Thomas Walker Microfilm Collection

Mendel Music Library

Today's Hours

For summer, holidays or recess hours, please consult the full schedule.

Contact Us

Mendel Music Library: Microfilm 458

Introduction and Scope:

The Thomas Walker Microfilm Collection consists of 187 reels containing reproductions of music sources from the 17th through the 20th century. Of particular significance are the collections of materials related to 17th century Venetian opera, 18th century opera seria, and the Danish composer Carl Nielsen.


Tom Walker came to the Faculty of Princeton University in 1988, first as a Visiting Professor then from 1989 until his death in 1995 serving as Professor of Music. Prior to this he served as Professor and Dean of the Arts Faculty and Director of the Institute of the History of the Arts at the University of Ferrara from 1982-1988. He also worked as a staff editor of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, a lecturer at King's College London, and at the State University of New York at Buffalo. He earned a Bachelor's degree from Harvard University, and studied at the University of California, Berkeley from 1963-1968. His scholarly interests were far reaching, covering music from the 13th to the 20th century, focusing particularly on 17th century Italian opera, 18th century opera seria, and the music of Carl Nielsen. It is these three areas that serve as the core of the microfilm collection in the Mendel Music Library and described here. For further biographical information see the Memorial Resolution passed by the Faculty of Princeton University.

Contents Summary:

(Follow the links below to see detailed contents notes for portions of the collection)
Reels 1-112 : Microfilm from the Contarini Collection in the Biblioteca Marciana, Venice
Reels 113-119 : Libretti (no further description available)
Reels 120-152 : 18th Century Opera Seria
Reels 153-171 : Works of Carl Nielsen
Reels 172-176 : 17th Century Italian Instrumental Music (Biblioteca Estense - no further description available)
Reels 177-187 : 17th Century Italian Instrumental Music (Civico Museo Bibliografico Musicale - no further description available)