovereign, international public finance and government entities; 11,000 structured finance transactions including asset-backed, commercial mortgage-backed and residential mortgage-backed securities and collateralized debt obligations.  Historical data for global issuers and structured finance data is available back to 1922; public finance data is available back to 2007. Available through WRDS. Requires user to validate through password (undergraduates request a research assistant account and list your adviser as your faculty member).

Compendex (EI Compendex Plus)

Extensive bibliographic database of engineering research. Indexes journal papers and conference proceedings. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

EIU Country Finance

Guide to changes in financial services, operating conditions, tax laws and investment opportunities in the world's 45 principal financial markets.

EIU Financial Services

5-year forecasts and news analysis for the international financial services industry.

ETF Global

Provides profiles, fund flows, risk factors, and constituents of exchange traded funds.

Fixed Investment Securities Database

Issue detail on Corporate, Corporate Medium Term Note, Supranational, U.S. Agency and U.S. Treasury debt securities.

Global Insight

Best source for United States national, state, and metropolitan data. International data includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, and Balance of Payments as well as OECD's Main Economic Indicators and National Accounts. Data for interest rates, government bond yields, commodity prices, exchange rates, select futures and options. Limited data coming directly from other countries are also included. Includes subnational forecasts for the United States.

GovPX

Treasury benchmark intraday prices for all active and off-the-run treasury issues.

Lipper Hedge Fund Database (TASS)

Quantitative performance data on over 7,500 actively reporting Hedge funds and Funds of Hedge Funds.  Performance data on over 11,000 graveyard funds that have liquidated or stopped reporting.   Available through WRDS. Requires password validation (undergraduates request a research assistant account & list your adviser as your faculty member).

Markit

Major source for credit default swap data.  Earliest data tends to be around 2001.

Morningstar Direct

Includes international open-ended and closed-end mutual funds; hedge funds, exchange traded funds, UK pension funds, variable annuities, variable life, and insurance product funds. Requires passwords and codes.

MSCI ESG KLD Stats

Leading authority on socially conscious investment research.

MSRB - Municipal Securities Transaction Data

 Collects and makes publicly available through its Electronic Municipal Market Access (EMMA). The trades represent transactions by investors and dealers in the over-the-counter market for municipal securities issued by municipal entities, including states, counties, cities and special tax districts. Available through WRDS.  Requires users to validate through password (undergraduates request a research assistant account and list your adviser as your faculty member). 

OSIRIS

Financial information on globally listed public companies from over 140 countries for up to 20 years on over 88,000 companies. Also covers major non-listed companies when they are primary subsidiaries of publicly listed companies. Ownership data is also provided.

OTC Markets

Closing quotes, trade and security reference data for securities trading on the OTCQX, OTCQB, and OTC Pink Marketplaces.

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.  Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive.  Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

Subject Librarian(s)

Bobbi Coffey

Finance Research Librarian
609-258-3531
Floor A-14-H-1
Firestone Library

Willow Dressel

Librarian Engineering Library
609-258-6567
107
Engineering Library